March 29, 2007...8:57 pm

Bajan Dream Project Blog Says “Strong Opposition Gives Hope For A More Balanced Democracy In Barbados” – Sorry We Have To Disagree…

Jump to Comments

barbados-goodies-for-poor.jpg

“…I will not – like the Barbadians pictured – shower adulation on the PM and his 13 year old rhetoric. While as a PR practitioner I can congratulate him on his ability to maintain popular opinion even in light of dire circumstances (increased debt, less foreign exchange, increasing land sales to foreigners, spiraling cost of living, et al.), I really have to say that this Prime Minister – and his cabinet – have left the average Barbadian wanting… no, not wanting another luxury golf course or condominium, or wanting Cove Bay and other Barbadian birthrights to be sold to the highest bidder – but wanting urgent social change. Indeed, relief from the burdens that increasingly make life as a poor or middle class Barbadian exceedingly difficult.

… from the Bajan Dream Project blog (link here)

We Have To Point Out That Fine Words From Politicians Mean Nothing Anymore…

Our friend over at the Bajan Dream Project blog is all excited about the fine words from DLP Opposition Leader David Thompson. Like so many Bajans, the Bajan Dream Project still believes that words from a politician indicate an actual and sincere intent.

Our blogging friend believes that electing Thompson and the DLP will result in betterment for the people. Why? Because Thompson and the DLP are… what ? More honest? Can be trusted to ignore temptations of power where Owen Arthur and friends have failed? Are more sincere than Arthur and the BLP? Will not take advantage of the absence of rules to feather their own nests?

It is our opinion that without legislated conflict of interest and integrity standards, the DLP is the same as the BLP. The only difference will be which gang of piggies gets to feed at the trough.

Either of these parties could have introduced integrity legislation and conflict of interest rules at any time during the past 13 years. Both failed to do this. Both have promised in the past to introduce the necessary legislation, but did not keep those promises.

Why should the Bajan Dream Project believe the DLP and Thompson now?

Our blogging friend is naive to think that Thompson and the DLP will be any more honest than the BLP piggies.

We need transparency laws, integrity legislation and conflict of interest rules to keep honest people honest, and to hold the crooks accountable.

Nothing less will do.

52 Comments

• BFP,

I have said before that I believe a majority of Bajans support your call for Integrity Legislation etc.

But I also said such legislation alone would not only do it…..there must be a personal commitiment / responsibilty to live by those rules not only for politicians…..but the wider community of persons as well.

I am sure you are quite aware that there is such legislation EXISTING in Jamaica and Trinindad & Tobago.

Do you recall the episode with Basdeo Panday and the Integrity Commission there….!

I am sure we can recognise that Panday’s PERSONAL responsibilty not to DECLARE his assets before the Integrity Commision there have somewhat STYMIED the process in that country.

Latest development in that country…..Parliament suspended until the Law Courts determine if Panday can resume his position in Parliament…!!

Back in Barbados, both parties have PROMISED but have not delivered the Integrity Legislation….!!

Owen Arthur says there is no need for such legislation in Barbados…!!

David Thompson says there is a need for a,

1. Contractor General…!

2. The sale of lands to be debated and passed in Parliament and NOT left to the pen..and…whims of a Minister in charge of Lands / Town planning…!!

3. All DLP Parliamentarians MUST have dedicated days for constituents concerns / activities…!!

4. All DLP candidates MUST declare all assets under Integrity Legislation…!!

So BFP, would you LISTEN / VOTE for a party that says NO to Integrity Legislation while pursuing QUESTIONNABLE projects….?

Or

A party that PLEDGES to implement such legislation if given the REINS of Government…???

At LEAST the DLP gives the Electorate something to HOLD them to when ELECTED…!!

The issue in Barbados is…… CLEAR….. do the citizens want a continuation of the Wastage , Arrogance , Lack of Accountability as OCCURS under this BLP government……

Or

Do we WANT give our country a different PATH of DEVELOPMENT….??

BFP,

I invite you to benchmark your calls for such legislation in Barbados against what is happening in other Caribbean countries with Integrity Legislation.

Comment by BFP Robert

Hello Jerome

I understand your point that having integrity legislation is no guarantee that people will obey the law. That is an entirely different problem, but the legislation is the first and only step that matters. Without legislation in place, the public has no recourse. For example, it is legal in Barbados at the present time for the Prime Minister or a member of his family to accept “consulting fees” from land owners who are applying for permission to develop… when Owen Arthur has the ultimate approval power.

That should be illegal – but it is not. Immoral, unethical – yes. But not illegal – so no recourse.

Legislation is the only thing that counts. The social fight to have it adhered to and to change hearts and minds will follow.

As far as Thompy and the DLP go – they like the BLP have promised this type of legislation for decades. Thompson and the DLP could have introduced their own Conflict of Interest and integrity rules years ago but did not. They could have introduced integrity legislation before Parliament and forced the BLP to turn it down. Today and every day for the past year, they could have all declared their assets and instituted rules of conduct for their sitting MPs, but they chose not to.

Thompson’s words mean nothing when he has the power NOW to take action but does not.

That’s the way I see it, and I am sure others agree.

Robert

• The lesser of two evils……

• Robert, I see your point clearly and agree with you to a certain extent. Trouble is, WHAT DO WE DO? Vote back in the stinging bees (bee stings can KILL) or just don’t vote at all? I am totally confused. I for one am willing to give the DLP a chance again, because I do believe they have learnt their lesson (after Sandiford messed them up), but you’re messing with my head when you appear to be saying we have no alternative. Help me out here.

• All that you said is true, however notwithstanding the DLP not being more vocal about integrity legislation (which I agree should not be overlooked), the main thrust of the article was lauding the Opposition Leader for voicing the concerns that meant the most to the ‘average’ Barbadian, and sounding – for the first time – like the DLP actually had its head on and was a challenge to the 13 year old establishment on the other side of the house, especially where the issue of poverty was concerned.

It was by many accounts a biting budget reply. Of course, he must now match those words with action. I would sincerely like to believe that he would introduce integrity legislation, and he’s been in the opposition long enough to know that Barbadians want more accountability and the ability to trust their elected officials. In fact, it would be quite silly of him not to make this feature prominently in his official election campaigns and follow it through with action.

Flowery words mean nothing of course… and just like Arthur’s speech, Thompson could have been talking fluff. But it’s a bit early to say that. While the contributor may seem naive in the article, it would be very sad if Barbados politics had come to the stage where you couldn’t give any politician the initial benefit of the doubt and had to be acerbic and cynical the moment they seemed to be making a step in the right direction.

If Thompson were to win the next election and he did not stress the principles of integrity and push for this legislation, we would be equally as vocal in criticizing him but for now we hope and congratulate him on making the right steps, and continue to hope that he will do what is expected of him for parliamentary integrity, transparency and of course poverty relief. If he’s been following any blogs, or even listened to the people of Barbados, he must know that this is a major concern for them and if he had any sense he would pursue anti-corruption legislation as a matter of urgency. For now, the people need something to hope in – painting Thompson and the crew as ‘piggies’ before giving them a chance isn’t going to achieve that. – C. Williams, BDP blog contributor.

Comment by Cliverton

Hi C. Williams!

Good to see you drop by, and by the way, your website is looking most spiffy these days. Congrats.

As to the DLP giving something for Bajans to “hope in” – nope, we’re not going to fall into that trap. Words and promises? Nope… not listening until Thompy and the DLP institute conflict of interest, disclosure and integrity rules for their own candidates.

Thompy and the DLP could do that tomorrow.

IF they did that, I MIGHT start to exhibit some hope, but not until I see action.

Words mean nothing anymore.

• For anything like democracy to thrive requires solid institutions, an independent judicairy & press, a good legal framework and popular will to hold those in power to account. I may be way out there on this but Barbados has some of the first, less of the second, and is seriously lacking in the third and forth. Don’t over-play how bad things are: we’re a genuine democracy with an enviable record in many ways. However, the lack of a legal framework to hold those in power to account and, more to the point, a general popular apathy at some levels to do so is a real issue. You’ve got to ask yourself – if enough people really, really cared, wouldn’t there be more of a debate ? And I don’t just mean through the fairly passive media.
    I think that the real problem that BFP is rightly highlighting is that the differences between the DLP and BLP are marginal in practice and there isn’t a serious alternative.
    Can someone with integrity and crediblity please, oh please, start a decent 3rd party…

• True Native

Follow your gut feeling – To do nothing or vote back the BLP is to commit political suicide.

As in every country,charges and acts of corruption can be levelled at every party,however do the research yourself -no Dlp government has been accused of or has been proven to commit the horrific acts of corruption,greed,immorality and overall destruction of this country as this BLP government.

Watch and see,even on this site when challenged about the DLP being the same as the BLP,those criticising cannot produce any concrete evidence.

They say he david thompson as minister of finance waive taxes on plantation land bought by clico – david finally dealt with that in the house showng that this was a prior arrangement made between tom adams and eric williams of trinidad – AND -he was telephoned by the late bernard st john who was the lawyer for clico – and who told thompson that he had to waive these taxes for the said clico.

Arthur then shut up and sat down in the house.

The Duffus commission is raised going way back to 1976 – yet nothing in that report pointed to any corruption in the DLP.

Then somebody started throwing out names – oxnards,wanstead – and that barrow died rich.

Where’s the beef eh – tell me?

The truth is david thompson is on record as saying his government will enact Integrity Legislation – Owen arthur said “it is on the back burner and he is not dealing with that”.

Surely the two positions cannot be the same – so you have to take a chance on the person who has at least promised to do something and whose track record is nowhere near that of those in power.

Every minister of government or big up party member or their family have become millionaires during this arthur regime.

Now pray tell in all sincerity how you can compare that with David Thompson and the Dlp.

Let’s call wrong – wrong – but at least be fair.

• Thank you for that enlightenment, Jupiter. BFP seems to be taking the line, “once bitten twice shy”, like a man/woman in a relationship gone sour and all trust is gone. But I’m thinking, at least give the Dems another chance and if they blow it, then they’re history. You are right, going back to the Dems under Errol Barrow – they were cleared of corruption. On the other hand, I have to agree with BFP that there MUST be action on the integrity legislation issue and not just WORDS, so I hope David Thompson is reading these blogs. ACTION, Thompy, not just words!

• Hey True Native

Why not have Thompson and the DLP institute their own standards now – before the election… and before you support them?

If Thompson and the DLP meant it, they would already be distributing the legislation for public comment – years ago. They would have had lawyers draw it up, public hearings, media briefings. They could have done all that in the last year or two and the public would be ramped up to the issue.

But like the BLP, Thompson and the boys never even used the words “conflict of interest”, “integrity legislation”, “accountability”, “freedom of information act” or “transparency” until Barbados Free Press came along.

Why would you ever think that they were sincere now?

Demand action not words. The system must be fixed because as it stands even the most well-intentioned find it difficult to resist the “no rules” environment once elected.

Vote for the DLP if you want – heck vote for the BLP…

One is like the other if the system is not changed.

• accountant general

Yes! This is a call to action for the DLP. The campaign for re-election MUST have the necessary legislation, that is number one.

If DLP is reading this, understand it is Corruption that we see, and it is corruption that we want to eliminate.

Lookah, for the last 5-6 years we have built more and sold more overseas than ever. It is not possible for it to be more. We should be AWASH in money/surplus…… but we aren’t. Yuh think it will always be like this?

We want our country back, and it has been rampant (Corruption with a capital C) in the third term.

That is where we are going.

If DLP doesn’t go there, they will lose. Don’t you be procrastinating, because we have a short tolerance and long memory. Start to make this right.

Make Barbados great again!

Come on people, act before we go the way of Jamaica and Trinidad. Forget about the oil promise. It’s so deep under the sea it will be 30-50 years before it’s economical, if it’s even there. It ain’t going to save us. We have to act- NOW. Otherwise we won’t be independant any more. 40 years in the desert, and we cross over to ???

• BFP

What I agree with you on is that the DLP needs to be telling us the type of Integrity Legislation they will be considering – ie the model they will use.

However I suspect that the BLP and their friends in the media – the moderators and newspapers etc are just waiting for that to try and tear the model apart.

Remember that there are a large number of academics and professionals who are owing – owen – big time.

Owen knew what he was doing with this politics of inclusion – include all who has influence – give them consultancies,contracts,big picks,promotions etc – use the taxpayers dollars to do so – and then whip the taxpayers with their own money.

I also think that by now a lot of those ministers are reading BFP and know that the majority of us strongly feel that they should go to jail should they be found guilty of corruption – so they are watching closely what thompson has to say – to start planning dey business.

I am willing to cut thompson some slack,but I know it’s going to be rough for him and his party if he reneges on that promise.

Further I suggest that he start speaking a lot more on why he thinks the legislation is necessary and how soon he intends to enact it.

• I fear that this may not be the most appropriate post to raise this, but whatever happened to the PEP? I’m aware that they share column space with the BLP and DLP commentary in The Nation, but other than that, I’ve haven’t seen or heard much from them.

Comment by Cliverton

Hi Bystander

We have invited the PEP to participate here and openly invited them to use our space to reach the Bajan electorate. Nada. They don’t even have a website, so they are really not much of a “party”.

(IMHO)

Clive

• Hello Clive,

That was very generous of BFP to extend such an offer to PEP. Beg pardon, for I mean no harm by asking, but:

1. Why did BFP choose to extend such an offer in the first place? Surely someone in PEP must be savvy enough, or know someone that is able to setup a basic blog?

2. Were similar offers made to the BLP and the DLP? I mean, that’s all for naught now, as B and D both have websites. But I’m still curious.

3. Did you, at the time of making your offer, consider that the assistance offered towards PEP may have been looked upon as some sort of endorsement of PEP by BFP?

Or maybe I was regarding your invitation to PEP in the wrong way. Maybe you merely wanted them to partake in the discussion and debate on BFP.

Again, let me reiterate, it is not my intention to ’start anything’ by my questions above. I merely ask out of curiousity and because these thoughts are in my head and maybe it’s best that they be set free.

As for the political party status of PEP. I don’t know and I’m inclined to agree with you. That is, they are not much of a political party. At the very least, they should have some form of online presence. Some sort of spin machine running. When was the last time BFP contacted them, maybe it’s time to give them a call, or send them a letter (via snail mail, since I guess the party probably doesn’t have an e-mail addy either.)

Would it not be informative and useful to solicit their input and feedback as well? I mean, the more the merrier, don’t you think? Or are we stuck with only two political parties. The B and the D. A case of choosing between (as I think a reader already pointed out,) the ‘lesser of two evils.’

The Bystander

Comment by Clive

Hi Bystander

You’re a little new around here, so you don’t know that we have been offering to help all the parties since we started. We actually assisted the BLP many times in setting up their blog with advice and suggestions… helping their learning curve with the WordPress software. Similarly, we chided the DLP for not having a blog, and when they set one up we welcomed it as being good for democracy. We also made suggestions and gave them technical advice – for instance about the correct size of their header jpeg so it would display correctly.

You can also find articles where we reviewed both the DLP and BLP websites (not their blogs)

All of the above was done publicly online for all to see.

We believe that the internet is good for democracy, and so we welcome any political website or blog even if we don’t agree with what they say or do.

Clive

• Hello Clive,

Fair enough. Since your offer of assistance was extended to the other parties, then that is impartial enough for me.

Now, as I mentioned at the end of my comment, what are your thoughts on re-establishing contact with PEP?

Does the BFP think they have anything worthwhile to contribute or bring to the table? As I said, I’m all for more discussion and thought, so in this case, three is not a crowd.

Oh, and for the record, I don’t support B, D nor P. Just in case your readers were wondering.

• Get In The Action

BFP

Your stance is bang on! A lot of us have become disenchanted and cynical about politics in this island. Both parties are cut from the same cloth, both have their share of lackies and yard fowls lurking in the background either diving in the trough or waiting to dive in the trough. We line up to vote and simply swop one for the other swayed by sweet promises.

Words from politicians count for NOTHING anymore. Stop the promises and give us action! The DLP

• Get In The Action

Sorry hit return by accident:

The DLP supporters on this blog are trying to convince us to trust Thompson’s promises to introduce this legislation. Do it now – have each of your candidates issue a declaration of their current assets and a pledge to update this every year. That’s a start. Then bring the legislation to Parliament and force the BLP to shoot it down, if they dare. Then the Independents among us will know you are serious.

• BFP,

On this isuue of Accountability and Integrity in Public life, is it possible after your money laundering DISCLOSURE…..you can do some more delving to explain to us HOW and WHY MASCOT became a BEE……???

I will start the ball rolling by MENTIONING the following :

The BLP are the TRUE……BIGOTS..!!

Imagine after :

1. Owen Arthur calling Mascoll a Political Step – Knee…!!

2. Rommell Marshall cussing Mascoll ailing mother in Parliament…..!!

3. Arthur accusing Mascoll of offering bribes during the 2003 General Election…..even threatening to get a letter to the DPP….!!

4. Arthur accusing Mascoll of extending his home without Town & Country planning approval….!!

5. Arthur accusing Mascoll of illegally receiving money from the Public Workers Credit Union while being a Board member…..!!

Arthur…….says the DLP chase Mascoll because they did not love him….!!

The BLP bigots must understand….Bajans not living in a 1937 Barbados…!!!

BFP,

I ask, was MONEY the PULL & PUSH factor…..???

• Town and Country planning is one of the areas where the big illegal $$$ are. Similarly infrastructure projects, improperly conceived, and hastily implemented, appear to point towards insiders’ wishes for a cut of dirty money for the award of the contracts.

This is placing Barbados on an aberrant path. Many of these projects fail, and the cost is astronomical.

We are being taken somewhere we won’t want to be. Those who are leading are also mis-leading.

And we cannot afford it in financial terms. Maybe it’s too late.

The public sees this.

• BFP,

Further discussion on this issue of Accountability and Integrity and it’s implications for Democracy in Barbados.

Does it surprise anyone in Barbados, including the personnel at BFP, that a Prime Minister who says there is no NEED FOR INTEGRITY LEGISLATION IN BARBADOS…….is also the Minister responsible for our LONE tax payer FUNDED television station…..CBC

THEREFORE ;

Viewers over the past several weeks would have NOTICED the following :

1. BLP ministers and operatives like ( Joey Harper ) can be seen on television with the audience they are speaking to.

WHILE…..for persons from the DLP you are OFTEN only shown the person speaking…..not the AUDIENCE….!

RECENT EXAMPLE : A picture of Chris Sinckler talking to himself….!! WHEN…moments earlier an extract from a BLP meeting SHOWS the Director of RDC and George Griffith shown speaking to an AUDIENCE…!!

2. Check how reports are covered from the DLP Friday lunch time lectures…..only the picture of the speaker is shown….!!

RECENT EXAMPLES : Bobby Morris, Tennyson Beckles, Orlando Marville etc….!!

Pay attention to the CBC report from the same DLP lunch time FORUM for today 2007 -03 -30..!

It is important to HIGHLIGHT such incidents for they point to a systematic ATTACK on FREEDOM OF INFORMATION……!!

BFP,

You highlighted the situation of ZIMBABWE in an earlier article……please take the time to REMIND us that what we SEE and HEAR coming out of that country…..is NOT an overnight…HAPPENING…!!

To think that those in Zimbabwe were BRUTALISED for just ” PRAYING “………does it surprise anyone that CBC acts the way it does with Rev. Joseph Atherley……being Minister of STATE for the CBC….!!

BFP,

Use your influence to EXPOSE this……..ROT….. at the CBC….the DLP continues to GIVE it CONSTANT……attention..!!

• And don’t think that the ‘Miami connection’ will ever move. Prices up, and staying up.

They will simply drop a piece of money to cutie pie (if they haven’t already), and they will have her as their doll too.

Every smile ent a skin teat’.

Barbados wake up. We are no longer free!!

• JUPITER: You say that if the DLP formulate a model for integrity legislation, the BLP and their friends in the media will “tear it apart”. Well, that is to be expected, so the answer is, come up with a model that they CANNOT tear apart! Where are your gurus? Use them. Where are your guts? I am aware of the fact that it would be risky to reveal your complete hand while this bunch of vultures are waiting to pounce on it, but you can’t just throw up your hands and say you can’t bring something the people are waiting on because the BLP will tear it to shreds. I know Mr. Barrow once said that you shouldn’t let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, and I think BFP are a bit guilty of that, telling us about their upcoming expositions because they are definitely giving the guilty ones time to cover their tracks. Before the Budget Debate, Bajans were begging the DLP to tell them exactly WHAT are their alternative government plans. The DLP came through with flying colours in Thompy’s reply. The people are now begging for integrity legislation. DLP, show at least some of your hand. But hurry up and get on with it.

• Get in The Action

Jerome

Didn’t Sandiford and the DLP use CBC in exactly the same way pre-1994? And do you really think that the DLP will give up this propoganda vehicle if they came to power? They are all cut from the same cloth.

• I don’t consider myself an expert, let alone novice, when it comes to politics and the CBC. However, this arrangement, where you have a media entity being owned/controlled by Government, shouldn’t be allowed (it’s like that in Russia/Cuba, too.)

Privatize CBC. If not, then as Jerome said, whichever Government is in power at the time, will simply use it as a propoganda vehicle. Better yet, grant the licenses and let other private entities get in on the T.V action.

State owned/controlled media may be acceptable if and only if, there are alternative sources of information that are not owned/controlled by the State.

• Food prices.

If poor people had computers you would hear a different tone to this blog.

The ‘Miami Connection’ is one where local Bajan interests found separate companies in Florida which purchase the products and then ’sell’ them to their local companies.

These doubly purchased and sold products are marked up, and resold to the company in Barbados. Consumers pay duties, taxes and markups on a product that has been bought twice!!

Integrity legislation? Yes, but what about this??

Removal of the ‘cess? SMALL POTATOES.

Consolidators in Floroida do this for free, and there can be no justification for these middle companies, except that they are bankrupting our country.

The currency loss to the treasury is enormous from this.

Poor people are leaving half the food in the trolleys because they cannot afford it, and we bloggers don’t care.

Shame! BFP this is very important.

• Cartel buster
    Wouldn’t you agree that the system needs attention from every angle?
    Hopefully the net will be spread far enough to catch as much as it can.
    If there is a thorough clensing then everyone wins.

• Get in The Action
    March 30th, 2007 at 12:34 pm
    Jerome

Didn’t Sandiford and the DLP use CBC in exactly the same way pre-1994? And do you really think that the DLP will give up this propoganda vehicle if they came to power? They are all cut from the same cloth.
    —————————————————————-

Precisely the point I am making.

The DLP has PLEDGED to PRIVATISE the CBC.

The BLP has PROMISED to allow other entities like VOB to have a TELEVISION station……13 YEARS later NO deliverance of that PROMISE…!!

Would such a BLP PROMISE see the LIGHT of day…..????

When David Ellis CANNOT even get a Gov’t Minister to SIT in the SAME studio with a PRIVATE citizen for a public radio DISCUSSION PROGRAMME….???

The ISSUE is CLEAR for Barbadians…… either we LIKE the BLP STYLE of GOVERNANCE…..or WE are PREPARED to give the DLP a CHANCE to ADDRESS our concerns…!!

The BLP STATES, that there is NO need for Integrity Legislation to be IMPLEMENTED, and the BLP has been in OFFICE for 13 years….NOW….!

The DLP will IMPLEMENT Integrity Legislation once they are in OFFICE.

Which PARTY DESERVES our ATTENTION on this ISSUE…!!

• Sorry Jerome

No deal as yet

It has to be the #1 campaign promise and #1 manifesto promise. Job #1- corruption.

Similarly, the double sales should be illegal. Sorry for cartels, but this is UNPATRIOTIC. You are destroying us. Stop it.

• Get in The Action

Jerome

Promises. Promises. These manifestos are scattered with them. I am sure if we dug up both BLP and DLP manifestos going back to the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s we would see promises to privatize CBC “once elected”. Same thing, Thompson is supposedly promising Integrity Legislation once elected.

It’s not enough anymore. Do something about it now. What’s stopping him from having a declaration of all assets held by his candidates as of the end of 2006? Would that not say he is really serious about this?

• Here we go again with this returning decimal, Integrity Legislation. We continue to make the same error over and over again. Integrity is a moral/philosophical issue not a legal issue. What would it take to get you all to understand that you most definately can not legislate someones attitude or their behaviour.

All of you have been building you arguments on a false premise and this is that this country has a major problem with it’s accountability of government funds and corruption. Nothing can be further from the truth. Check the latest edition of Transparency International. I am convinced that this integrity lesgislation issue is nothing more than a red herring by a poor-rakey Opposition trying to find a distraction for the electorate. It is therefore quite understandable why the debate on this issue, on this blog and in other places has been largely amongst DLP members.

If there is such widespread corruption in Government why hasn’t the reformed Public Accounts Committee brought the issues to the table. Up until now it has been all speculation.

Let me say this. If anyone wants to know if thompy is more trustworthy than PM Arthur then all we have to do is to exame the conduct of both men in their public functions.

Thompy will not deny that he wilfully sat an exam for his brother. As simple as that may seem it does say a lot about his character. Thompy cannot deny that he lead over 30,000 people to Queens Park to hear of a secret deal which he most definately knew he did not have. His propensity to lie for his any cause is enormous. Thompy would not deny that he told Barbadians not to buy any of Government’s shares in ICB and BNB but yet he was the first to purchase them on behave of his children. Some confidence in his leadership.

Thompy will not deny that while he has been stroking on the debate about land being sold to outsiders he has been earning millions in legal fees for selling land to non Barbadians. Thompy cannot deny that he was part of a government that instructed the movement of files from the law courts of Barbados that were carrying investigations into the St. Joseph Hospital. Today that investigation as been incomplete. Thompy will never deny that he was the first person to ever introduced a 51/2 gallon drum to hold kola syrup during the Kola Syrup scandal. The list goes on.

Thompy will definately not deny that he along with the late Marson Gibbs and other BLP operatives committed perjury in the case Greaves vs Greenidge. And having engaged the services of Gibbs for their conspiracy they then refused to pay him his share of the deal. Gibbs went to his grave without a cent from that deal.

Will thompy deny that there are a number of grieving policy holders of a certain insurance company who were ripped off as part of his action.

The question is this. Can a man who has shown such gross integrity live by a law the seeks to govern his behaviour? There is no empirical to suggest that persons who are hell-bent on breaking the law are other wise persuaded by legilation. Integrity is not a product that you purchase for the shelve or an item in a statue book, it is a profound philosophical human characteristic that is instilled from childhood. It is very difficult to break even as you become an adult. To think that thompy can lead a life of integrity is to expect blood from a rock. Really.

Quick comment by Cliverton

RR said “Integrity is a moral/philosophical issue not a legal issue. What would it take to get you all to understand that you most definately can not legislate someones attitude or their behaviour.”

Cliverton replies…

You are so full of BS! We have laws in society for all manner of issues to keep the honest persons honest and to allow accountability of those who transgress on the standards.

Laws are nothing more than standards set by society. Your crowd is happy that their unethical behaviour is not illegal and you Royal Rumble are part of the effort to ensure that this unethical behaviour is not legislated as illegal.

So you and your friends can keep lining your pockets at the expense of your fellow citizens.

• Great job of telling us the sins of the DLP and thanks for that to RoyalRumble.

Now can you please do the same for the BLP?

We are sure you can and that all in all these are healthy discussions. A politician is given a political trust of the people when put into power. It is of paramount importance that the people can see how this is carried out which is why transparency laws are needed.

Transparency means that those who carry the political trust are not allowed to hide what they do. If the people ask a question about the sacred trust then it must be answered. If money from the sacred trust is being spent we are entitled to know how and how much.

Since everyone arrives in power with different ethical and moral training it is important to have conflict of interest laws so that everyone operates under the same rules.

No one can be allowed to decide where political trust money is spent if they can decide to spend it where it ends up in their own pocket.

These are pretty basic and why would we not insist that our politicians operate under these rules? If they won’t then they should step down and give the political trust to someone who will.

• RR your arguments are spurious. Transparency International cannot publish things it knows nothing about or cannot corroborate with proof of evidence. This is Barbados we are talking about were the official secrecy act, the pervasiveness of libel threats that is enabled by patronage, and placement, at the public trough, makes it impossible to get the simplest of information. You can hide behind this institution, but Transparency international cannot be a spokesperson for Barbadians in Barbados. We have valid reasons to be suspicious of the all players in this mixed government institution. It is by its very existence a corrupting entity. Our premise is not faulty, and you know that corruption abounds in Barbados, that corruption is core to the functions of our system of government, that what Ezra Alleyne would call patronage we prefer to call it by its real name. That you would seek to place measurements on what constitutes corruption and at what point we should be alarm, tells of the difficulty you may have experienced in justifying to your conscience that MAJOR or not, corruption/patronage is unchecked in this BLP government and that it is characterize by activities of it’s major players, and the associations they have; Superstructures and all

But even if you did not mean to suggest in some ways you have a point, Integrity legislation would not work in this current system of government. You cannot have a law that is by designed outlaws, the core, and binding activity to the centralization of power which is the primary focus of mixed governments. Corruption is core to the exercise of power in Barbados. To continue with this system is to say no to any attempt in law to demand a level of honesty with our money from public officials, or any attempt to recognize that there is a need for such. Isn’t it ironic that Owen Arthur would tell us that he is a pragmatist, but on the question of having Integrity legislation in Barbados, he say he does not THINK such legislation is needed at this time as he BELIEVES Barbadian politicians are or have been very honest. The so called pragmatist does not defer to empirical evidence this time he gives way to his BELIEVES. How convenient, as we now know such empirical evidence would have led to monies from questionable sources in a bank account at first Caribbean bank Speighstown branch.

• Get in The Action

Royalrumble

We’re not going to be led down that path anymore. Blind trust was lost a long time ago.

You mention Transparency International. I am sure they must have a team of forensic auditors who have experience tracking the ill-gotten gains of despots around the world. Wouldn’t it be interesting if they paid us a visit?

• Get in The Action

Wouldn’t it be interesting if they paid us a visit?

———————————————————

Perhaps they are here/there already.

• Get in The Action

Anonymous

Things around here will REALLY get interesting then.

If the journalists in Barbados are going to be muzzled, what is stopping the BBC, The Times or the Wall Street Journal from doing an investigative piece on corruption in Barbados. With a thorough global investigation, it can’t be too difficult to track the assets of individuals over a period of time.

Then it would prove once and for all the extent of the problem.

• To BFP and my fellow bloggers,

After reading the reaction of persons on pages 12 & 13 in the Weekend Nation of 2007 – 03 – 30 please read the article on the link below and get a deeper appreciation of the challenges invovled in the establishment of Integrity Legislation.

We must remember also, most these politicians went to universities together and they network well….!!!!

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/19990628/cleisure/c5.html

• RR

“Let me say this. If anyone wants to know if thompy is more trustworthy than PM Arthur then all we have to do is to exame the conduct of both men in their public functions.”

I agree RR, lets do that as an exercise.

Public function #1.

Both men made a promise to take a wife till death do them part.

Both performed this totally public function as men, not as public servants, and expressed their will for all to see.

Don’t know if they got married in church, but if they did, they included God when they made their promise.

Do you really want us to measure the two against one another using their conduct in all public functions?

Should we use this first public function to guage their ability to keep their word and hence their trustworthiness?

Guess not.

RR, think about what you are saying.

• Royalrumble a.k.a Judas,

To be taken seriously on the issue of Transparency and Integrity you must first tell Barbadians WHERE and WHAT Owen Arthur did with the FBI file he said was on his DESK….!!

You are so damn STUPID playing SMART but not being CLEVER…..you KNOW there is a CORREALATION between :

1. The $ 750,000.00 Cheque in Owen ’s personal
    bank Account….!!!

2. The BFP soon to be RELEASED Money Laundering story….!!!

3. The Barney Lynch Plantation – poor – boy – story…!!

Yuh NITWICK…..tell us which one of the ABOVE….involves David Thompson and the DLP…..?

• BFP – Robert

Thompson’s words mean nothing when he has the power NOW to take action but does not.

That’s the way I see it, and I am sure others agree.

Robert

True Native
    March 29th, 2007 at 10:06 pm

I am totally confused. I for one am willing to give the DLP a chance again, because I do believe they have learnt their lesson (after Sandiford messed them up), but you’re messing with my head when you appear to be saying we have no alternative. Help me out here.

BFP Robert,

I totally agree with you. I suspect that the reason why the DLP is so quite is that they too “running, ducking, even hiding”. They too got skeletons in their closets and they wind is blowing through them.

They probably trying they best to cover their tracks before making any pronounments. I can hear the meeting now.

David “uhum, uhum, all to order, now boys and girls, the BFP is kicking up a real stink bout this Integrity and transparency thing. Any uh wunna got anything that we got to cover up, if so leh we get it organize, quick and fast before deh get round to we”

Attendees “yeah man we got a few things but we like we ain’t know how to hide them up and we ain’t even good frens wid Barney an’ Owen to get some tips” Call Rawle, one uh he diabolical frens might be able to help.

True Native – I can’t subscribe to this “if none any” policy. We would find we self in real big trouble, you imagine giving them a try and then they get wid Owen and cut we tail, we would all have to get in a Moses and head to Culpepper island and I ain’t so sure that can hold all ah we! It would be salt enough to suck bout hey and they way they operate they would increase the pricing on that too.

May the God of Heaven help us in our time of need .

• Jerome Hinds
    “To be taken seriously on the issue of Transparency and Integrity you must first tell Barbadians WHERE and WHAT Owen Arthur did with the FBI file he said was on his DESK….!!”

Weekend Nation Friday March 22, 2002 Page 3.

“Informed sources in the United States confirmed yesterday that the report was forwarded to Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s office late last week through the office of the Attorney-General Mia Mottley.”

• helper
    March 30th, 2007 at 10:21 pm
    Jerome Hinds
    “To be taken seriously on the issue of Transparency and Integrity you must first tell Barbadians WHERE and WHAT Owen Arthur did with the FBI file he said was on his DESK….!!”

“Informed sources in the United States confirmed yesterday that the report was forwarded to Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s office late last week through the office of the Attorney-General Mia Mottley.”
    —————————————————————

Helper,

Thanks for that bit of information.

I must assume that Mia being a Lawyer – with her No – HOLES – Barred policy……she probably BIT a HOLE into IT…!!!

• Is that why Lionel Nurse a former Town and Country boss is now a Permanent Secretary??

He did not do a good job whilst he was there victimizing workers. I think he and Yolanda Alleyne (CWC Stephen Alleyne’s wife) were very close.

• Jupiter, as usual you are right on point. Jerome Love yuh man. You are rr’s worst nightmare if indeed he sleeps at night. I just love the quote

You are so damn STUPID playing SMART but not being CLEVER….. that just made my day :-) :-)

• Warrior,

Have to keep exposing these misfits within the BLP..!!

No Retreat….No Surrender..!!

Cheers, Brave Warrior.

• Hi Folks,

Well imagine there is no REPUBLIC as yet…..!

Thank God citizens STILL can express on BFP….because trying to get my posting below on the BLP blog under the article ” Thompson’s Irrelavance ” was DELETED 3 times before I tried a 4th time….!!

Just not sure if I am succesful in getting it on…!!

I guess Royalrumble a.k.a Judas, did not REALISE that ALL the copies of the Weekend Nation Friday March 22, 2002 Page 3 were NOT…..BURNT….!!

Royalrumble a.k.a Judas,

To be taken seriously on the issue of Transparency and Integrity you must first tell Barbadians WHERE and WHAT Owen Arthur did with the FBI file he said was on his DESK….!!

You are so damn STUPID playing SMART but not being CLEVER…..you KNOW there is a CORREALATION between :

1. The $ 750,000.00 Cheque in Owen ’s personal
    bank Account….!!!

2. The BFP soon to be RELEASED Money Laundering story….!!!

3. The Barney Lynch Plantation – poor – boy – story…!!

Yuh NITWICK…..tell us which one of the ABOVE….involves David Thompson and the DLP…..?

Royalrumble a.k.a Judas,

Check the facts :

Dumbo…..!!

• Javon Griffith

It’s interesting Jerome how you forget that David Thompson is in bed with Leroy Parris.

• Wishing in Vain

Do I sense these BLP members getting a little flustered under the collar your part of crooks have raped this country for to long a time it is certainly time for them to get swept out and a good house cleaning to take place.

** Bulk of comment removed by BFP **

Give me a break we need a change of gov’t and we need it now before this corruption can go any deeper in society.

Edited by Marcus

New Policy Re Comments

The bulk of this comment was removed because the writer turned it into a highly innuendo-laced piece speculating on whether or not certain Members of Parliament have sex with their own gender.

We don’t have the time or the inclination to go through each comment to edit out a word and phrase here and there, so our readers will have to police themselves or the entire comment will be removed… which is a shame because there are many good ideas that are being tossed aside over these sexual innuendos.

Although we haven’t really been on top of this issue or spoken on this issue before, we are now… because such comments are taking the focus off the stated objectives of this blog. Bajans will talk and gossip – and we let all sorts of things that we don’t personally like slide by in the comments because we don’t want to limit the flow of communication.

But this theme of “biting” and highly sexual innuendo is changing the mood of the blog and detracting from our work.

It will stop.

Marcus

• Hi Sylvan “royalrumble” Greenidge.

We feel sorry for you. A man has to stand up one day and be a man. You continue to cower behind your fear of not being able to eat out of the lap of Owen Arthur. You lack the intellectual capacity to stand on your own two feet and therefore you will resort to the kind of innuendo and nasty politics, which have become your hallmark.

We must nevertheless compliment you for providing the oil to keep persons on this blog focused on ensuring that democracy continues to be alive in Barbados. Your nastiness will not frustrate those of us who care about this country.

• Sylvan Greenidge from Crane St. Philip knows why he cannot contribute to this blog in his own name.

Is this the same Sylvan who worked with me in the hotel?

And who left Clico owning thousands of dollars? No wonder the Clico axe-to-grind references. And who -like Barney Lynch – could not pay his mortgage before he was made Owen Arthur’s Press Assistant?

• DLP Barbados

People who insult others by saying they lack intellectual capacity may be suspect of the same.

Those who accuse of resorting innuendo turn around and then do the same.

We, the general public, note a repeating pattern on this site, and we are growing tired of waiting.

Here’s our wish list. Don’t forget to write this down now!!!!!

…………… for you to speak up for anti-corruption, for anti-money-laundering, for laws to prevent offshore companies from buying Bajan property without registering their principals’ names, for laws to protect the consumer by preventing companies from importing items from their own intermediaries before selling them, and other areas that show integrity, like assets; for assessing the integrity of such divisions as Town and Country Planning, the Ministry of Transport and Works, Ministry of Tourism, in fact all ministries that award contracts.

Get off your blogging butts and get to work.

Elections are coming, and when they pave that expensive 2 lane road, your wining on BFP isn’t going to mean much.

There’s only so many times someone will come to this blog to read the same stuff before they will then leave it.

• Javon Griffith
    March 31st, 2007 at 4:10 am
    It’s interesting Jerome how you forget that David Thompson is in bed with Leroy Parris.

Javon Griffith a.k.a Minister of Tourism , Noel Lynch

For the past few days……you had me fooled about your true Identity…..reading your post above I know who you are….!!

• given the fact that this dream project blog spurred on all these comments, you guys could at least update the link to it in the sidebar with the new address.

Thanks for reminding us, Mark. I will do it now.

George

• BFP,

I again take this opportunity to highlight a most GLARING abuse of state power and apparatus i.e the public media ( in this case CBC ).

For the second week running ( Friday 30th March 2007 & Thursday 5th April , 2007 ) CBC has blatantly refused to carry any EXTRACTS of the DLP lunch time lectures.

Below are some of the other OBSERVANCES I made with respect to the SUPPRESSION of press Freedom in this country…!

Further discussion on this issue of Accountability and Integrity and it’s implications for Democracy in Barbados.

Does it surprise anyone in Barbados, including the personnel at BFP, that a Prime Minister who says there is no NEED FOR INTEGRITY LEGISLATION IN BARBADOS…….is also the Minister responsible for our LONE tax payer FUNDED television station…..CBC

THEREFORE ;

Viewers over the past several weeks would have NOTICED the following :

1. BLP ministers and operatives like
    ( Joey Harper ) can be seen on television with the audience they are speaking to.

WHILE…..for persons from the DLP you are OFTEN only shown the person speaking…..not the AUDIENCE….!

RECENT EXAMPLE : A picture of Chris Sinckler talking to himself….!! WHEN…moments earlier an extract from a BLP meeting SHOWS the Director of RDC and George Griffith shown speaking to an AUDIENCE…!!

2. Check how reports are covered from the DLP Friday lunch time lectures…..only the picture of the speaker is shown….!!

RECENT EXAMPLES : Bobby Morris, Tennyson Beckles, Orlando Marville etc….!!

Pay attention to the CBC report from the same DLP lunch time FORUM for today 2007 -03 -30..!

It is important to HIGHLIGHT such incidents for they point to a systematic ATTACK on FREEDOM OF INFORMATION……!!

BFP,

You highlighted the situation of ZIMBABWE in an earlier article……please take the time to REMIND us that what we SEE and HEAR coming out of that country…..is NOT an overnight…HAPPENING…!!

To think that those in Zimbabwe were BRUTALISED for just ” PRAYING “………does it surprise anyone that CBC acts the way it does with Rev. Joseph Atherley……being Minister of STATE for the CBC….!!

BFP,

Use your influence to EXPOSE this……..ROT….. at the CBC….the DLP continues to GIVE it CONSTANT……attention..!!

• [...] Update [01/12/08]: It seems the Barbados Free Press has now itself put its support behind the Opposition Party, expressing its wish for them to form the next government of Barbados (link) after originally criticizing us for our original position in this post (link). [...]

Leave a Reply