Despite the great expectations of higher tourist arrivals due to Barbados’ role in hosting the just-concluded Cricket World Cup, long-stay and cruise ship passenger arrivals reverted to pre-2004 levels, an analysis of data from the Central bank of Barbados shows…… from the Broad Street Journal
This story carried in the Broad Street Journal online quoting the Central Bank ‘preliminary estimates suggest that long stay arrivals contracted by 6 per cent’.
Based on average stay, that’s a loss of over 70,000 room nights during the first three months of 2007.
The BSJ article and Central Bank comments only confirm what some tourism industry watchers have been stating all along.
The widely misleading projected figures for both long stay and cruise ship arrivals have been proven to be entirely speculative.
Adrian Loveridge
3 May 2007
77 Comments
May 3, 2007 at 4:20 pm
You want to know the true impact on the island ask Mr Dennis Roach at tall ships they said that the Jolly Roger an icon of the tourism plant in Barbados just recorded their worst April on record just think about how long they have been in service to have had the worst recorded April speaks volumes to the disaster that was CWC.
May 3, 2007 at 5:51 pm
“”"The early gospel of 100,000 expected visitors and US$500 million in revenue, which was the justification for the US$400-million investment in 12 stadiums and related infrastructure in nine countries, has not been fulfilled and the global TV audiences that would boost tourism and attract investment to the region did not materialise.
Indiatimes.com reported Friday that this ninth staging of cricket’s mega-event was the least-watched Cricket World Cup in history. TV viewership dropped nearly 40 per cent compared to the 2003 edition, according to industry estimates, the report said.”"” Jamica Observer 3/5/07
prime minister arthur declare cwc tremendous success. Any bloggers can reconcile what he said with the above?
May 3, 2007 at 6:37 pm
I am not sure that Owing has be present and alive and alert during the past 6 weeks the CWC has been around for, if he were and could still sprout that nonsense he has to the most ignorant economist around.
I would have left those comments for it wasn’t me Mottley and MM Lynch but coming from Arthur it makes you laugh to see just how much spin they are trying to impart from this dead wicket.
May 3, 2007 at 6:47 pm
Can CWC be totally blamed for the fall off in arrivals. I don’t think so. Yes CWC was said to be March April and would have had an affect on March arrival figures ( people wanting to avoid the “Crowds”, even though we knew CWC for Barbados only started April 11) but what happened in Jan and Feb… That I would like to know.
In speaking with many people in Tourism it seems the luxury end of the market was hardest hit during March April, but the hit taken in that class may have been off set by increases in smaller properties and home accommodation.
I heard the rep for BMA saying how successful their program was for CWC and I understand stall holders outside of Kensington were reasonablely satisfied with business.
If we were seeing fall off in first quarter is it really CWC or is there a bigger issue.
I am sure Adrian L has an answer.
My understanding is that arrivals for April will show strong growth… but this was expected.
May 3, 2007 at 6:59 pm
If the does as he usually does and count the passengers passing thru the port as arrivals and those returning nationals that did the various ill conceived cruises as arrivals or those that got on and off the boats as arrivals then yes the April figures will look very good but the reality is that while on this was going on the big money earners in the Industry the west coast hotels were running at a sickly 45 % occupancy levels at the peak of our tourist season, it would have taken much more than 1 or 2 weeks of cricket arrivals to compensate for the early and continued damage done to occupancy figures.
As much spin as Lynch would like to give it he has totally fuh up the cup and in so doing in has done likewise to the nation.
Do you think that this gang would follow the lead of the British politicians and do as they would have done had they found themselves in this fiasco the british politicians would have all resigned by this time, Lynch, Owing and Mottley what are you all waiting for??????
May 3, 2007 at 7:04 pm
WIV, Its a bit optomistic to call April hight of winter season, but your point is taken that 45% is quite low I understand however that smaller hotels in the main faired well with occupancies in 70′S. And I know you will say a room at US$100 and one at US$800 are not the same and I agree. I also agree that spending power is different. Just goes to show that we need the high fliers that everyone criticises the BTA and Tourism Ministry for marketing to.
May 3, 2007 at 7:11 pm
No I agree that we would be at the tail end of the season but even then the hotels would have been earning winter season rates, but some of these same hotels are to hold some of the blame as well when you think that Grand Barbados is really no more than a US $ 100.00 a room night and they were asking as much as US $ 650.00 a night they ought not to have received a single booking.
The only real issues with these high flyers is that they are pulling the strings to the puppets like Owing and company are they are in control of the gov’t trust me I know and I have seen first hand the impact their money has on these the BLP politicians it is quite a major one.
May 3, 2007 at 7:29 pm
Agreed some hotels were greedy, 650.00 is just not on. not touching the political aspect of the comment, but I think I understand your position.
May 3, 2007 at 7:33 pm
The political aspect has changed seriously since my two last elections I voted BLP but you must understand there has been a change in this land and it is clear to see that the corruption is blatant and I am not voting for that again and I am willing to eradicate it for as long as I can do.
May 3, 2007 at 7:44 pm
While I accept that extended terms in government are not ideal I have real difficulty coming to grips with the candidates put forward by the DLP. We have already seen Thompsons incompetence in Finance, so who would we put there? Kellman or would he be minister of airports?
I am told David Estwick is an intelligent man but I have not heard a single word of such screaming from his mouth.
I don’t think Dems are ready, and while some BLP members will lose their seats next election I would be very surprised if they lose the government.
The DLP needs to prove themselves again it was only a short time ago that DLP was infighting, and I understand that some stalwards have difficulty with Thompson and his team of merry men.
Better the devil you know!
May 3, 2007 at 8:08 pm
Caribbean Intellectual Property laws are too strong… They’re made to attract a small audience… If an event is hosted in Asia or Europe it seems like any and every TV station will have coverage. But you stage something in the Caribbean and right away you can’t even get good coverage without buying some special add-on cable package.
Blacking-out bars across the Caribbean from showing the World Cup certainly wasn’t a law designed to boost ratings…
—–
Regarding this case….
Antigua court restrains cable company from broadcasting CWC matches
Published on Saturday, April 28, 2007
http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-1206–4-4–.html
[SNIP]ST JOHN’S, Antigua: The government of Antigua and Barbuda this week applied for and obtained an injunction in the High Court of Justice asking the court to order the cable company CTV from transmitting the broadcast of Cricket World Cup 2007 matches to three businesses in Antigua.[/SNIP]
May 3, 2007 at 11:02 pm
??
I share your lack of confidence in the supporting cast for the Dems. There are some in the team that I think will do a good job in ministerial positions, but there are quite a few that I am completely terrified of what they will do if let loose on the government purse. I have never voted for the Dems and I honestly cannot see myself voting again for the BLP in the next election. And there are many like me – how do we exercise our right to vote when we don’t believe in who we are voting for?
May 4, 2007 at 1:00 am
……..always said you MUST exercise your vote. It is an essential part of the citizen participating in the democracy that belongs to all of us.
Heeding his advice I shall exercise my constitutional right when the time comes.
If you don’t, you cannot complain about what you get.
May 4, 2007 at 1:08 am
Additionally at the end, the Broad Street Journal article speaks to the sources of the foreign currency income in the first quarter. It would appear that bond issues and real estate sales are barely propping up the economy.
Is one given to understand that the sales of land like Apes Hill, etc, are financing our current budget? This is quite a serious thing, as this is a finite resource; just about the only one we have here in Bim.
We have got to start to do better than this. We’re throwing away our fields and hills for the current budget. This money should at least be paying down the debt for the sake of our children?
May 4, 2007 at 1:10 am
This nonsense of rather the devil that devil that you know than the devil you don’t are we then going to tolerate the corruption and stealing and smile at it ?
This is beyond me that we barbadians can be so stupid to turn a blind eye to this stealing and corruption sounds too much like the crap that Adams spread about Dr Haynes that he was a communist and he wanted power to alter the balance of power, what a load of nonsense they spread that nonsense to keep them in power.
May 4, 2007 at 1:16 am
I saw in the news tonight that Mr Alvin Jemmott has joined the spin doctors, as he states that occupancy forApril 2007 is 3% up on last year. Somebody needs to get their facts right
May 4, 2007 at 1:22 am
Wishing in vain:
Perhaps the answer is for voters to say to the DLP, “Look, we’re prepared to give you a chance because we certainly don’t want this bunch of thieves any more, but at the first sign of corruption by you, and out you go forthwith.” Trouble with that is, we’ll always be throwing out and putting in. Bit like changing your clothes! But I agree that it would be ridiculous and irresponsible to throw up your hands and say better the devil you know and vote this lot back in again.
May 4, 2007 at 1:37 am
[...] is over and the resulting spin by the BLP Government is full on. The good folks over at Barbados Free Press are on the ball as [...]
May 4, 2007 at 1:54 am
True Native my approach to this is to elect them for 5 years give them a chance a fair chance and depending on their performance maybe a second term but certainly after a second term they would be out of office despite how well they maybe doing, three terms corrupts the best of them they become zealous and greedy and steal blindly lord help us if a fourth term was given we would not be able to live with the corruption these in power are showing you this now very clearly.
May 4, 2007 at 1:58 am
At next press conference you journalists out there please ask Mr. Owen Arthur the following question;
‘Prime Minister at start of World Cup in Jamaica the leader there Portia Simpson Millar spoke. Why did you not address the audience at the closing at Kensington?’
May 4, 2007 at 2:03 am
??
You seem to be contented to drink from the barrel of poor analysis and propaganda. The DLP labour Party has a more balanced list of candidates with talent, qualifications and ability than you are willing to admit. You are falling in to the trap cleverly laid by the BLP spin. The management of government is an involved process, which brings to the table the parliament, the cabinet, the civil service and other actors. They all combine to effect governance.
On the issue of David Thompson. His stint as Finance Minister, saw the Development of the First Prices and Incomes Protocol. Growth in the Barbados Economy in 2004, The establishment of the National Productivity Council, The Development of the Barbados Agricultural Management Company (BAMC), The Establishment of the Public Investment Fund, among several others, and you should note that that stint was less than two years.
Why not engage any member of the candidate pool of the DLP and understand the depth of these individuals. They are ready to govern the island of ours and to give citizens a REAL opportunity for a better life. DO NOT BE BLINKERED
May 4, 2007 at 2:36 am
I have little doubt that they can be any worst than what we are dealing with now this a form of corruption of major proportions.
I would like to ask Owing, Nicholls and Bannister just how much they have taken away from we the taxpayers of this island in the past 10 years I am sure it would boggle the mind lets start with one project the Jail that netted for them over $ 100 mill not small change by any stretch of your imagination.
Unless we are prepared to face the facts that this corruption is wide spread and dangerous to our well being and we take a stand against it, we will continue our downward slide, do not be misled into feeling that there is no economist in the party there is one in waiting and wow if we have an economist running this country now and it is being run so poorly not much to be said for that profession after all maybe we need a doctor or a layman or a lawyer to run matters whatever the case please not this crowd of bastards and crooks.
May 4, 2007 at 8:01 am
??
“In speaking with many people in Tourism it seems the luxury end of the market was hardest hit during March April, but the hit taken in that class may have been off set by increases in smaller properties and home accommodation.”
Barbados justifies the sale of its finite land resource to foreigners by saying Tourism is being diversified and it is the upmarket tourist who is being attracted.
What was upmarket about the spectators who we saw on TV?
It just seems idiotic in the extreme to say one moment that your tourism is directed at the upmarket visitor and the next to host an event which is bound to attract mass tourism.
To then stand aghast and watch as the not so upmarket tourists complain with justification about the high upmarket prices and not grasp the strategic blunder that has been committed is to me the height of idiocy.
If our raison d’etre for the tourist industry was the upmarket visitor, then CWC was the last possible event which we should have hosted.
If I were an upmarket tourist I would have avoided the masses touted to come to Babados likethe plague and gone somewhere else upmarket. I know many Bajans who from last year were making plans to be out of the country to avoid the chaos that was predicted.
It seems that our whole philosophy in Tourism is completely screwed up. One moment the minister and powers that be will claim it is the upmarket visitor we want.
Next moment it is mass tourist arrivals for CWC that is the desirable indicator.
We are sending mixed messages to both the market and to ourselves.
It remains to be seen whether we will ever recover from this fiasco.
One day we have a Golf World Cup and the powers that be pull out a set of words which justifies this upmarket event. Next day we have a CWC and a fresh set of words are trotted out to justify this not so upmarket event, although we keep our upmarket prices.
The two conflict in principle!!
May 4, 2007 at 8:07 am
Logic maybe would indicate that we need two sets of ministers. One set to deal with upmarket events and the other to deal with the not so upmarket events.
……. on second thoughts, ………. am, er, …… please don’t shoot me!!
I unreservedly withdraw this suggestion.
May 4, 2007 at 10:39 am
Wishing In Vain
I have an idea, let’s vote for the DLP and get 12% pay cuts instead of 8% lol.
Sticky Sweet
I hope you also remember all those property taxes that were waived for CLICO and Sandy Lane back in 1994. I hope you remember the land that Thompson also stole from people in Clifton.
I hope you remember that he condems the BLP for selling land to foreigners but yet he bought a property in St. Lucia. How interesting.
The bottom line is that 42% of the electorate want change, however, 78% want our most noble and astute Owen. What a extraordinary situation.
The end result will be an unprecedented win for the BLP with no less than 20 seats. I feel really badly because I can’t find 16 DLP candidates that could possibly win seats. I can find 10, not 16, and they need 16 because they need to choose a speaker.
May 4, 2007 at 11:31 am
John
I think the issue of marketing in tourism over the last few years has been correct. Establish a position in the market place of Barbados as a place you would want to go to for a holiday.
There is room in Barbados for upmarket as well as economy tourist. God knows that the Virgin Holidays and Ba Holidays and the like bring masses of Economy Tourists to the island but alongside that we have the very wealthy who also play their part in making Tourims Successful, and it has been over the years even though we have Adrian L whining about the Minister of Tourism look at what he has said he has almost 100% occupancy… and no I don’t think Adrian went to the market degrading Barbados I know from his writing that he is passionate about the product but at the end of the day who is his market I don’t believe economy tourist make up his main client. I am sure I saw posted elsewhere that Mrs Loveridge stated some years ago that Barbados was selling itself short and should have been pitching to an upmarket client.
With reference to those attending CWC2007, you appear not to have looked closely at the crowd, yes there were low end ( hate that term) visitors but the vast majority were mid to upper end, especially the Indian and Sri Lankan and many Australian who travelled from Toronto and California to see the game. .I know I interacted with many of them, Doctors, Software developers and scientists.
I do not think hosting CWC was a bad move, I think things were handled badly, but at the end of the day I believe that Barbados will benefit substantially from the coverage we got.
May 4, 2007 at 12:25 pm
??
Time will tell!!!
May 4, 2007 at 12:36 pm
??
Suprisingly, I agree with most of what you say.
Barbados cannot survive (in its current condition) and being entirely upmarket.
Its a fact of course, that we now have more rentable villa rooms than luxury hotel rooms and they tourism policymakers should question why that is.
However, it is a golden rule in marketing that you do not send mixed messages.
Don’t tell the market that here we are as a millionaires playground and then have a five year programme that subsidises airfares by up to US$300 per person with free daily breakfast, one nights accommodation free and 50% off attractions.
If I recall correctly, my wife’s comments (she has been in the industry for over 30 years) was specifically dealing with bottom-end tour operators
like AirTours, UniJet and to a lesser extent Thomson.
In 1988, the then chairman of AirTours stood up in front of the media and stated he was trying to reduce their written complaint ratio down from 10% to 8%. A staggering admission even from them.
This was in the days of the so-called Flying Pig, the first B747 to be commercially built and operated for AirTours around then.
Thomson, AirTours and Unijet were at that time paying some of our hotels as little as US$26 per room per night.
My Wife, as I did, reiterated that this was not the way to go, but that we should try and maximise our revenue by attracting DIRECT rack rate bookings either through the internet or by collective marketing. This is when we launched a small group of hotels called Barbados Treasures which was highly successful.
Peach and Quiet, our small hotel, is a 2 star plus budget property but we have still managed to win several awards including Fodors First Choice and Best Bargain Caribbean Trip Advisor.
From 1st January until 30th April this year our average occupancy has been 96%.
And that occupancy has been as rack rate.
Hopefully, we have learnt a lot from hosting CWC.
It was a daunting task, but I believe we made some fundamental errors.
As to the legacy benefit, the destination exposure was minimal and much of it appeared negative, right up until the final.
We now have to try and turn that negativity and accured debt into a positive.
May 4, 2007 at 12:37 pm
??, I voted for the BLP for the last three elections. Not anymore. If I could have withdrawn my vote I would’ve done so. The folks are greedy and it’s time to get them out. I do not agree with ?? about retaining this band of thieves, (sorry, I meant gov ministers).
What have they to show for the time they were in power? What can we look back on and say “this was outstanding? Two ministers of education and what have we to show for that?
An attorney general that still runs his practice? He introduced a bill and when time came for him to wrap up he was nowhere in parliament? Where was he? In his law chambers across the street. Of course some of his colleagues were angry with him.
By the way, he is not the only one who runs his/her business while being a minister of the crown.
Oh, someone needs to find out and report on the costs of securing ZR, ZM, B, and Z permits. Who collects and how much per permit. Only ’bout hay.
May 4, 2007 at 12:38 pm
??, I voted for the BLP for the last three elections. Not anymore. If I could have withdrawn my vote I would’ve done so. The folks are greedy and it’s time to get them out. I do not agree with ?? about retaining this band of thieves, (sorry, I meant gov ministers).
What have they to show for the time they were in power? What can we look back on and say “this was outstanding”? Two ministers of education and what have we to show for that?
An attorney general that still runs his practice? He introduced a bill and when time came for him to wrap up he was nowhere in parliament? Where was he? In his law chambers across the street. Of course some of his colleagues were angry with him.
By the way, he is not the only one who runs his/her business while being a minister of the crown.
Oh, someone needs to find out and report on the costs of securing ZR, ZM, B, and Z permits. Who collects and how much per permit. Only ’bout hay.
May 4, 2007 at 12:44 pm
In 1994 the current BLP posse was an unknown entity and we went with them. Too long with them is a serious mistake. Even though the DLP was never my party, I am willing to go with them. They just can’t do any worse as all eyes will be on them. Perhaps we can treat them like the Bahamas. If not satisfied we boot them out after ONE term.
May 4, 2007 at 12:54 pm
Zulu Are you suggesting that Glyne Clarke has been collecting party contributions for these permits ???
The Edutech project was doomed a failure for sometime now guess who made the money out of this collapsed project??? Mr Wood ought to resign for his doodling in the various ministries he has dabbled in.
We need not highlight the fiasco of CWC that falls squarely on the shoulders of I don’t know Lynch, it wasn’t me Mottley and Owing the bastard and womaniser.
The ministry of health what good can we say about this place of ill health nothing good thats for sure Walcott is a total idiot and his ministry reflects his style hopeless.
Liz Thopmson continues to operate in her own world, I loss respect for her when she could tell a leading white business that his contracts were a thing of the past that she was in charge now and she would be redistributing the contrats to spread the wealth what she was really saying was that she was giving this same work to her husbands company once again what a dishonest person.
And we are supposely to look up and respect these people give me a break.
May 4, 2007 at 3:10 pm
I don’t know why folks would waste time with ?? and Get In The Action. Their strategy is quite clear to me. They are hardlines Bees pretending to take a middle-of-the-road position so they do not alienate readers with their bilge. It is strategy. Notice the thread of their arguments. Pro BLP, but with the “soft” approach. So it is understandable that they feel that the only people who can run the affairs of this nation are the group of arrogant, corrupt nuisances we have now. If that is the case, the education system of this country should be condemened! Ding Ding could do better than this lot right now. But they will find all the reasons in the world to point out why the Dems are not ready. Pay them no attention. Examine the candidates and come to your own educated conclusion. And if you do not have time to do that, just decide that you are sick and fed up with the lack of accountability and the lies which insult your intelligence.
May 4, 2007 at 3:16 pm
Jay-
You destroy your credibility when you lie. Mummy never told you so? Check your facts and come back and tell us the truth behind the CLICO and Sandy Lane waivers. The Bees strategy of telling lies often enough till they become believable is wearing thin. The facts behind those waivers were discussed in parliament up till last budget. Or did Owen’s “campaign cheque in private account “revealation dull your recollective process?
As for the St. Lucia land tripe, that was also dissipated when Thompson broke Owen’s beak by revealing that the land was a wedding gift to his St. Lucian wife from a relative. C’mon, check your facts!!
May 4, 2007 at 3:27 pm
I 2 have never voted DLP therefore always voted BLP. I WILL BE VOTING DLP IN THE NEXT ELECTION. Even with blinkers on Mr or Mrs Jay.
You (Jay) need to look at the swing that is coming and not at who can afford the expensive cars and suits etc.
May 4, 2007 at 3:30 pm
The British developed our infrastructure and maybe we should be replicating them also in the way that they penalise Government ministers who have gone astray……..ie. the ministers have to resign their post – no more ministerial salary. Some of them have been to jail for blatant lying.
The main reason that the Government has become so transparent is (i) the new law enabling one to the right of seeing all records and (ii) the media does a great job at their investigative reporting. They bring a lot to light. They have been responsible for the ‘Cash for Honours’ for want of one example. We unfortunately have neither.(only BFP!)
Isn’t it time for Ministers to take responsibility for their actions. This is not some state in Africa !
How do we achieve that? Only through pressure from the people of Barbados.
May 4, 2007 at 3:36 pm
The Clico deal was taken care of by no lesser a person that one Mr Harold Bree St.John he did all the background work to this deal, now why would you be casting blame on David Thompson for this when your party leader was the real player do not lie to put blame where blame is not due.
The one thing that we know for certain is that Owing deposited a cheque for $ 750,000.00 to his personal bank account and he faltered when Mr Thompson attacked his creditability to the core it shook himto the bones amazing that he sweated and flustered as you would have thought that by now he would have had a lot of time get used to these scams.
May 4, 2007 at 3:44 pm
[...] when I read Adrian Loveridge’s comment above (link here) about his excellent occupancy rate in the middle of the poorest March and April that the hotel [...]
May 4, 2007 at 3:45 pm
iriebrown you have as much chance of seeing change and honesty in cabinet as a snocone has in hell.
May 4, 2007 at 3:49 pm
By the way Jay, I do not even know who the DLP candidate is in my area but he/she getting my vote
I read all the comment posted on the BFP about the various BLP ministers.
I must remind you all that these folks have the likes of Rodney Wilkinsons, Allison Peacocks, Timothy Simmons, Stuart Layne, Ian Estwick, Allan Fields, Marion Williams, Paul Altman, Colin Brewer, Al Gilkes Peter Hoyos etc. etc. etc. who serve, feed and protect the BLP minister’s interest at every turn.
May 4, 2007 at 3:59 pm
irie brown
“Isn’t it time for Ministers to take responsibility for their actions. This is not some state in Africa !
How do we achieve that? Only through pressure from the people of Barbados.”
What we the people are not doing well is using the democratic system of electing a candidate to represent a party in a constituency.
When 51 people can vote to have a person represent the whole of St. Lucy on behalf of the BLP something has got to be wrong.
Since both parties are practically the same, suppose we all join both and turn up at the elections of a candidate in our constituency in force with our vote to elect a representative of the party.
We could even move votes of no confidence in them if they fool around.
What I guess I am saying is make the song and dance about who gets elected to represent a party in a constituency, not about who gets to represent the constituency at national pools, oops soory polls!!.
If both candidates have had to earn the nominations of their party branches, then chances are they will not be the product of any clique……. let me put it another way, … the clique who gets their candidate elected to run on a B or D ticket in a constituency is the clique with the broad interest of that constituency at heart, not the 51 people who arrived to vote.
You can bet that within that 51 there are persons who are really agents of some clique with a narrow interest.
Both B and D depend on the fact that only a small group of “die hard” B’s or D’s will elect a representative.
What if we decided to make that process democratic and swamp it?
…. and what if we had no compunction in summoning an extraordinary meeting of the branch of a party to table and if thought fit debate a resolution of no confidence in our representative.
Suppose Noel Lynch’s constituency branch met and passed a no confidence motion in him … and elected an alternative person to represent the constituency?
Would he continue on as an independent, because he surely couldn’t claim to represent the BLP!!? The BLP would have chucked him!!
How many members of Noel Lynch’s constituency office elected him?
May 4, 2007 at 4:06 pm
John do I detect a hint that MM Lynch should be ditched???
This a very good suggestion but not realistic they do not drop the ones holding office.
May 4, 2007 at 4:41 pm
I have not fully made up my mind whether or not to vote at the next G.E., but I am leaning towards the Dems. Only problem is the thought of what would replace Barney Lynch if he loses. I can honestly say the thought makes me shudder.
May 4, 2007 at 4:45 pm
…. I mean, think about it. I turn a deaf ear to politicians who hold forth on the constituents they represent because something about it sounds so hollow. I just don’t listen.
I say it is hollow.
It is hollow because only a handful of people with a narrow self interest got them there when it should really be the constituents.
If they offend only one of that handful, all of a sudden they are history. The executive will see to that.
So let us take that single one out of his equation and put him in ours where he belongs. Let us remove the minority clique from the equation….. at source.
Claiming our democratic right has the distinct possibility of fixing the party system and the mess we are in.
Although I make these remarks I have done nothing about joining any of the parties. They have made the process so completely repugnant to me. Perhaps that is their goal. That way a small number chooses who represents a constituency.
But what I am beginning to slowly realise is that a new party may not be the answer if the candidate selection to run in the national poll is not broadbased. So why not make the candidate selection in both of the major parties totally broad based?
As repugnant as joining a political party sounds to me I am beginning to think it makes sense.
Anybody thinking along those lines?
…… look, I am desperate, I would really appreciate if someone could show me I am talking foolishness ….. then I will completely discard the notion of joining the two parties, a notion which is gaining strength in my mind, ….. against every every instinct I possess.
In return, I promise to shut up …. at least on this idea.
Please help me before I go and do something completely idiotic based on logic!!
May 4, 2007 at 4:50 pm
Well, John, I think it most certainly would be completely idiotic if you join BOTH parties!! Is that what you meant when you said, “then I will completely discard the notion of joining the two parties …” Huh?!
May 4, 2007 at 5:03 pm
A man called in on Brass Tacks today and reminded listeners about how during the run-up to the Elections (I forget which year), David Thompson had as his theme, so to speak, “Crime and Violence” and how he was laughed to scorn by all and sundry, initiated by BLP people. He said he could even remember hearing little children on their way to school laughing and shouting, “crime and violence” as if it were some huge joke. How many Bajans are laughing at that now? They should be hanging their heads in shame.
May 4, 2007 at 5:06 pm
Very sorry to butt in again.
I went back to the Broad Street Journal- wanted to try to guage what % of GDP the bond issue would have been, in order to then guage the effect that land and real estate sales were having on our current balance of payments…..
The article is gone.
Is a floating bond issue ‘income’, or is it a ‘loan’? Or both?
May 4, 2007 at 5:16 pm
Wishing in Vain
Suppose a couple of hunderd people in a constituency went and joined the BLP.
Would they be able to democratically table, debate and vote on a no confidence motion at the branch level with the objective of replacing the elected branch representative?
Maybe the D’s could launch a preemptive strike and remove Barney as the BLP representative for their constituency!! …. or for that matter the B’s and remove David!! … and all completely democratic, transparent and above board.
All it would take is a few D’s from his constituency to join the B’s!!!!!! even if it is only for a year!! …. and then to do their stuff!!
It would also reveal just how organised the Bee hive is!!
We could call dem de killer bees and resurrect Operation Beehive.
It would also reveal whether joining a political party is a simple matter as the press could follow the exploits of the de killer bees. Maybe they could become a part of the exercise.
Now here is something the D’s could actually do and demonstrate how well democracy works, and it doesn’t require anybody from the hierarchy to get involved. It would also show their commitment to change.
Rank and file members could do it.
Of course, the D’s could expect a return of the compliment. So it would be up to dem to put their house in order, in line with their commitment for change.
It might also encourage more people to become involved in the political process which has become repugnant to most.
May 4, 2007 at 5:19 pm
True Native
I was kind of hoping you would destroy my logic with better logic.
May 4, 2007 at 5:35 pm
Watch out for Clyde Mascoll. Nobody seems to remember who /what he is. He has joined the the merry band of pirates. Check out his role in the new Hardwood company at Six Roads in St. Philip. He is going to make millions in a very short time frame. Keep an eye on him, folks. We do not have any recall system in B’dos, so I am not giving the Barbados Labour Pirates my vote anymore. Spread the word. The more people know of this site the better.
I have told some of my friends about it and some are scared to post anything because they think that this party has a way of finding out who are the people who do things. So what? Let’s get rid of the crooks. The new prison up there in St. Philip looks good. Any idea if glyne and company could get a room uo there? Just asking.
May 4, 2007 at 5:53 pm
What happens to a representative in Parliament if his branch has no confidence in him?
Guess he can stay as an independent, or cross the floor!!
When an MP crosses the floor nothing seems to happen.
I forget now but is Clyde Mascoll still the representative of the DLP branch that elected him?
Have they passed a no confidence motion in him?
… or have they just quietly replaced him.
Has he resigned? … and if he can resign, can he be fired?
Would it matter?
…. or better put, would it matter that Clyde Mascol remains an MP with his DLP Branch not officially saying whether they have confidence in him or not?
How many members would turn up at a DLP constituency branch meeting to vote if a no confidence motion in Clyde Mascoll were tabled? Would it be the same amount who voted to select him, …. or less … or more?
Is he still a member of the DLP?
Is he a member of the BLP?
Does crossing the floor equate with becoming a fully paid up party member?
If he is a member of the BLP, how does the duly elected BLP constituency representative feel about being completely overlooked for a DLP man?
Who is the BLP constituency representative if Clyde Mascoll is not?
If he is not, could the members of the BLP constituency branch meet and move a motion of no confidence in him?
If they can’t, are their rights being removed?
Guess what I am asking is “what are the rules?” … and “how can we normal everyday citizens work within the rules to effect change in a transparent democratic, peaceful way?”
If it works, it looks like we could try my idea in six or seven constituencies and effect change with little effort.
Wonder if the MPs would become independent or cross the floor or form a new party or whatever …….
Could I be a member of two political parties simultaneously?
Both have (or better had have) as their avowed aim the betterment of Barbados and Barbadians.
I happen to share this aim with both.
Could I join both in the furtherance of this aim?
May 4, 2007 at 6:06 pm
“Only problem is the thought of what would replace Barney Lynch if he loses. I can honestly say the thought makes me shudder”
—–
Can it get any worse?
May 4, 2007 at 6:09 pm
John…I don’t think there are any laws/rules which govern a member elected in one party crossing the floor. I think that when he/she crosses the floor, he/she retains that seat until the elections are called again.
He/she does not lose his/her seat. Therefore, the people who elected Clyde Mascoll as a member of the DLP are represented by Clyde Mascoll BLP.
Whether that is what they wanted or not.
May 4, 2007 at 6:32 pm
Lady Anon:
Any worse that whom – Barney or the other one?
May 4, 2007 at 6:35 pm
John, you got my head giddy with them questions, man! From now on you should be the one with the ?? pseudonym!!
May 4, 2007 at 6:39 pm
I have been reading some of your comments and would want to respond to some of them.
Firstly, to those of you who said that you voted BLP in last election but would not be doing so this time around let me thank you for your support in the past, although I really do not believe that you voted for us ever let me wish you all the best in the future.
Secondly, for those who think that this government is corrupt and that the DLP is not then it is clear that we do have short memories. For it was only a few years ago that this country was grinding under the endless scandals of the DLP. There were scandals in every Ministry.
This upcoming election will be about leadership, management of the economy, truth, Prime Minister Arthur and David Thompson.
The DLP’s campaign for this election is clear. They are resolved to use a strategy of the 19970s where every MP and government initative was labelled corrupt. Thought no evidence was ever be produced the charge persisted.
Take note that a revised Public Accounts Committee with full powers to bring these matters to a head does not meet. Of even greater note is the fact the same man who leads the Public Accounts Committee is also the man who leads the DLP that is mounting the charges of corruption and who is also the same man responsible for the biggest polical lie is our history. The lie about the IMF secret deal was totally uneccesary and uncalled for and occurred to early in his political career.
If you start wrong you could only end wrong. Let me be more specific about this Thompson. While he misleads others about the sale of land to foreigners he has amassed millions in legal fees from the sale of the same land. While he accuses others of under-hand deals he has proudly advocated a fatted-calf policy that seeks to do the very thing for which he accuses others.
Those who are willing to vote for a fatted-calf policy over a policy of political inclusion for all says a lot about who you are as a person. You can not be serious about wanting to arest socalled greed but yet you promote a policy that says that you would use the resources of government to prop up the hands and pockets of a few who stay the course of DLP politics.
I have been specific in my charge on Thompson give me use on PM Arthur. I will be back with more.
May 4, 2007 at 6:41 pm
True Native…Barney, of course. I know they say the devil you know is better than the devil you don’t, but I don’t think it could get any worse than Barney. He is the poster for “what not to do”.
May 4, 2007 at 6:42 pm
Cat Eyes
Unlike you I am not blinded by party loyalty. Simply because I stated that I have never voted for the Dems does not make me a “hardline Bee”. You clearly do not understand my point. I do not believe in the policies or the people in either party, but I have no choice but to put my X by one of them if I am to exercise my right. That X has gone to the BLP in the past because I thought they had governed this island better.
The corruption, the arrogance and the blatant mismanagement we all see now has left me disillusioned and I will NOT be voting for them in the next election. So I guess my only option is to vote for the Dems.
So who is the hardliner here – I think you should examine your own extreme loyalties. In my comment above I was agreeing with ?? about the DLP slate of candidates and my reservations on some of them. I have even more reservations about the BLP crew. I guess that makes me an Independent without a party and representation.
May 4, 2007 at 6:44 pm
“For it was only a few years ago that this country was grinding under the endless scandals of the DLP. There were scandals in every Ministry.”
——————–
I know pple say that “time flying”…but cuddear, 15+ years is more than a few years ago!
Pple in glass houses should not throw stones, you know. Scandal galore in BLP…Have you not been reading?
Too many to list.
May 4, 2007 at 6:57 pm
I challenge mr loveridge to tell us how he arrived at a loss of 70,000 bed nights in the first quarter when the governor told us that the loss was primarily from Caricom arrivals
May 4, 2007 at 7:00 pm
You Rumble the idiot the fatted calf mentality is already in place with Owing and his clan of merry crooks sticking close to him for their cash back schemes.
Are you about to suggest that Owing knew nothing about the cheque for the $ 750,000.00 that he deposited to his account or his share in the draw back for the Jail which they overspent by nearly a $ 1 mill to provide for he Nicholls and Bannister? Or Glyne Clarke knows nothing about the situation with the land that he lives on?
Or that Liz Thompson does not hand out contracts to her husband for over and above the normal price of this work?
Or that Mottley has not screw up the various ministries she has molested in her period as a minister?
Or that lynch has found himself amassing a small fortune on a ministers pay to be able to pay over a $ 1 mill for his house and spend nearly as much on rennovations and repairs?
Or Dale Marshall working as an attorney while carrying out the job of the Attorney general?
Or Jerome Walcott not knowing anything about the gross stealing taking place at the hospital under his charge?
These are but a few observations as to the gross stealing that your corrupt party has been part of and you come to forum spilling your crap you need to take a hike and while you are at it keep going do not bother to return as you and your gang of crooks are on the way out and desperate let the stealing move into second gear time is limited for you.
May 4, 2007 at 7:03 pm
You Rumble the idiot the fatted calf mentality is already in place with Owing and his clan of merry crooks sticking close to him for their cash back schemes.
Are you about to suggest that Owing knew nothing about the cheque for the $ 750,000.00 that he deposited to his account or his share in the draw back for the Jail which they overspent by nearly a $ 1 mill to provide for he Nicholls and Bannister? Or Glyne Clarke knows nothing about the situation with the land that he lives on?
Or that Liz Thompson does not hand out contracts to her husband for over and above the normal price of this work?
Or that Mottley has not screw up the various ministries she has molested in her period as a minister?
Or that lynch has found himself amassing a small fortune on a ministers pay to be able to pay over a $ 1 mill for his house and spend nearly as much on rennovations and repairs?
Or Dale Marshall working as an attorney while carrying out the job of the Attorney general?
Or Jerome Walcott not knowing anything about the gross stealing taking place at the hospital under his charge?
These are but a few observations as to the gross stealing that your corrupt party has been part of and you come to forum spilling your crap you need to take a hike and while you are at it keep going do not bother to return as you and your gang of crooks are on the way out and desperate let the stealing move into second gear time is limited for you…
May 4, 2007 at 7:25 pm
Just got some info on the UDC and its involvement with Hardwood Building Solutions. Will try to confirm before posting anything further.
WIV, glyne clarke did not collect funds for any party. He collected for himself. A check with certain people of indian descent will confirm.
May 4, 2007 at 7:33 pm
Wishing
What is going on with the DLP. I understand why they have remained quiet while the matches were on, but this is almost a week later and they have barely raised a squeek commenting on the money wasted on the closing ceremony. You would think Thompson and company would be out of the blocks firing on all cyclinders, the minute they turned off the lights at Kensington (sorry forgot they didn’t have any). They have got enough material with this CWC mess to badly bruise this government. Why are they so quiet?
May 4, 2007 at 7:34 pm
Royalrumble, What planet are you from? Are you so blinded that you want to believe all the trash and faeces being uttered by the BLP? I admire your spirit. You do have the right to talk nonsense even though I do not share your view. You mnay not share mine either but that is ok. Howvwer, take off the blinkers and see things for yourself. Unless you are one of the priviledged few who are benefitting from the corruption. Perhaps, who knows?
May 4, 2007 at 7:57 pm
Cat Eyes. I do have another option and that’s to not vote at all, unless the Dems can step up to the plate and prove that they have what it takes to run this country.
May 5, 2007 at 1:11 am
Getting in Action – Wht exactly is your problem? You are on to Cat Eyes like white on rice, it appears as though Cat Eyes touched one of your raw nerves. Relax, regardless to whether you vote for the Dems or not, they will win the next General Elections. Check the pulse of the people, ma boy, so chill out.
May 6, 2007 at 11:43 am
?? Question Mark
This one is for you & the other BLP doodlers…!
People vote against corruption !
Within the last 6 months 2 of our Caricom colleagues ( St. Lucia & Bahamas ) have held their general elections.
Barbados is due to do so within the next few months also.
A careful read of the news link below would indicate the power of the electorate to put an end to corruption, arrogance & plain dishonesty by our politicians.
Below are some of the issues in the St. Lucia election.
http://www.stluciastar.com/NewsHome/CommentsLetters/tabid/390/newsid902/397/Default.aspx
The end result : the Kenny Anthony administration was VOTED out of office !
Below are some of the issues in the Bahamas election.
http://www.thenassauguardian.com/editorial/301938427198870.php
The end result : the Perry Christie administration was VOTED out of office !
In Barbados for the past 13 years the citizens have been expressing concerns over :
Broken promises !
Greenland !
St. Joseph Hospital enquiry!
GEMS!
CBC !
UDC!
FBI report!
Edutech!
Promises of $ 34 million roads fo St. Philip !
Warrens building!
Flyovers costs!
New Prison costs!
Extravagant spending !
QEH!
and the latest scandal CWC 2007 !
Read the story in the link below :
http://www.nationnews.com/story/300922687082446.php
What will the verdict be in Barbados on these financial & governance issues when elections come around ?
After all of this, does the BLP deserve another 5 years to continue on their merry – go round ?
Would the Barbadian electorate demonstrate the intellectual & intestinal fortitude like their St. Lucian & Bahamian counterparts ?
How much crap is enough ?
Wake up Barbadians !
The time of decision is fast approaching !
May 6, 2007 at 2:07 pm
Yes, all very true, Jerome Hinds. Now will you please instruct (if that’s the right word) the DLP to get up off their fannies and SPEAK OUT against all this corruption and wrongdoing. Have they gone to sleep, or what? I am disappointed.
May 6, 2007 at 4:52 pm
DLP must be careful not to peak too soon.
Arthur can call elections when he chooses so it is not prudent to make all their plans public until Elections are called.
The BLP is very good at politics. They have an army of spin doctors and politically savvy operatives.
The DLP will have enough time from the day Elections are called to deliver their policies to the Barbadian public.
May 6, 2007 at 5:38 pm
True Native,
Like you I am anxious to hit the road, but as Hants has observed , there will be time for the DLP to get their message across.
Note, that the BLP is scrambling to save face in light of CWC 2007.
Clyde Mascoll is now begging Bajans to stay with the BEES forgetting that he Clyde Mascoll was telling Bajans to get rid of the BEES because of
Broken promises !
Greenland !
St. Joseph Hospital enquiry!
GEMS!
CBC !
UDC!
FBI report!
Edutech!
Promises of $ 34 million roads fo St. Philip !
Warrens building!
Flyovers costs!
New Prison costs!
Extravagant spending !
QEH!
The BEES have changed NOTHING with respect to those projects/issues…..now Mascoll has found solace in their bosom…!
The DLP would be out there in force it will be up to the electorate to decide where they will stand.
May 7, 2007 at 12:02 am
As a I understand it under our Parliamentary system, the role of the Opposition is to “keep the Government honest” – it is their role to make sure that mismanagement and corruption are highlighted. And since we have a joke for a media, the Opposition are the only watch dogs.
What sense does it make to sit idly by while the government ministers are writhing in their seats. Do we even know who the Shadow Minister of Tourism is? He should be refuting all of the facts and fiction coming out of the ministers’ mouths as they try to paint a different picture. Only Adrian L is responding. The election is not constitutionally due until late 2008. Are they going to respond to yesterday’s circus of a press conference in August 2008.
May 7, 2007 at 12:16 am
Get in The Action says “The election is not constitutionally due until late 2008 says. ”
The Prime Minister will call Elections at anytime before then that is to the advantage of his party.
Also, the DLP parliamentarians have been attacking the Government consistently but I guess you haven’t noticed.
It is also the responsibility of every adult citizen to make judgements on the performance of the Government. You don’t have to wait for the Opposition party.
May 7, 2007 at 1:07 am
Hants,
I’ve always given consideration to your posts, partisan as they may be, but a DLP response to the obvious raping of our treasury requires no disclosure of your long awaited manifesto, you’ve got to hit these hogs hard…NOW.
The evidence is compelling.
If your leader, and chairman of our ultimate watchdog the Public Accounts Committee,
refuses to even ask the questions we on this blog believe need urgently answering,if only to stop further plundering, we have to ask the question of this “Prime Minister in waiting” …why not?
May 7, 2007 at 9:51 am
Hants
So what if the PM can call an election at any time. That’s a poor excuse for lack of action. Does that mean that serious issues of the day are to be left with no or little response until the election bell rings. This Opposition needs to show us that they are ready to take the mantle of leadership. The Shadow Minister of Tourism should be having a field day with Lynch but do we even know who he is? We have all had enough of the corruption and the dog and pony tricks of this government. Thompson needs to step up to the plate NOW.
May 28, 2007 at 1:08 pm
Bearing in mind the front page story by Roy Morris in the Nation today ‘The Best by Far’, I had to remind myself of the headline of this story
‘CWC R.I.P.: Thanks to the games, Barbados’ long stay arrivals in the first quarter fell to the lowest level in three years’.
How can you brag about April, when losses in the first three months exceed the total tourism revenue from CWC?
‘The bank (Central) added that preliminary estimates suggest that long stay visitors contracted by 6 per cent’.
‘
The decline in longstay visitors in the first quarter of six percent suggests a total arrival figure for the first three months of around 148,300 visitors, down close to 10,000′ on the nearly 158,000 longstay arrivals for the same period last year’.
May 28, 2007 at 1:17 pm
“The election is not constitutionally due until late 2008″ – and yet there are people so desperate for change they sit on the edges of their seats,
awaiting an announcement of The Election Date, ‘any day now’ !
We have a waaays to go yet, fellas!
‘Late 2008′ (even mid-2008) gives Bajans an entire year to forget the failure of CWC-07,
and time for the roads network to be improved in time for elections NEXT YEAR,2008.