UPDATE:
Marcus Comments:
We at BFP are saddened by the too-short life of Julie and Owen’s little girl. We pray that the Lord will give the Arthur family the strength and comfort they need.
We are also very saddened and appalled by the few people who have chosen to use our community to post hateful comments towards a family at such a time.
This thread is now closed.
Once again, our heartfelt prayers go out for the Arthur family.
Marcus, Shona, Robert, Cliverton, George & Auntie Moses
The Nation News, May 19, 2007: Arthurs Lose Baby Danielle
Original Article…
Congratulations To Mr. & Mrs. Owen & Julie Arthur: Proud Parents Of New Baby Girl

FAMILY MATTERS. It appears Prime Minister Owen Arthur and his wife Julie have a new baby. While no official statement has been issued from Ilaro Court, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) was buzzing with activity early in the afternoon yesterday after the couple was rushed to the facility and directly to the maternity wing. Though it could not be confirmed, hospital sources said Julie Arthur gave birth to a baby girl, who was resting in the Neo natal Intensive Care Unit. Here, Prime Minister Owen Arthur leaving the QEH yesterday with his daughter Leah. (from the home page of The Nation News)
Our congratulations to the proud parents and family – and our thanks to the staff at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for their efforts.
Our present to the Arthurs – A peaceful weekend at Barbados Free Press with no articles personally attacking the Prime Minister. We ask our readers and contributors to respect our pledge as well.
37 Comments
May 18, 2007 at 3:27 pm
Well in addition to gate receipts for CWC 2007…..Owen Arthur also got a baby girl !
Well it is said that a new baby is a bundle of joy !
Can anyone inform why Owen Arthur has a puzzled look on his face ?
Could it be….because this is his FIRST baby born during WEDLOCK…..?
Surely this must be a puzzling EXPERIENCE for Owen to be found on such unfamiliar territory !
Anyhow if the story is TRUE….congrats to Barbados’ Leader & First Lady !
May 18, 2007 at 4:13 pm
Is this baby full term? O$A does look worried and the baby is in the NICU…I do hope the little girl is in fine fettle.
May 18, 2007 at 4:16 pm
justice
May 18th, 2007 at 4:13 pm
” Is this baby full term ? O$A does look worried……”
Probably……Beverley is approaching from Owen’s left…..!
Run Owen…run…!
May 18, 2007 at 5:28 pm
am i dreaming or did i hear some bad news? this is weird…
May 18, 2007 at 5:36 pm
Congrats Mr PM!!!
Breakin’ news!!!
Mr & Mrs O $ Arthur were seen entering Bayview a little while before going to QEH yesterday.
In other words, QEH was second choice.
Maybe the QEH will get some much needed help and,of course, a new Minister.
By the way, O$A was heard complaining that the “one elevator” was unsatisfactory and that it was “hot”.
Strange how the Master has a way of humbling the “mighty”.
My informant hopes that O$A now realizes that QEH is not as well equipped as he said two weeks ago, and also that he tells the board (especially George Griffith) that they deserve better work conditions.
May 18, 2007 at 5:42 pm
someone please tell me it was all a bad dream so i can go back to sleep
May 18, 2007 at 5:57 pm
I bet you the QEH might suddenly get a large inflow of money from the Government now that OA has experienced the horrors of the facility first hand.
May 18, 2007 at 6:07 pm
Just heard that the PM daughter has passed away.
If this is true……please accept my condolences .
May 18, 2007 at 6:10 pm
so i wasn’t dreaming then, how sad. was hoping someone would say it wasn’t true.
May 18, 2007 at 6:13 pm
My sympathy to Mr. and Mrs. Owen Arthur.
May 18, 2007 at 6:54 pm
I just felt something was wrong…the pregnancy was only about 6-7 months I believe. I extend my deepest sympathy to the parents, but God decided to keep her after all.
May 18, 2007 at 7:15 pm
My deepest condolences to Mr. and Mrs. Arthur. Just know that you are in the prayers of a lot of Bajans today.
May 18, 2007 at 7:46 pm
Sure proof of what a dreamworld the PM lives in.. that he would have a medical emergency
and present at the one medical facility in Barbados that maintains a policy of NOT handling Emergencies.
Who does he think he is, GOD? King Arthur?
he forgot to take along Excalibur, for when they gave him any rudeness, or refused to admit the wife.
Find yuh ass to QEH, sar, where medical emergencies are handled as best they can,
where they have all the necessary machines and tech.
- some working, some not -
but yuh gotta take yuh chances, bud!
Dis be Barbados.
May 18, 2007 at 7:50 pm
harsh
May 18, 2007 at 7:50 pm
maybe NOW some reality will sink in.
Takes something very personal like this
to bring about a turnaround.
I suggest that IF (IF!) we see a turnaround re. the affairs of QEH,
as a direct result of Arthur’s experience/this matter,
that we nominate the baby as a National Hero
for having given its short life
to snap Daddy into the real world.
May 18, 2007 at 7:51 pm
harsh?
LIFE IS HARSH.
coochy coochy cooo!
May 18, 2007 at 8:09 pm
Condolences from my family and self to PM on the passing of his daughter.
May 18, 2007 at 8:28 pm
Sincerest condolonces. losing a child is never easy, but God knows best.
May 18, 2007 at 8:52 pm
could someone please confirm what Jerome Hinds has said about the PM daughter, cause I would hate for this rumor to go on. (I didn’t listen to the 430pm news, but guess I’ll have to check the 530pm edition on the radio as there is no where else to get updated news.
I am sure that Mrs. Arthur wasn’t anymore than 6-7mths pregnant, but can’t confirm that either.
May 18, 2007 at 8:57 pm
Amor populi praesidium Regis
Trans: The love of the people is the King’s protection.
assuming he has the people’s love,that is.
May 18, 2007 at 9:05 pm
Sunniebgi
May 18th, 2007 at 8:52 pm
could someone please confirm what Jerome Hinds has said about the PM daughter, cause I would hate for this rumor to go on. (I didn’t listen to the 430pm news, but guess I’ll have to check the 530pm edition on the radio as there is no where else to get updated news.
I am sure that Mrs. Arthur wasn’t anymore than 6-7mths pregnant, but can’t confirm that either.
Sunniebgi,
Jerome Hinds does not / will not profess to be a guru on any subject .
This BFP site is a serious one. I do not mess around with important…..and in this case sad information.
When there is a moment for jollification I will let you know as well !
May 18, 2007 at 9:30 pm
condolences to poor O$A if the report is true but he has to experience retribution. this is another case. he has abused his power and hurt a lot of barbadians. they suffered quietly because they were afraid to come out and say so because they feel he will get back at them in a vindictive way and make them lose their jobs. these barbadians have suffered to themselves. some blp cronies who know them have even laughed in their face. but there is divine justice. what goes around does come around. you don’t see how everything around him is going wrong nowadays. he has to be feeling lonely. he will suffer more pain because God is no longer smiling on him.
May 18, 2007 at 10:09 pm
Jerome I agree, lets make sure that we are correct in this case. Saying bad things of this nature is not a good thing. If I hear anything more this evening, I’ll post.
Sylvan, you are sick person, and God certainly doesn’t work that way. It is people like you that should really be taken to task. Get thee behind me Sylvan (to paraphrase a famous quote…ever hear that one before).
May 18, 2007 at 11:06 pm
the baby did die. PM spoke about it.
confirmed fact
May 18, 2007 at 11:08 pm
This is true, very sad, I am sorry for them all – including the tyke
May 18, 2007 at 11:31 pm
Yep, saw it on the CBC evening news. Very Sad. Danielle Arthur will be given a proper Christian Buriel early next week. She was born approx 2 months premature.
Very sad news indeed.
May 19, 2007 at 12:02 am
I hope this tragic event is the precursor to a Danielle Arthur suite in QEH, fully equipped, and perhaps more importantly. maintained, as a first world facility, for the many unnecessary fatalities, neo-natal and at some time later extended to general, in our under resourced hospital.
The neglect of medical care at the expennse of “first world” grandstanding I hope will play on Mr Owen’s mind tonight,.
If it doesn’t I am certain it will feature largely in Julie’s time of grief.
May 19, 2007 at 12:11 am
How can you folks assume that the baby died because of the facilities at the QEH. I am aware of the excellent care that is given in the neo natal unit. Come on folks cut the crap talk, extend sympathy to the family, keep them in your prayers and move on.
May 19, 2007 at 12:16 am
I humbly suggest that the BFP should close/remove this thread. My condolences to the Arthurs but this is essentially a private matter and no public interest is served by further commenting on it.
May 19, 2007 at 12:20 am
Amazing….but true…… not even on the BLP blog or BFP….did Royalrumble , marcus 2 , Jay , ?? , Thomas Moore , Javon Griffith etc offer condolences to their PM & his family in his time of grief !
Albeit….all those aliases above represnts one individual !
So much for showing those in cyberspace how much you warm to your ” First World ” leader !
May 19, 2007 at 12:22 am
Amen, Citizen First.
May 19, 2007 at 12:26 am
hmmm…i do not mean to sound crazy…would not want to be harsh in a time of grief…but you know what crossed my mind today?Something is just not right….a baby at 2 months premature survives. We have one of the best neo-natal intensive care units in Barbados. So here it is…i found myself wondering was there even a baby or was it an election gimmick? I mean nobody is thinking of Kensington now huh…everybody is now sympathizing with Danielle and her parents…Do you think i watch too much tv people or are you wondering why a FIRST LADY who just came back from ENGLAND with some of the best facilities in the world; who must have been having regular checkups;who was not reported as being ill….(not even a rumour in Barbados mind u) has lost her child…i smell something fishy…Barbados Free Press please get to the bottom of this for us…
May 19, 2007 at 12:29 am
A sad day for the family and for the Nation. My sympathy.
May 19, 2007 at 12:30 am
OK this could be a very rich thread, with many side issues, but out of respect for the family, I gone.
May 19, 2007 at 12:42 am
somebody help barbados,
You raise some interesting questions. We will probably never know the answers. But it will be interesting to watch what happens to the marriage
May 19, 2007 at 12:47 am
Perhaps the Owen Arthur will pay more attention to the problems at the hospital and the effectiveness of Jerome Walcott who has been unable to make any significant changes.
My sympathy to the Arthurs. From personal experience this can be a trumatic experience which if not managed properly could impact very negatively on the family.
May 19, 2007 at 1:25 am
Marcus Comments:
We at BFP are saddened by the too-short life of Julie and Owen’s little girl. We pray that the Lord will give the Arthur family the strength and comfort they need.
We are also very saddened and appalled by the few people who have chosen to use our community to post hateful comments towards a family at such a time.
This thread is now closed.
Once again, our heartfelt prayers go out for the Arthur family.
Marcus, Shona, Robert, Cliverton, George & Auntie Moses
Comments are closed.