July 17, 2007...1:10 pm

Mugabe-Like Statements By Barbados Prime Minister – Owen Arthur Says BLP Will “Defend To The Death”

Jump to Comments

Castro_Owen_Arthur_Gay1.JPG

Rhetoric Or Threat? PM’s Words Send A Chill Up Our Spines

Prime Minister Owen Arthur and the BLP have their backs to the wall in the coming election.

We know that election time brings out the rhetoric – and Owen can punch and jab with the best of them. He is a master.

BUT…

In an atmosphere of increasing fear over freedom of the press in Barbados, with the statements by the Deputy Prime Minister attacking citizens rights, and the other government attacks upon democratic principles – the words “to the death” as spoken by the Owen Arthur send a chill right up my spine.

Time to wake up, folks…

This government changed our constitution with two days notice and zero public debate.

They ignore the rule of law and their own laws when convenient.

They threaten journalists and citizens who disagree with their abuses of power.

They use the police to drag away journalists from public property.

They expropriate private lands and then build their own houses on the same lands.

They operate without Conflict of Interest rules or integrity standards. Government members go from poverty to millionaires in a few years.

They keep public information secret so they can profit from the knowledge our tax dollars paid for.

They use the courts and outrageous libel laws to quiet political opposition and citizens.

To strengthen their hold over the courts, they appointed the Attorney General and best friend of the Prime Minister as the Chief Justice of Barbados.

Time to wake up, folks.

From The Nation News

‘STICK WITH US’
Published on: 7/16/07.

by TREVOR YEARWOOD

PRIME MINISTER OWEN ARTHUR has appealed to voters not to reject his Barbados Labour Party (BLP) just for the sake of change.

“This is not the time to gamble with the future of this country,” Arthur told party faithfuls yesterday at the opening of the new BLP St George South constituency branch office in Eastlyn.

In a reference to the Opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Arthur said this was not the time for voters to put “a bunch of adventurers, a bunch of wild boys” in control of the government.

He predicted that the DLP would be pushing the line of “time for a change” in the election campaign, but without being able to offer a platform for justifying this change.

“Do not underestimate what it is to be up against desire for change,” he advised party supporters and candidates.

Arthur pointed out that many youngsters listed to vote for the first time would not have had intimate knowledge of the hardships Barbadians experience under the Dems before 1994.

Arthur contended that his party’s first three terms had proven “it is better with the Bees” and that “the best is yet to come”.

Under the Bees, “Barbados is poised . . . for a future that is beyond your imagination”, he added.

Warning

He also sounded a warning to the DLP that in the coming election the BLP would be defending “to the death” the seats that had been held by stalwarts including Dame Billie Miller, Louis Tull, Sir Harold St John, Sir Grantley Adams, Sir Henry Forde and Sir Richard Cheltenham.

Tull, a former minister of education, told the gathering that he would be managing the election campaign of his successor as the St George South BLP candidate, Ian “Cupid” Gill.

He described Gill as “a natural”, modest and humble and “a good man”.

53 Comments

• This sounds like them… I can’t think of 1 corrupt regime that has ever quietly stepped aside and gave away their power just ‘easy-easy’ so…. They always put up a fight to keep the good times rolling for themselves…..

• The BLP will not let go the government. They have had it so good for so long they intend to win the next election by hook or crook. Owen Arthur is just letting foolish Bajans know what to expect.

• Look at the coincidence about what happened Adrian Loveridge’s home. Arson, break-in and ladder up against the window all on one day.

There is trouble ahead. Bad trouble. Owen Arthur knows his words are powerful warning.

• Afraid? Who-Me?

This is VERY much a time to “gamble” with the future of this country!

couldn’t get much worse….could it!

Don’t be afraid of that nasty four-letter word
    C.H.A.N.G.E. (pardon my atrocious Maths)

• I can’t think of 1 corrupt regime that has ever quietly stepped aside
    and gave away their power

Talk about hitting the nail ON THE HEAD!

• Wishing in Vain

Really what more would you expect from a group of scoundrels like this group ?
    These will stop at nothing in their effort to remain in power after all it is the only way that they can keep themselves out of jail and that is by maintaining power and control over we silly idiots as they would have you believe.
    When I read the newspaper yesterday I was dumbfounded and I wondered then or if anyone was going to address the comments and I must say that I am happy to say that BFP has done and has done so with some gusto, well done to you.
    My fear is that Mr See Thru is so intent on power and control, what is he capable of doing to corrupt the election outcome and do not for one minute tell me it cannot happen because I will tell you anyone that has masterminded the scams as he has done and in one case alone been able to rob us by $ 200 million has a lot to hide and to protect and in doing so will stop at nothing to make this happen, what course it will take is not certain but what I can tell you is the DLP representatives at the polling stations better be wide eyed and awake to their scams and plans.

• ” to the death” sounds like we are at war. Arthur is issuing a threat to voters. The electorate must reject his scare tactics and run him and cronies out of bay street.

• The hurtful part about everything is that after doing all this shite to we bajans going to still vote them back in..watch and see..i tired of bare talk and no action anyway..do yah thing owen see if bread can go to $20 before the year out.

• It seems kind of disingenuous to be warning off the country from gambling but at the same time bringing in 2500 gambling machines!!

This guy has lost it.

• Arthur is no amateur. He said what he said and he means it.

Come ballot time who will make sure the count is true?

• The next election is all about trust. Especially for the polling stations workers. They have to make sure that the BLP cronies don’t offer them any bribes even at the polling stations on polling day.
    They will stop at nothing to hide their tiefing ways.
    The new administration has to come up with ways to recover the loot that these crooks got stashed.

• Arthur must be reminded that the late Grantley Adams described Errol barrow and the DLP as a “bunch of wild boys” in the 1950’s and the BLP lost the next election.
    Arthur would do well to keep his tongue in check. The public has grown tired of his nasty public behaviour…sad to say, he is behaving as though he has been taken out of the rum shop but the rum shop has not been taken out of him!!!

• This sounds likes O$Auther and his B’$$ are about to break the law again, should we have a fear and free elections these crooks cannot win.

• Wishing in Vain

If this crowd is prepared to steal from the treasury do you think that they would be opposed to stealing an election.
    This short man has lot to loose and he will not hand over the reins of gov’t without putting a fight to keep his butt out of jail.

• So sad indeed. Owen is behaving like a very desperate man. And to boot … he says that the DLP team does not understand the international economic issues!!!

Does he think that Cupid Gill, who cannot spell ADA backwards has a clue? Which one of his Ministers, even after 12 years in office, understands and can speak to international economic, trade, business and legal matters like Chris Sinckler, Donville Inniss or Adriel Brathwaite. Not to mention David Thompson and David Estwick.

The BLP clearly is bankrupt of ideas and are like drowning men clutching at straws.

If he wants to battle till death then it may be his political death.

• It’s a pity that an International Independant Body can not come and oversee the election.
    I, too, have some serious concerns about possible tampering with the electoral vote.

• Wishing in Vain

I think we have clearly seen that they are not the most honest ones around and stealing a vote would not be beyond them in the least.

• we the electorate cannot wait to see the backs of these little dictators,now rich off the people.
    They have to go for any semblance of respect is returned to our beloved country.

• Wunna ppl pun dis tread got muh fritun. I can’ believe wot I hearin’.
    Anybody who tief summuchie money an’ aint satify den I doan no wot to exspec now.
    Anyhow I still want de elections call causing I still got faif dat de ppl gine do de rite ting an’ vote out dese bastards. All o dum too tiefin’.

• Very much so…i have no doubt in my mind that Owen would tamper wid the electoral vote…but my question iz…isnt he tired…how cruel can he be? after all he did with d tax payers money he has d audacity to talk about the future? what more can he do? if the barbadian public votes dese criminals back in…it says alot about them…it puzzles me

• Wishing in Vain

He is driven by power , money and greed do you want a better formula for a thief or corruption????

• But jeez, maaan…iz d bajan public so blinded and captivated by this man?…this is much more serious than we think…

• More serious than that. Owen Arffa suffers from short man syndrome. He has to compensate for lack of height.
    He has ruled this small island with an element of fear the likes of which we have not seen. And to think that he has a bunch of yes ppl around him.
    Can anyone recall any of the current crop of ministers reaping any success in ANY ministry for which he/she was responsible?
    Can we point to ANYTHING AT ALL that was a resounding success?
    When Clyde “Turncoat” Mascoll joined the gov’t ranks he was talking about restructuring the economy. Is it still being restructured Clydie, my boy?
    Everyday prices are going up and rather that doing something to help the unfortunate ppl, this pack of vagabonds are talking about a fourth term. To do what? What is ther left to steal? I thought that they had pilferred everything by now. The only reason they would want another term is to cover their tracks.
    I would only hope that the lot of them be put in the new state of the art prison up there is St. Philip.
    There is room enough for all of them.

• Imagine Owen inviting bajans to stick with a bunch of people who have milked this country in the years that they have been in power!
    We know better than that! ya tink we foolish?

• I wonder what George Bush thinks of that picture with Owen and Castro? I hope that the Us Embassy has sent a copy back to Washington!
    Is this an indication of where Bdos is going under Owen?

• I am no B or D, and certainly not a P, But I do enjoy the poli-tricks. I look forward to when and if the DLP get into power. That bunch will be no different to the ones we have now. I will look forward to the crictic’s opinons at that time and hopefully I will see some of these same user names, I see now.

• Mascoll…wha jeez on…heez d most 2 mouted son of a gun…how can anybody take what he says az credible, d man iz a clown fuh owen…all of a sudden d economy just change 2 d worldz greatest…and i ainno how many times my boy estwick has raise he voice fuh d bajan ppl 2 hear he and understand d folly that iz going on wid d economy…wha jeez on bread…wunna mean it fallin on deaf earz?…wha iiz cant look at kensington widout holdin my pocket and my eyez waterin…dis iz 2 much fuh me, hear

• Mr. Crossroads, this is my take…i believe that iz inevitable for a government to become ‘corrupt’ after being in power for a certain number of years…however when a Government tries so hard 2 get in power and they do, in the initial stages…they try their very best 2 look out for the people and serve to the best of their ability even if only for 1 political term…they try 2 help the country and do what iz correct…on the hand when that government becomes too comfortable they do just that…become comfortable and den d corruption beginz…which az i said earlier…i believe iz inevitable…and when we talk about gettin comfortable the BLP iz at SandyLane wid d tax payerz money.

• There are no rules for the Dems or the Bees. Both groups never passed an anti-corruption law so they can do what they want. Both groups promised anti-corruption legislation in the past.

• Owen’s a corrupt fool but he isn’t Mugabe by a long shot. I been to Zimbabwe and it ain’t pretty (and that was a year or two ago). It’s rhetoric kids, and flipping out over an idiotic, agressive comment doesn’t change the fact that he’s really, really unlikely to actually be able to steal this election, or throw the opposition in jail wholesale, or set up teams of street thugs in Bridgetown . Unlike our friend Robert in Zimbabwe. I just worry that the D’s will be almost exactly as incompetent and corrupt when they’re in. Oh dear.

• nvr mind that i will be a first time voter(missed by a few months last time)i’m all for change, but not if ‘the other side’ ends up doin the same crap. I think that we, John Public need to push for some integrity, transparency, conflict of interest laws and the like to keep our politicians in check.

“Wealth amassed through ill gotten means never lasts long enough to satisfy. For the thief knows not when to stop, the crave never pacified”- A.C

• NO political party in our neck of the woods deserves more than two terms. The BLP did not run out of ideas, they just did not have what it took to impliment their good ones, and ended up throwing good money, lot’s of it, behind really bad ones (including Kensington Oval).

• God Bless David (Not Thompson or Commissiong!)

Good luck to you all if the DLP forms the next government – then we might understand what the phrase “jumping from the frying pan into the fire” really means. Status quo on the level of corruption in public life (at least!), with more than a soupçon retaliatory victimization in store for people on David’s lengthy hit list. Expect a true “night of the long knives” at some point, so watch your backs…

• Rumplestilskin

Crossroads says: I will look forward to the crictic’s opinons at that time and hopefully I will see some of these same user names, I see now.

You can be assure that we will continue to voice our opinions and for what it is worth, highlight areas of lack of prioritization and / or mismanagement.

GBD says: “jumping from the frying pan into the fire”

An often used threat that the DLP is worse than the BLP. Based on what exactly. Probably excellent spin by the BLP marketers. Fact is, however you like to think about it, Sandiford laid the basis for the first two ‘economically successful ‘ (in terms of money flow, not addressing the mismanagement that took place in those two terms) terms of this current administration, after taking over the reins of a bankrupt economy.

Now, when we are again mortgaged to the hilt, all and sundry are going to blame Thompson for having to put austerity measures in place to get us back on the straight road. Which is why he needs to well publicise those areas which will receive attention and correction immediately after his election success.

BLP spinners rabbit on about how bad things were in the early 90’s. Yes, there WAS a worldwide recession after all, that Sandiford managed us through.

What is the BLP’s reason for the strife that exists now, there is no worldwide recession? Can you imagine if one kicks in now?

No, it is time to give someone else a chance at correcting mismanagement of existing projects and at bridling an economy gone wild, in order that our future will not be totally lost.

• Rumple, economic mismanagement isn’t the major point against the D’s – it’s the fact that from everything we’ve seen or heard, they corruption will be fairly much on the same level. It’s not that we shouldn’t vote for them and give the B’s the kicking that they so richly deserve, but that people like me see NO PERCEIVABLE difference when it comes to transparency, corruption or general management competence. It’s very, very sad. I still maintain that a third party (I don’t consider the P’s a party at all) advocating these things might do well if the right people were behind it. It ain’t going to happen though and my prediction is that Owen will get back in with a very small majority. How depressing.

• James
    Nothing you or any BLP undercover agent says will goad theDLP into revealing its plans before elections are called.
    Arthur has long passed his efficiency level (if he ever had one).
    How can anyone expect to borrow on the scale Arthur has and not expect economic hardship when PAYBACK time comes.
    Economists are theoreticians, and too many of them are ignorant of what the term PRACTICAL means. The evidence is there…Jim Callaghan,Gordon Brown, Errol Barrow,Erskine Sandiford.
    We forget that the foreign exchange earnings from tourism were down in 1986 and Sandy and his team made it into a BILLION dollar industry. Because of poor management under Tom and a supply-side economic blunder by Richie, Sandy was forced (during a worldwide recession) to restructure the economy.
    Anyone know why Arthur recommended Sandy for a knighthood? Was it not because of Sandy’s prudent economic management?
    Oh how short is our memory!!!

• Wishing in Vain

Vote again for the BLP and then go right away to check in at the mental.
    Why would any right thinking person dabble with these bastards for another 5 years are we trying to say to them we love how you shaft us and keep the good work up ?
    Or are we about to change our destiny away from this corrupt lot ?
    I have never been one to get to emotionally charged about politics but this time around I am appalled at the extent of the stealing and the blatant corruption taking place on this lovely island, when the opposition can produce evidence of the PM depositing a cheque for $ 750,000.00 to his personal bank account it begs the question where do the cheques go from his pay of with the prison as his share of the over $ 200 million rip off must be at least half, a tidy sum for someone who nearly got out of politics because he could not make a living out of it.
    He has come a long way since those days that Weatherhead bought him his clothes and serviced Beverly in exchange for favours.

• A toothless wonder !

A fitting description of our…..Owen Arthur !

He now says ……after 13 years of Squandermania under his BLP government….the BEST is yet to come !

Does he now wish us to forget :

GEMS…over $ 300 million !

GREENLAND…over $ 80 million !

WARRENS BUILDING…over $ 200 million and counting !

KENSINGTON OVAL…over $ 200 million and not sure about ownership !

SILVER SANDS SHOWER…over $ 500, 000.00 !

The list can go on and on like the energiser BUNNY !

Only a MADMAN like Owen Arthur could support such WASTAGE !

• Wishing in Vain

Jerome Hinds and you fail to mention his cheque where and what was that payment for ?
    More pressing though is the sad news story being heard on the radio this morning where the idiot minister of tourism is seeking new money to extend the airport how can we design and build this airport project and before it is even completed we are looking for additional funds to undertake remedial work or carry out extensions it shows me that this project was not thought out from the outset no thought was put into forward planning, guess not surprising when one realises the idiot MM Lynch is involved..I cannot believe my ears right now what the h__l is going on in Barbados, the airport is now finishing a rebuild and I am hearing on the news now that the are in the house seeking funding for rennovations and repairs ?
    This is absolutely outrageous indeed when we can build a new airport and have to extend it and repair it before it is dedicated or blessed it smells of corruption and stealing if you want my opinion.
    These mad people really make sport with our money I tell you.

• Wishing in Vain

Another quiet day in the Bridgetown port and no sign of why or where that donation to Carnival cruise lines is reaping rewards maybe the only rewards to be reaped is a couple million in back handers to Lynch so that he can pay for that plantation home he purchased recently, John King was right when he sung his song I want a plantation now we know John Kink is not alone in his desires.

• James
    A third party and cabinet you and pals would like, david Seale,PM, Sir I Want All COW, Minister Housing and lands, Kyffin Simpson, Foriegn affairs, Bernie weatherhead, International transport, Bizzy, Sports and commecial Banking, Alfred Taylor, Minister of Prisons, Butch Stewart his special Consultant, Dick Stoute, Information, GIS, Education, Geoffrey cave, Tourism, Allan Fields and tony King, International Business, Goodrige(Highate gardens) Justice and Home affairs, his son special Envoy, Colin Brewer,manufacturing, Pemberton,Labour. Stanley Goddard, Health. Mia and MM Lynch seconded as Senior and junior Ministers of Gender affairs.
    I prefer PEP to that bunch.

• Wishing in Vain

close watch,
    MM Lynch seconded as Senior and junior Ministers of Gender affairs.( funny this story makes me gay)
    You are really on the money here close watch, I love your understanding of ministerial posting why did we not fire Lynch 4 years ago and not install Geoffrey Cave, Tourism.

• Wishing in Vain

close watch,
    MM Lynch seconded as Senior and junior Ministers of Gender affairs.I assume there is no room for Rommel Marshall or Jerome Walcott, or Mia mottley and Liz Thompson ( funny this story makes me gay)
    You are really on the money here close watch, I love your understanding of ministerial posting why did we not fire Lynch 4 years ago and not install Geoffrey Cave, Tourism.

• Good pick up point below, BFP !

” To strengthen their hold over the courts, they appointed the Attorney General and best friend of the Prime Minister as the Chief Justice of Barbados “.

Just imagine David Simmons as Chief Justice assigned a pregnant Madam Justice Jacqueline Cornelius to the BS & T injunction matter while there were other Justices around twiddling their thumbs !

What is the significance you ask ?

Madam Justice Jacqueline Cornelius……is the judge in the Al Barrack / NHC case.

For months now she has promising the parties concerned…….her ruling on the matter.

So here it is she is pregnant , saddled with a huge case ( Al Barrack / NHC )……

And David Simmons then places the BS & T injunction matter on her plate as well.

That is one of the highlights of David Simmons appointment to this position……MANIPULATION of the JUSTICE SYSTEM !

And that BASTARD Owen Arthur……tells us the BLP best years are ahead !

• When a Government having spent three terms in office, has to harp back to what the opposition party did, or did not do some fifteen or twenty years ago, as a reason not to vote for the opposition, that Government has failed.

The Government should be able to say, this is what we have done, your lives and circumstances have improved immeasurably during our terms of office. If the Government cannot come to the electorate with such a record, they should be removed from office, they have failed, it is time for a change, that is the virtue of democracy.

It is the only sanction the ordinary people of Barbados have, they should use it through the ballot box, to remove this bunch of incompetents
    masquerading as a Government.

• Some years ago I had a BMW, wasn’t working too bad, but I decide to spend some money to fix she up and mek she run good. Man, when I put she back pun de road, I was driving with me head held high and looking down pun de natives wid disdain. I don’t know who tell me do dat, but I len de car to me brudder to leh he see how it use to drive. Before I realise whuh was happening the man had it run out of oil, brake pads wear down, exhaust spitting smoke, pun de brink o’ brekin down and the body dent up bad cause like he din know how to steer. I had wus to tek it way from he before he mash it up completely.

Well I had wus to go to de bank and borrow a whole ton o’ money to get de car repair, had wus to put in a new crank shaft, rebore de engine, put on new tyres and pay de bodywork man a arm and a leg to tek out all de dents and paint she up again.

Well to cut a long story short, I start back driving bout me good as new BMW wid me head held high an looking down me nose at the natives to show dem that I arrive back again and would you believe dat me brudder had de nerve to ax me to borrow de car again? He must really tink I foolish to gi he back me car to mash up again, specially as I know he en tek a single driving lesson since an really doan know how to treat a decent car. Steuuuppes.

• sick and fed up sylvan

owing scared as ass. he see defeat in he face. you see his problem. before he become prime minister, he was a nobody and felt so. being prime minister made him feel he is somebody so he became fart frightened and start to push his weight around. but he going back to nobody. a former blp big up eat his shit before he dead . he went senile. worse will happen to owen. he will walk the streets foolish. nobody will notice him. he did not use power to help bajans. all the small people who voted for them like the vendors he pushing around and stopping them from earning a honest dollar. but he so powerful foolish he believe barbadians ignorant and going vote for him again because he cursing thompson to poison people minds about thompson. thompson is not the problem for barbadians. the problem is owen and his bunch of clowns. the rest of the caribbean say barbadians are a bunch of asses. a guyanese woman in barbados curse a woman the other day and tell she if she don’t realize that arthur want the guyanese and there is nothing bajans can do to stop them from coming here. you should have heard her. she say bajans foolish. owen arthur caused that. bajans voted for him but he is crying down bajans for guyanese. if bajans dont get rid of owen arthur they will soon not have a country. everybody will come here and abuse bajans. get rid of arthur. tell him go to hell with satan and the other devils and demons

• well if we are on the topics os statements made by politicians that could be implicit of their future intention, how about the opposition leader and his infamous “dividing the fatted calf” speech. when u say A you must also say B.

• Wishing in Vain

To give you some insight into Owing’s greed for power you just have to look and see how he brought Mottley to her knees he humbled her one time, and what is she today a moraless deprived slob with no direction and unable to perform in her position as a minister because of the shadow that Owing has cast over her as a minister and morally as well.

• Wishing in Vain

I would like to hear more about Owing buying real estate with public funds and making arrangements to buy these properties at more than double the real value, if a major part of the inflated difference is channelled back to his bank account, this is not a joke but a real situation and it is disgraceful to the max.
    We need some decency brought to public office before we are completely sold out of this island by this band of crooks and criminals.

• Wishing in Vain

What a pity that we gave him the chance to rape this country as he has so ably done, with his personal wealth reaching the multi millions it is reported to be in the region of $ 50 million and growing which is really a bit mind boggling when one considers the prison project as just one example of his corruption this is over $ 200 million over budget and it would be fair to assume his share to be maybe at least half, then we have his new approach of buying properties with gov’t funds but arranging to pay double the real value if only part of this excess is diverted back to his account, actually the estimate of his wealth at $ 50 million is a vast underestimate of his real worth, now this is worth in dollar values not moral worth as he has none of that at all.
    He has come a long way since Bernie Weatherhead bought him his clothes and saw after Beverly while Owing saw seeing after everyone one else like the village ram, but lets consider what damage he has bestowed on this island ? he has masterminded corruption to new levels never seen before and he has the gall to ask for another 5 years ? for what purpose and for what reason ?

• Wishing in Vain

Anyone with futher news about the stealing going on the rural development council by a man called Everton Goddard who has been dabbling with public funds, missing computers etc???

Leave a Reply