September 14, 2007...9:39 am

BLP Government Spammers Continue Threats Of Violence – Threaten To Harm Ian Bourne And His Pets

Jump to Comments

Posted Last Night By One Of The BLP Government Workers Assigned To Shut Down Barbados Free Press…

(Comment to Ian Bourne)…

“… By the way, I used to enjoy seeing you on CBC, though there was always the question of the symbolism of it, given your colour which you can do nothing about.

Be careful of how you support BFP… this is a war and if you side with them too vocally we will have to do something to you too (or to one of your pets).”

Sep 14, 4:55 AM (GMT)

(The above was posted by a Barbados government employee being paid to prevent Bajans from exercising free speech.)

Government Cyber Attack On Bajan Free Speech Continues

Barbados Free Press has been under a coordinated and stepped-up 24/7 heavy cyber attack since the publication of our printed edition last Sunday. We are receiving over 3000 foul comments in every 24 hour period – designed to prevent Bajan citizens from discussing important issues in our comments section.

So far, we are managing about 20 hours of live moderation coverage per day where we have been successful in blocking 100% of the spam or removing it within a short time.

(That printed edition really shook up the corrupt government!)

Last night we had a 3 hour period when the comments were not being moderated and the BLP government employee was able to find a few IP and word combinations that bypassed the filters. Only a small proportion of his or her comments made it through, and they have been cleaned up except for the few that we let stand to show the character and desperation of the people who ordered this attack.

Threats Of Violence Against A Man Remembering His Dear Pet Cat

BFP reader Ian Bourne runs Bajan Reporter blog – a popular blog that focuses on entertainment, community and culture but no politics. He was visiting BFP and commented on the story of the orphaned monkey and the dove who befriended each other. Ian fondly remembered an old cat of his…

“That Daily Mail item makes you believe there is still magic in the world (despite certain idiocy, ahem), my eyes are still watering at the sheer beauty and innocence of it, especially since I lost my alpha moggy who was 12 years (it was cancer of the mouth) this last Aug 30th”

The response of the BLP Government employee was to say “Be careful of how you support BFP… this is a war and if you side with them too vocally we will have to do something to you too (or to one of your pets).”

Thugs In The Pay Of The Barbados Government – Your Tax Dollars

Welcome to Barbados – where government thugs beat newspaper reporters, threaten violence, seek to divide Bajans by race and generally do anything they can to stay in power and prevent free speech.

If only our Barbados news media had of said “no” to these despots instead of corruptly trading their submissiveness for government advertising revenues. If only the Barbados news media had stood up for freedom and accountability.

Here we are almost two weeks after blogs broke the story that the man in charge of hundreds of millions of dollars of flyover project is being sued for fraud and corrupt kickbacks during his last government bridge project (in Jamaica) and not one word of the story has been mentioned by a frightened and corrupted Barbados news media. (See BFP’s TELL YOUR FRIENDS, FAMILY, CO-WORKERS: Barbados Media Hides 3S Fraud Scandal From Bajan Citizens)

“In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.”

Martin Luther King

27 Comments

• BFP,

On another post you said: “Yup…. one thug with a couple of IPs that slipped through. They hit us with over 3000 spams per day”

You said it was only ONE person, but then your very next sentence said “they”.

How can just ONE person send you over 3,000 spam comments in ONE day. He would have to be sending you 125 messages an hour, which is about two messages every minute, and he would have to be doing so non stop around the clock.

Something about what you said does not add up.

SB.

BFP Comments

“They” being the government, “He or She” being the particular government agent assigned at that time. As the attacks are continuing unabated 24/7, it stands to reason that like the editors at BFP, the attackers are running shifts of different personnel and multiple personnel during the daytime when most visitors arrive at BFP.

And yes, we are able to see where many of the attacks are coming from.

• Have courage people of Barbados! Since I moved to the states I forget how things are back home.

• and so the blpGoB has resorted to hiring persons who are clearly criminal in mindset!
    Isn’t that nice?

This is beginning to look reeaall good for the blp!
    This is beginning to take on ‘Shades of Zimbabwe’ as an “alarmist” sought to characterise the blp GOB earlier this year, but was pooh-poohed away.
    Maybe the guy was right, and we are indeed seeing Zimbabwe-esque behaviour.
    God how I love it here in Africa.

• “Have courage people of Barbados!
    Since I moved to the States
    I forget how things are back home.”

You did the right thing, muh boh!
    You got out of dis Wess Indyan MESS dat en’t wukkin!

• Thank you guys at BFP for making me “the one to come to in the office.”
    All last week I was telling my co- workers about BFP and ‘educating ‘them on the corruption in this country,now this morning the first thing I saw in the Nation was the 3s scandal which you guys broke and I was discussing all last week.
    Guess I will be the Big man at work for a while :-)
    Anyway…I will continue to spread the word as it is a big office…going to print some more flyers quick before anyone else come.

• PEOPLE POWER !!

Well done you guys (and David of course).

• A slide into anarchy: I understand BBC television is about to film shortly a documentary – about Jamaica – Unreported World: Votes and Money.

I quote” A report from Jamaica where an estimated 30 per cent of the population live in crime ridden slums, political parties are accused of funding violent gangs in return for votes, and the police are said to kill a higher proportion of the population than in any other country in the world”.

The attack on BFP by a cacus of indisciplined louts, for no other reason than that it is printing views on a number of political issues – which can easily be refuted by facts if they exist – is an indication of how easy it is for arrogance and indiscipline to lead to anarchy.

Order and respect for others does not suddenly change from one day to another, but gradually over time a certain mode of behaviour becomes acceptable, and is the way things are done.

When grown men/women – I suppose they are grown physically – can take it upon themselves to deliver a torrent of foul language on a public forum and openly write that this is their agenda to support a political party, one has to ask are they so bankrupt of ideas.

If it is that people of that calibre, are rubbing shoulders with those in power, then surely the taint of abuse of power and allegations of corruption are not difficult to believe.

I could not by any stretch of the imagination support a party which is a haven for those I have mentioned, and I am sure that the general population of Barbados whichever party they support – and they have a right to support any party they wish – would wish to distance themselves from this uncouth, and pond like behaviour of those undesirables – I apologise to mosquitoes who might be offended, it was not my intention to insult you.

I say leave the swear words and threats to others, for those who wish for a better Barbados stick to the facts, ignore the filth others disseminate, and surely as night follows day, the light we seek and the deliverance of our people will be ours.

• Isn’t that nice of Auntie Olga to write in her profound statements like that.

THANK YOU, Auntie Olga!

——————–

Ummm…. dude… work on your spelling, okay?
    the RH word isn’t spelt that way, DUMMY! – one S not two

• You wish this blog was yours.
    Some of us aren’t afraid of your profanity

• Hello? Are you still there?

I thought this blog belonged to you, and to you only.

Helloo-o-o?

• We live in fear of the blp…
    so much so I can’t even get my left finger to the shift key to Capitalize their awful blp name.

We’re beginning to suspect you may actually be working for someone else who’s desirous of canning the blp

• You must be one of those “Friendly Natives” we hear so much about.
    Does the blp also pay you to promote Tourism, as well?

• Oh thank God someone cleaned up.

THANK YOU! – very much.

BFP Comments

You are welcome.

We may have to put up with their nonsense for an hour here or there, but the message of this blog still gets out there and the attacks are also delivering a very effective message about the government.

For honest Bajans, this is a win-win situation.

• Next print edition shouldn’t contain/show any sort of banner or website from whence it came.

Just do the news and nothing but.

That way, when Twaatty-Punks et alumni decide to add ‘choice material’,
    that too will be coming from no particular source.

In other words, the first edition,exBFP
    will be the only one that ever had BFP mentioned on it anywhere,ever.
    Just get the news out.

Word is now already out
    to make people curious enought to go look for the website,
    where they’ll find no profanity or other unsuitable material,
    just the gut-wrenching truth about our island full of perceived corruption,
    the island we were all brought up to believe was sooo beyond reproach.

My goodness, lookah how tings get change UNDER THE blp !!

BFP Comments

No, we will keep our banner. That way folks will always be able to compare the print edition online with the one they hold in their hands to ensure that it did, in fact, come from BFP.

• threatening a person directly is not right i think thats serious

• Ian Bourne is a good man

• “We may have to put up with their nonsense for an hour here or there, but the message of this blog still gets out there and the attacks are also delivering a very effective message about the government.

yes, indeed…this may be doing them far more harm than good.
    As someone earlier commented…
    it’s obvious the blp have stooped low enough now to hire-on someone of serious criminal intent and mindset!
    Lookin goooood!

……..
    That’s okay. An hour here or there is no sweat.
    Our backs are broad.

• With such a great opportunity afforded us by BFP, it is so unfortunate that some people choose to use their energy to post repetitive filth instead of something constructive.

A real pity.

• Coming to The End.

What an awful feeling it must be,nuh…
    to feel that finely-tuned Control slip slipping away…
    knowing that, even now,
    you’re already On History’s Page,
    just like the national anthem says.

It must be awful, having to start back legal practices,
    hoping some old customers might return.
    - might. If they aren’t completely turned-off by previous behaviour.

But then…they’re all rich as Dog,anyway,
    so what use is a mere legal practice.
    South of France, here we come,baby!

• BFP, until you can publish the facts about your attacks I think you should shut up. You are not so convincing. Please publish the IP addresses and then we will start to take you seriously but until then you are coming across just like your name suggest: Deception Lies and Propaganda (DLP)

• RR you back out from under your rock with the DLP nonsense? Although I agree BFP should publish the IP addresses or give us more details.

• Why all the fuss about IP addresses? The questions we should be asking are:

How can a citizen make a deposit of $750,000 (in any currency) at a financial institution without raising any red flags? FIU where are you in this? Does Anti-Money Laundering mean anything or only to the small-fries?

What about the transparency in the tendering/bidding process in the Dodds Prison and Operation Freeflow projects? How is it that VECO and 3S (two previously unheard of entities) were given the contracts without so much as an explanation from the ministers responsible?

What about the cost of the Kensington Oval, Carnival Cruise ship and CWC 2007 closing ceremony? What of the projected visitors promised against the money spent?

Perhaps if the true facts about these andother questions were made known, there would be less of a need to find out about IP addresses.

• LETTER FROM KINSHIP CIRCLE
    Forgotten Strays & Slaughtered Monkeys In Barbados
    http://www.kinshipcircle.org
    SOURCE OF INFORMATION:
    http://www.peta.org/alert/automation/AlertItem.asp?id=816 additional background on homeless animal population from PETA caseworker Zoe Rappoport, who sent a letter to the Barbados Ambassador in Washington DC, dated April 22, 1999
    The Honourable Elizabeth Thompson
    Minister of Housing, Lands, and the Environment
    Frank Walcott Bldg., Cilloden Road
    St. Michael
    ph: 246-431-7601; fax: 246-435-0174

Honorary Noel Lynch, Minister of Tourism and International Transport
    Barbados Ministry of Tourism
    Sherbourne Conference Centre, Two Mile Hill
    St. Michael, Barbados, West Indies
    ph: 246-430-7500 or 246-430-7506; fax: 246-436-4828
    emails: barmot@sunbeach.net, fortea@gov.bb

Dear Minister Thompson and Minister Lynch:

I write to express my concern about the animal welfare situation in Barbados. Like many travelers, I feel a society’s integrity is revealed in the way it treats its most vulnerable inhabitants. I am saddened to learn that the streets of Barbados are home to innumerable cats and dogs, many of whom appear hungry, flea-infested, ill, or injured.

In addition, the Barbados government markets the island’s native green monkeys, paying hunters $7.50 per tail–whether the animal is brought in dead or alive. Most slaughter the monkeys outright, lop of their tails and discard the carcasses.

Barbados stands to lose significant revenue in tourism. Like the majority of potential tourists, I would feel very uncomfortable visiting a place with so little respect for its animals. I have advised family, friends and business colleagues to boycott Barbados tourism and commerce until significant animal welfare reforms are enforced.

I respectfully ask officials to address the homeless population. Pregnant animals continue to bring unwanted puppies and kittens into a bleak world without food, shelter or veterinary care. Please implement low-cost or free spay/neuter programs and a sheltering system to coordinate adoptions. This would certainly enhance the island’s reputation worldwide.

I also urge the government to lift its “price tag” from the 14,000 green monkeys who live on the island. I understand the Barbados Primate Research Center pays $25 for wild-caught monkeys delivered unharmed. Some undergo futile and outmoded experiments while others are killed to harvest kidneys for polio vaccines, despite the fact that vaccines derived from human cell cultures are safer and more reliable.

Of the 1,500 monkeys who pass through the Center each year, over half are sold for $1,500 a piece to other biocontainment facilities or commercial enterprises. I am appalled that the government sanctions the capture and sale of primates for research at a time when credible, non-animal research tools are replacing experiments upon live animals around the world.

Why would Barbados sacrifice a thriving tourist industry for the comparatively small economic benefit of killing native green monkeys? Please protect the island’s wild and domestic animals. I look forward to your response.

Thank you,

• Wishing in Vain, it is deceitful to use someone else’s words which is what you did to “Thistle” and publish them as your own. It is just not done.

• Who ever you are you seem to be unwell or something,
    Anything that I have written on here are my thoughts and my words as I have always done, or as you can clearly see above an extract which does not require a brain surgeon to work out.

• No, I am not unwell, WIV. This is what Thistle wrote and you copied it word for word, as if YOU had written it (unless that was not really you): “Maybe you weren’t listening when, some few years ago, Minister Liz Thompson – on national CBC-TV said she was not going to sit and listen to the mouthings (or words to that effect) of a “Caucasian male”. A MINISTER OF GOVERNMENT SAID THAT, blah, blah.
    You, WIV, continued, “The general public needs to be reminded about this encounter, you should really have a copy posted on here for all to listen to.”
    My point is that it is not nice to use someone else’s words as your own. Who is unwell now?

• Simply put I was quoting Thistle as is done very often on sites such as this absolutely nothing dishonest or wrong in doing what was done.
    Stick with us we will bring you up to date.

Leave a Reply