Government Has Been Looking For BFP’s Staff Since January 2006 – 20 Months
We hear rumours that our new print edition has driven the PM to drink… or at least drink more. “Find them!” he yelled today shortly after lunch. (He did, too!)
THEY have been digging everywhere for well over a year. A few months ago THEY were asking questions up in Grape Hall on a Thursday afternoon – actually asking if anyone was called by “Auntie Moses”. THEY were also looking for Robert by stalking the flightline at Grantley Adams and asking who had any 727 experience. (DUH… that’s just about every A&P who’s ever picked up a bucking bar… Idiots)
We’re lucky that the Owen Arthur government is as competent at finding us as they are at everything else!
First they said we were DLP stooges.
Then we were eco-freaks.
Some claimed we were David Thompson’s “inner circle”…
Next they said we had been hired by (HORRORS!) “the whites”.
Then we were supposed to be a BLP splinter group seeking to replace Owen Arthur.
In the last few weeks, the fingers were pointing at Adrian Loveridge – who must be exceedingly talented to be blogging at the same time he was on live radio, not to mention doing spam patrol 24/7 while running his hotel. (Hey… that’s energy!)
Who Are Those Devils At Barbados Free Press?
Now… THEY have the answer… or at least they think they have the answer… and they ran to The Nation News – who printed the story like a good little government doggy.
Just who runs the Barbados Free Press?
A candidate running in Christ Church… who is being turned in by a woman scorned!
(Ahhhhh….. Shona, darlin’ – we’re still ok, right my love?)
From the Nation News… (Who have time to investigate Barbados Free Press, but still haven’t told the public that the guy building our 300 million dollar flyover and highway system is being sued for the fraud and corrupt kickbacks on his last government bridge project!)
Nothing free
A CERTAIN Christ Church campaigner may be about to get ousted – and that does not mean he is going to be included!
Apparently, investigations are under way to find out the source of a very widely read Internet site that is accessed free of cost. Every piece of gossip about the big and small is found on the interactive site, with Bajans far and away often kept informed or misinformed about developments on this tiny isle.
Well, most of the discussions are less than flattering and sometimes scandalous, but so far no one has been able to get to the source.
A recent falling out over payment to a female staff member may, however, lead to the source being exposed.
Our information is that the staffer has been in contact with members on the other side who are now contemplating whether to break
the news on the platform or subject the campaigner to an investigation by other authorities.
As the saying goes: Nothing ever really comes for free.
… read this so-called news at the so-called newspaper The Nation News - but don’t be looking for stories about government corruption!
27 Comments
September 11, 2007 at 3:50 am
This election in Barbados is going to be very interesting.
I don’t know how the Bees are going to keep up with the call in programs and the blogs.
Liz Thompson was on Brasstacks defending the $5
million spent on trams in Harrisons Cave.A caller said it was $12 million.
I am watching to see how the Pre Election Steak and wine is going to be distributed.
You are doing a good job BFP
doan ease up
September 11, 2007 at 4:31 am
looks like thy will stop at nothing to disrupt the processes at Barbados Free Press. So afraid they will attempt to infect the computers of the people who vote to prevent them fom accessing information!?
DAMN! This must be valuable stuff. I want more, dont stop the good work!… Hell I’ll give you a site and pay for printing.
September 11, 2007 at 5:50 am
There seems to be a village missing their village idiot.
Some of these replies surely couldn’t have been posted by a sane person.
September 11, 2007 at 10:12 am
Nation referred to printing ‘gossip’. You mean like the Nation every Saturday?
Most of what is challenged here is inappropriate allocation of resources by Government, overspending an incompetent management.
I guess the Nation do not want to admit that they have been ignoring these ‘real issues for years.
By the way, these trolls who are posting nonsense, pity that their paymasters realise that the persons who blog here are focusing on issues and are generally above scandal and personal attacks.
Or else they might be afraid that we would post information that we KNOW on certain people.
But we are too nice for such, huh.
September 11, 2007 at 10:45 am
“Who Are Those Devils At Barbados Free Press?”
We are black blue and white Bajans of no particular political,ethnic persuasion.
We are the common man, now computerized.
Government has created the whip
with which it finds itself now beaten,daily.
We are old and young.
We need a change of Government.
Not want – NEED!
September 11, 2007 at 10:49 am
pardon my simple mind, but what is all this coded crap popping up as comments. is it some type of attempted sabotage?
BFP Comments
Only gibberish from those who attempt to disrupt this blog each day. If we haven’t been on it for an hour or two it takes all of 15 minutes to purge their nonsense.
You see, the government is so desperate that they simply must stop freedom of speech. That’s why the print edition of the BFP is so important. So many folks who don’t have access to BFP will now be talking about the issues and realising what the government is up to. They will also realise how much the Barbados news media has been in the pocket of the BLP.
What do you think folks? Should we make the next edition 4 pages with more and longer articles? More details?
Thanks crossroads for your support!
September 11, 2007 at 10:50 am
Pity that the blp-owned NATION and ADVOCATE contribute daily to the deforestation of the Amazon and other precious forested areas of our ailing planet,
by printing bare mindless propaganda shyyte dat Bajans lap up as the truth (becomes someone printed it? unnuh too backward!)
Pity that the Nation and Advocate have both become PartyRags and daily print so much crap.
So much so that I simply will not buy either, although my wife still buys it some days
– to do the crossword,truthfully
and to see what intellectual GARBAGE The Masses are assimilating!
Great pity.
Both newspapers used to be SO much better, just ten years ago.
Really a shame, nuh.
I guess it’s the process known as devolution…hmmmm.
September 11, 2007 at 10:54 am
“pardon my simple mind, but what is all this coded crap popping up as comments. is it some type of attempted sabotage?”
Yes, that’s exactly what it is.
This is what the team at BFP has to deal with every day.
They just haven’t got in/got-up yet, to handle it, and weed it out.
These are attempts at hacking,
written in ‘computer language’,if you will.
In a few hrs. you’ll see them disappear when Robert et al. arise and remove them.
This bombardment continues against BFP’s servers in America, day and night, behind the scenes, you just don’t get to see it, but now you do.
Maybe now you’ll understand how desperate the blp is, to bring BFP to its knees.
September 11, 2007 at 10:58 am
Every time you buy an Advocate or a NATION, you are helping to fund the blp.
Stop contributing to your own downfall!
Break the goddam British habit.
You’ll discover that there IS life after newspapers,
so find the inner strength to pass right by your regular paper man on the corner.
It CAN be done, I assure you!
September 11, 2007 at 11:01 am
The traditional Media in Barbados really leave a lot to be desired. And, this is so even though many Barbadians are pleading with them to offer better services to the people of Barbados, and in some instances are pointing out to them in which areas these services need to be bettered. Moreover, with little improvements taking place almost every day and in almost every sector of the country, these traditional Barbados Media seem to be little amenable to these kinds of, albeit, insubstantial political, social, financial and material changes taking place in the country. Instead, they prefer to stifle and suppress their own greater potentialities, and to worship in obeisance to the status quo of this country, esp. corporate Barbados. What a big shame!!
Worse yet, while all of these multifarious, miniscule changes would have been taking place in the country – and, here, we are NOT talking about the serious stagnation and decline taking place in the country – we in the People’s Democratic Congress would have been witnessing for ever so long – with the exception of very recent times – how media ownership would have been more and more concentrated in the hands of a few – the state included – and how such ownership, and control, too, rested effectively with the BLP vis-a-vis the BLP Government having been long controlling CBC, and some important BLP members and/or supporters having been long major shareholders in the Nation Publishing Co and, by extension, the Nation Corporation.
In relationship to the role of party politics in the media politics of this country, whereas the BLP has therefore been able to exercize maximum political power and influence over the vast majority of people of this country vis-a-vis its control over what is publishable and published by the vast majority of media houses in Barbados, Opposition parties have ONLY been able to exercize moderate power and influence over the vast majority of people of this country vis-a-vis their lack of control over what is publishable and published by these said meia houses. Therefore, there has, since 1994, been obscenely little in the Barbados Media that negatively criticizes even the worst aspects of this BLP Government and its leader, Mr. Owen Arthur.
However, the fact being that it is mostly the entire politics of the country that effectively controls the media politics in Barbados, certainly will mean that – with the vast majority of the adult population in Barbados now saying that the BLP MUST GO Next Elections in Barbados – it will be that the MEDIA in Barbados, owing to their BLP leanings, would NOT have had a serious role in the ousting of this BLP Government. What a shame, too, given the primary role of the media being to fairly and accurately report the FACTS!!
Therefore, it would have been left to the vast majority of the relevant masses/middle classes to exercize their franchise at election time to bring about this inevitable change in government. But not without their being strongly influenced and supported by the Opposition parties (one of which will go on to win the Elections), without their being strongly influenced by the non-traditional but very potentially powerful media (like the internet) in Barbados, and without their – these same vast majority of the long marginalized and suffering masses/middle classes – using their knowledge and experiences of the LITTLE changes in the political, social, financial and material conditions of the country to greatly assist in the RIGHTFUL KICKING OUT of this wretched and disgraceful BLP Government from office Next Elections.
September 11, 2007 at 11:08 am
“What do you think folks?
Should we make the next edition 4 pages
with more and longer articles?
More details?”
As someone earlier suggested, BLACK & WHITE might be one alteration, or certainly more B&W than colour.
Some little colour bits are attractive to the eye,
but not masses and masses of it.
Remember that printer cartridges are not cheap.
Four pages could be printed, back to back,
on two sheets of forest product,
if the operator knows how to jiggle it.
Definitely more details yes, but no long-winded dissertations: those take up valuable space.
Your PRINT edition has to be considerably different to the web edition,
in that info has to be tight and concentrated.
Max. effect in minimum paper space,
preferably on a ONE-sheet product,
but that’s not to say that a TWO-sheet product won’t work, but would need to be stapled together,for it to be real and continuous.
September 11, 2007 at 11:09 am
Remember what RPB said: Dey publishit!
September 11, 2007 at 11:11 am
Crossroads,
Yuh see how it all gone,now?
One of The Devils wake up, and clean up the site.
I was glad to see it,though – for it was an impressive amount of effort and coding that the blp been trying last night and every night.
May their blp cooling fins stop spinning,
and their processor chips fry!
September 11, 2007 at 11:36 am
In 1994, the DLP was marched out of officed….on this occasion our fingers will do the marching.This lot of BLP Politicians including the Prime Minister brags about their wealth and we must therefore stop them from continuously raping our country and selling it to foreigners.
Owen has not been looking too good in the last few weeks. His foot soldiers have been very nervous and one can understand why.
When the BLP looses the next elections, people like Henderson Bovell will probably have to return to the hotel sector where he worked as a waiter; Wuk fuh wuk will probable get a stroke and Lynch will spend more time at the Garrison queing up behind Rommel…
September 11, 2007 at 11:40 am
BFP…I will now be reading the Nation News on a daily basis to see if they caught and imprisoned you guys…..ha ha…lol. This is going to be very interesting….You know I think you guys are extra brave right?
September 11, 2007 at 12:45 pm
STOP BUYING NEWSPAPERS
Boycott them for a 3 months and we’ll see if they sit up and listen.
We must encourage others not to buy this filth until THEY start doing their jobs.
We must put pressure on companies not to advertise for a whole quarter year, and to refuse to pay invoices for advertising (already carried out) until these publications stop colluding with this corrupt BLP administration.
Find something else to start your barbecue with!
September 11, 2007 at 12:59 pm
I did see all the chicken scrawl last night, hence my village idiot remark.
Just in case you’re wondering.
September 11, 2007 at 12:59 pm
Love what you are doing BFP god knows our country needs it before our leaders destroy it.
Good to shed light on the government antics but don’t forget DLP as they still leave a lot to be desired.
Have yet to see Thompy make a public pronouncement that makes us hopeful. Not promises but actions in his own party, published policies signed by all his candidates and like that so we can hold them accountable too.
September 11, 2007 at 1:26 pm
it is true though that the bfp does publish a lot of gossip…..
September 11, 2007 at 2:31 pm
I find that in the Caribbean it is the remnants of the “plantation class” who own the means of mental reproduction and this is why I rarely read the mainstream media as they have their own agenda which mya not be in synch with mine. Therefore it is imperative that blogs like BFP remain active as it gives a different spin to the same phenomena. Still gonna read Nation News though BFP…just to see if they caught up with you!! lol
September 11, 2007 at 2:43 pm
Barbados cannot be bankrupt or anywhere close to going bankrupt. The PM is still getting paid. at his increased salary level
Now remember there is a reason why 70 to 80 percent of our high debt load which was at one time about 70 to 80 percent of GDP, was held locally, meaning that the National insurance scheme that was modified to make persons wait a little bit longer before they qualify for a pension, is now filled with many IOU’s. The reason for this is simple. One, it saves valuable foreign exchange and it saves the GoB from potential embarrassment of failing to meet payments from international sources. No one at the NIS will dare to demand payment for any loans or IOU’s that falls due from the GoB. In the last budget or financials statements or whatever it is called these days, the PM was very clear in acknowledging Barbados High debt load and was even more clearer in stating that the Country will meet it’s payments when they fall due. I sense then as i do now that he was referring to any external debt and their due date. What the government owes locally be it in the form of wages, contract payments for work not done.
or local loan payments that fall due, will be dealt with base on the potential to cause embarrassment vs. their ability or inability to minimise said embarrassment via it’s control of local communications.
This is most likely the reason for the heighten attack on BFP. Their focus is not on the financial aspects of accounts payable, as the amount of cost overruns on government projects demonstrates, and high number of persons on it’s payroll not recieving renumerations, their focus is on tightening up it’s controls of local communications.
September 11, 2007 at 3:11 pm
While we might like to see BFP come out regularly in hard copy form, I think it is just too risky.
Whereas you have been able to protect your anonymity in cyberspace, it will not be nearly so easy if you start printing.
Please don’t take the chance of a slip-up. You are doing fine with the people that matter. The word gets around very well among those who have access to computers.
September 11, 2007 at 4:12 pm
this 2 week newspaper might be a great way to start a new political party based on integrity, transparency and accountability.
While maybe there are not many pure of heart and untainted, they could collectively identify themselves to BFP and if BFP liked what it saw, maybe it could promote their efforts?
Any true Barbadian patriots willing to stand up?
September 11, 2007 at 4:29 pm
y’all got a print edition now? big up!
Wunnah more wanted and feared than Buddy Brathwaite
September 11, 2007 at 8:45 pm
Why should People stop buying newspapers. Everyone loves Dear Christine,,,,
September 11, 2007 at 10:52 pm
Seems like while I’ve been down the beach my doppelganger has developed Aspergers Syndrome.
My apologies to anyone taking offence at these childish and counterproductive postings in my name.
To allow BFP to clean out this bilge, I will not make any further posts this evening.
BFP Replies
Hi Straight Talk,
Home from work and cleaning up now.
M.
September 12, 2007 at 4:34 pm
Dearest ShakShak,
you are permitted to continue buying newspapers,
since your need for high intellectual and emotional content is clearly greater than ours.
The rest of us will do our best
to break the highly-addictive British habit.
Those overly-nationalistic Bajans who SO fancy deyself to be independent,
and want nothing to do with anything British
need to consider that this daily nonsense of buying newspapers is very much a British habit, ingrained into us so well now that many of us simply can’t do without The Daily British Habit.
You should be ashamed of yourselves.
I DARE you to break The British Habit.
DARE!
Put your Real Bajan Nationalism where your mouth is and simply do without.
There is a life after newspapers, I assure you.
Yours Truly,
Dear Christine,
at The Nation Publ. Company.