April 14, 2007...5:45 am

Even After Thousands Of Free Tickets Given Away – Barbados Kensington Oval At Only 45% Of Capacity!

Jump to Comments

According to Cricket World Cup officials…

Number of seats filled at Friday’s Australia vs Ireland Super 8 = 12178

In other words, after giving away thousand of tickets to school children and church organisations, Kensington Oval was still only at 45% of it’s full capacity of 27,000.

The Nation News – Feeling The Fever

34 Comments

• all this money spent on cricket, and very little to show for it, imagine what we could have done for housing and the QEH, what a shame!! Somebody must be held accountable

• Bajejun these are very noble thoughts and wishes but we are not dealing with noble people here these are crooks and criminals of the highest order, however if the projects where capable of generating sizeable commisions to Nicholls, Bannister and Owing then I would expect to see them take shape hence we may see a rush to start more projects to secure their commisions very much like it is the case now with over $ 9 mill in Air conditioning equipment bought for 2 projects which have a completetion date of 2 years down the line but these pieces of equipment are already in Barbados and paid for so as to secure the commisions etc before their is a change of Gov’t.
    This is how life works in BGI and it is masterminded by Owing Arthur the crook.

• Free tickets for Kensington !

Constant advertisement on radio & television and only 45 % capacity at Kensignton !

Who paying for all of this ?

• Well…if they had left the old Kensington…it would have been bursting at the seams!!!!

• There Their They're..

Consolation all around.
    Lady Anon is quite right.
    Old Kensington had much more charm. They coulda spent big bux sprucing it up BigTime and it woulda worked. This new thing is ‘okay’ but will take its time to work a way into the national psyche,
    which seems to have boycotted the whole thing,now!

• Who yuh think?

The Barbados Taxpayer payin!!
    thru his nose!

• -In other words, after giving away thousand of tickets to school children and church organisations, Kensington Oval was still only at 45% of it’s full capacity of 27,000.-

To reimburse for freebies I would garnish salaries

of everyone connected to LOC/CWC from

Decaires, Alleyne, Rouse ,Francine Charles and

Fingall..Mia Mottley, Lynch , Bostic and Atherley,

Arthur and on. These people misled an entire

population who now have to pay dearly for their

extravagance and incompetence.

• Javon Griffith

This is a non-sensical claim. Even if the ship was full, it wouldn’t have made back the 14,772,000USD

• “..wouldn’t have made back the 14,772,000USD”

oh thank GOD it wasn’t whole fifteen million dollars.
    I feel a lot better with an accurate figure now (v.kindly supplied by an obvious insider).

Aww heck.. what’s a mere fourteen million, seven hundred and seventy-two thousand U.S.Dollars among friends ?
    Nothing for us to fight and quarrel over.

• Then tell us Javon, how much of that USD$ 14,772,000 would you be in a position to repay? Would it really have cost us, the taxpayers $15 MILLION to secure the Carnival Destiny?

• Victory to the people

The idiot Lynch should be made to repay the loan so to he should share the cost with the rest of the idiots in cabinet for drawing us into such a mess.
    After all this is only about $ 400 mill compared to what they have stolen it is chicken feed.

• javon, you really have to be a lackey to persist in your non sensical defence of lynch, blp and misguided policies. that 14,772,000 would have been better spent on health and education. what is amazing about you is that i bet you don’t even get a cent of the money these people are thieveing but you are the first person to defend them. you are a real lackey!

• well javon you probably get to mingle with the boys every once in a while, get a pat on the back and go home to your family and boast about how you are a personal friend of the minister.

• Victory to the people

It appears to me that he may have benefitted from these deals as it appears that he and Lynch are one and the same person.
    I want a plantation to is my line steal a lot from the taxpayers and you are set for life, my only wonder is what Lynch has holding for Owing that Owing has not fired the bastard as yet, surely it cannot be about the cheque Owing deposited to his bank account for $ 750,000.00 nor can it be about the land deal in Holders, nor can it be about the 1000 Slot machines he and Nicholls are bringing into the island, nor can it be about the
    $ 100 mill that the group have amassed with the over costing at the jail these are all there for all to see it is what is hidden that has me wondering?????

• Why don’t you blame the India and Pakistan teams for losing and causing us all this heartache. Isn’t that what everyone is saying.. Just cause these 2 teams didn’t make it this far, we have lost a lot of revenue?? Make them pay for our loses…

Didn’t the cruise line/bta make the tickets for the cruise non-refundable so they couldn’t get out of paying.. or maybe they did and we are squappling over nothing.

Why is there a refund section on the Cricket World Cup website, when I thought when you purchased a package or ticket it was non-refundable???

Why don’t the vendors at the stadium on Friday blame the Aussies for chosing to bat second, when they could have batted first and we could have watched some world class cricket.. then had lunch (after paying almost double more the price for some items from some vendors than you normally would) and then watch Ireland try there best and getting a few runs. and how come my childrens school was left out of the running for free tickets??? (they were told the school was not picked last week before the regular term was over)

and who can I send my laundry bill to because I spelt a pepsi all over me because the stadium people told me I couldn’t keep the cap to recap my drink but no one could tell me who’s rule that was (the stadium or the ICC) and when they look at all the stains on the new flooring because all of the spilt drinks, who’s going to pay to clean that up..

Lots of blaming going on here.. Lets just keep it going..

• Totalitarianism?

MyGod- the USSR is born again…
    “the stadium people told me I couldn’t keep the cap to recap my drink,
    but no one could tell me who’s rule that was”

What were you going to do with a closed bottle of soda? Create a bommbb?

• Someone who attended the opening of the ceremony for the concord said that the Lynch said that Barbados gets about 500,000 UK visitors per year and if only 5% of them visit the concord then we get 75,000 visitors.

I think the problem is he is just not good with maths. We saw this with his projection of 75,000 on the cruise ships.

The man is very incompetent …
    One thing like I have said before is that they did not factor in the fact that cruise ship passengers would have paid for all their meals as well as that they want to hurry back to the ship to gamble. Certainly, they can’t be on the ship and be at all the other functions on the island like the big empty tent. I hope gov’t allows the owner to remain open until after crop over, otherwise they will not make any money. Owen has no choice now but to call a general elections very soon otherwise we will all come to know the truth.

• Collymore Rock 'Em

Um en de Ministers’ faults! Kensington acshually full up! How de Ministers to know dat mosta de Bajans gon show up dressed as empty seats?

• It has just been announced on cbc tv that persons can enter kensington oval tomorrow after 11 a.m. for free. They must however proceed to one of the park and ride sites to get a ticket. I hope someone from the local organising committee can cofirm this. I would not want to know that i am sitting next to someone in a stand who has not paid anything even though they turn up at 11

• Well Owen really believe Bajans are MOOJANS….!

HEAR…….. the ” GREAT ECONOMIST ”

1. BDS $ 600 Million to refurbish Kensington Oval….!

2. I going to move ” HEAVEN & EARTH ” to make sure I make back that money…..!

3. CWC 2007 comes to Barbados on 11 April 2007…tickets prices fall from US $ 300.00 to US $ 50.00 per ticket…..crowds DWINDLE even further….!

4. 15th April 2007…..Owen says bring yuh food and enter Kensington Oval FREE…..!

That is OWEN****MIA****LYNCH……LEGACY of CWC 2007….!

By the way the refurbished KENSINGTON OVAL can now hold…….28,000….!

Did not LYNCH said….90,000 tourists will be here for CWC 2007…?

So how come the whole of Barbados can now enter FREE…..?

• I understand you can only enter for free after 11 a.m and only if you have a ticket. Bangledash may oust Ireland before 11

• The gates are to be thrown open . free.
    Those who paid $$ for their tickets…they get to go in before You Rabble, who have to get (free)tickets to go in, yuh cyan jes brek de door so and go in, like yuh in de vanstand.
    When my wife hear it, she say de men who pay big$ for their ticket must be CRUEL all now.

• Many years ago in the eighties because of low occupancies Sandy Lane Hotel dropped their room rates so significantly low that some working class people were able to afford rooms. The result was that a tremendous amount of friction and conflict developed between working class guests and millionnnaires, There were reported fights in the restaurant etc.

Jerome,
    I hope there are no fights between persons who paid USD$300 and those paying $0Arthur.

• BFP,

Please do a check to confirm the following :

1.**** The CWC 2007 SCHEDULE was never a guarantee for INDIA & PAKISTAN to play each other in Barbados on 15th April 2007…?

2.***** The Barbados LOC giving away tickets FREE for the Barbados match on 15th April 2007 has NOTHING to do with INDIA & PAKISTAN being knocked….?

3. ***** Were not all ticket purchases non – refundable as a RULE by the ICC…….?

4.****** So if the INDIANS & PAKISTANIS bought ALL the tickets for the match on 15th April 2007 …..where did Steven Alleyne now get this MOB – A – TON of tickets from all of a SUDDEN…?

5. ****** Is it not FAIR to conclude that sales for this match as EVIDENCED by previous CWC 2oo7 games were never too GOOD…?

Let us all check these issues and others surrounding CWC 2007….!

• Dear Jerome Hinds,

Your facts appear to be indisputable and educational and your research is unquestionable. But please, Jerome, your CAPITALS and *****s and !!!s and ???s and …. s are driving me up the bloody wall. So I’m afraid I’m having to avoid your indisputable facts for now until my addled brain settles down. Hope you don’t take offence at my comments.

• Jerome,

I agree with you “The CWC 2007 SCHEDULE was never a guarantee for INDIA & PAKISTAN to play each other in Barbados on 15th April 2007…?” …..unless of course there was some guarantee that these teams would play based on match fixing.

I cannot articulate how I feel amount this entire mess. Alleyne was so pathetic on TV. Can you imagine big so called executives like Alleyne, Rouse, Lynch, Mia, Owen etc sitting around a table and agreeing to implement a marketing and promotional strategy based on a prediction,,,a feeling…..? …..and not strategised around the event regardless of who was playing?

Dem really making sport.

Finally I agree with True Native…..you are one of the most articulate and informed blogger …
    you do not need to use the capitals etc……your postings can be more effective and reader friendly without the capitals.

• True Native and No – Name,

Your suggestions with respect to the capitalisations are accepted.

I will make the adjustments.

Thanks

• Rumplestilskin

Is that true, for free? But then you have to pay for the park and ride….no?

Tink dem that stupid?

cunning way of getting you to pay for tickets.

Except some fellas going go, get the tickets and proceed on their way without de ‘park and ride’….if allowed.

• Well we have reached the next stage check out today’s Nation.

Oval open to all
    Published on: 4/15/07.

FREE FOR ALL!

The Barbados Local (LOC) Organising Committee is throwing open the gates to Barbadians for today’s Cricket World Cup Super 8 match between Bangladesh and Ireland.

A Press release last night from the LOC stated that from 11 a.m. today cricket fans can come to Kensington Oval and watch the match, free of cost.

This offer is being made because even though about 22 000 tickets were sold for the match in anticipation of it being an India versus Pakistan clash, thousands of supporters from those countries cancelled their plans, leaving hundreds of seats available.

Chief executive officer of the Barbados LOC, Stephen Alleyne, said his committee had “decided to turn this challenge into an opportunity” by allowing people in free to fill the empty but paid-for seats.

He added: “While the expected clash between rivals Pakistan and India has not materialised, the fixture between Bangladesh and Ireland has the potential to be a competitive and exciting match.”

Important

Alleyne also said it was important to remember these seats were paid for and it was necessary to ensure which ticket holders intended to access their seats. The open day would therefore commence from 11 a.m.

People who wish to attend from the first ball are still able to purchase from the remaining unsold match tickets.

Open day vouchers will be distributed at all Park-and-Ride sites and at the Pelican Ticket Centre. (PR/AL-F)

• But finally I have agreed with some thing Rickey Singh have said in Today’s sunday sun.

“But the cleansing process with hard decisions – involving all key stakeholders, including WICB directors, national associations, governments and CARICOM in general – now seems inevitable, once the post mortem on CWC 2007 is over.”

• Get In The Action

Unbelievable! So what happens to the guy who turns up at 11.01AM and finds his seat gone after spending a couple hundred dollars. If it’s a visitor that’s really going to leave a great impression about Barbados. I’m sure they will be back to our shores to repace all of the regulars who didn’t come this year because of CWC.

• Pogo,

That is the truth , the big boys Stephen Alleyne, Chris Decaires , Vancourt Rouse etc done get their money up front.

The Goddard Group also get their money up front.

Food Vendors had to pay $ 8,000.00 up front for stall spaces. Now the Barbados LOC giving away tickets free on Sunday 15 th April , 2007 and tell spectators bring your Sunday lunch with you .

Goddards Group smiling all the way to the bank…..to save their loot..!

Kensington Food Vendors grumbling all the way to the bank…to borrow money to settle their debts..!

Too bad if the banks realise that your are black…no loans..!

This is Owen’s BLP legacy of CWC 2007…!

Give Owen a 4 th TERM…!

Let’s hear it for the BOYS…!

• BFP and fellow contributors to this site,

Let us all study the following pronouncements and find out which CHRIS is telling the TRUTH…!

1.****** The comments below are attributed to Chris DEHRING in the Jamaican Observer of 15 th April 2007. The entire story is provided in the link below :

“Additionally, ticketing revenue… has already more than doubled that of the last Cricket World Cup, which had ticket sales of US$10.5 million.
    That’s already a creditable showing when you compare South Africa’s size, both in population and economy, with that of the West Indies, Dehring argued. ”

Now Chris DEHRING speaks about this US$10.5 million in ticket sales……as a collective for the entire 9 host countries for CWC 2007…..!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sports/html/20070414T140000-0500_121771_OBS__WORLD_CUP_SEMIS_SAFE__.asp

2. ***** The comments below are attributed to Chris DE CAIRES in the Sunday Sun of 15 th April 2007. The entire story is provided in the link below :

” BARBADOS has scored big with $24 million in ticket sales so far from Cricket World Cup (CWC).
    Chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC), Chris de Caires, told the SUNDAY SUN yesterday that up to a week or two ago, this was the tally for confirmed sales.
    But there could be more.
    He said that with additional tickets sold that were re-issued last week, more revenue could be added.
    Satisfied with the monies received so far, de Caires said the LOC was originally targeting $25 million to $30 million in revenue. ”

Now Chris DE CAIRES speaks about this $ 24 , $ 25 , & $ 30 million in ticket sales……as what Barbados has collected for matches on the island for CWC 2007…..!

http://www.nationnews.com/story/292993319762869.php

So the following question must be asked :

How come ticket sales in Barbados oustripped ticket sales for the entire CWC 2007 EVENT….when compared to what Mr. Chris Dehring is stating……?

Chris DE CAIRES is SPINNING here…..a.k.a telling LIES…..!

• Adrian Loveridge

Hindustan Times today (16th April 2007)

‘We worked out a sport tourism package and this was a fantastic opportunity to get the Indians here’
    said Petra Roach, the Vice President of the Barbados Tourism Authority, ‘ we are ready for at least 4,000 Indians’.

So 4,000 Indians and maybe 2,000 Pakistani’s would have filled the stadium and not the 22,000 that has been quoted?

Leave a Reply