After Criticising The Government For “Ramming Through” Constitutional Changes – DLP & Thompson Support The Government… Huh?
Things are heating up over at the DLP Blog. They have posted many new articles and are as enthusiastic as a child with a new kite – just like the BLP was before they discovered that the openness of a blog means that people hold you accountable for what you say and don’t say.
The DLP have put up a piece called Nothing But Contempt. It looks like it was scooped from one of the newspaper websites, but there is no attribution or link. Here is the story…
Thompson: Nothing but total contempt
OPPOSITION LEADER DAVID THOMPSON has accused Government of demonstrating “total contempt” for Parliament by trying to use the institution to rubber-stamp Cabinet decisions on constitutional changes.
He launched the broadside yesterday during debate on the Financial Management Audit Bill and a proposed amendment to the Constitution, complaining that the Opposition had been given mere days to study the changes.
“I’m not staying that the Constitution must not and cannot be amended,” he said. “It can, Sir, but these decisions were made by the Cabinet and are now foisted on this Parliament, Sir, in almost hours leading up to the Estimates Debate . . . . Rubber-stamp
“And I’m saying that is unsatisfactory. It marginalises this Parliament; it is an assault on parliamentary democracy, and what we are being required to do is essentially rubber-stamp decisions that are being taken elsewhere . . . .”
After the short notification, the House was “being pushed and pilloried” to pass the bills, according to Thompson.
“People will wonder what kind of Parliament is this . . . . What kind of banana republic approach, Sir, is this, that an important amendment to the Constitution can be circulated four or five days before it’s debated,” he added. Piecemeal approach
Thompson said that despite the Administration’s promises to the contrary, it was adopting a “piecemeal” approach to amending the Constitution.
“(Over the years) we have had several constitutional amendments . . . and the way in which the Government is going about these constitutional amendments shows total contempt for this Parliament and marginalisation of the parliamentary system of government that we have,” he charged.
In a point rejected by the Government side, Thompson said the changes being debated by Parliament had legal implications for the Estimates Debate.
“We are going to start a debate on the Estimates next Monday,” he noted. “The Estimates that will be laid before this Parliament, as I understand it . . . will be laid on the basis of the new arrangements contemplated by this legislation.
“Unless the changes are passed by both Houses of Parliament, we will be debating Estimates constructed on a basis that is not currently part of the laws of Barbados,” he warned.
Despite the criticisms, Thompson said his party supported the bills which he said were aimed at improving the system of accounting in Government and upgrading and strengthening the role of the Auditor-General.
Thompson Blusters But Then Says, “Yes Massa”
I can’t figure out the DLP and Thompson. They bluster against the rammed through changes to the Constitution – and then vote for it!
They voted for the rammed through change in bookkeeping without calling upon the government to stop the change or to run two systems in parallel for the standard five years – which is what happens when a responsible business switches accounting systems or fiscal reporting dates. They never pointed out why the government is so anxious to ram the bookkeeping changes through parliament.
Thompson and his band of idiots weren’t even intelligent enough to stand their ground. They could have, and should have, mobilized supporters to protest outside parliament at this “assault on parliamentary democracy…” as Thompson called it.
The Constitutional Changes Are An Assault Upon Parliamentary Democracy
Too bad Thompson doesn’t think it is important enough to do something about!
But this was not the first, nor the last time that the DLP has proven themselves to be an incompetent and ineffective opposition.
Thompson and the DLP sat silent when the government surrendered our sovereignty to foreign troops and police on Bajan soil – then sent their DLP supporters to the comments section at Barbados Free Press where they falsely claimed they objected to the legislation. They talk about instituting transparency and integrity legislation, but only when they have a majority government.
Of course they could institute integrity and conflict of interest rules tomorrow for their own people, and could have put forward a private member’s bill every day for the last 12 years to embarrass the government into doing something… but nope. Not even a squeak.
I can’t figure it out… Is the DLP and it’s leader stupid or asleep – or are they just waiting their turn for the piggy trough and they don’t want to change anything that would spoil their big feed?
God Please Help Barbados!
We have a crooks for a government, idiots for an opposition and eunuchs for a media.
54 Comments
March 16, 2007 at 12:54 pm
Even the Senate doesn’t seem to have any problems.
Maybe I got it wrong.
Naaaah!!
I am following my gut instinct.
March 16, 2007 at 1:12 pm
People it is a change in the way they do the accounting, we have had that system in Canada for years and it works quite well.
However as a DLP member I am disappointed in the way it was handled in the House, I was expecting fire and brimstone, but what I got was a whimper
I need to get more info on why this was done before I start with my broadsides, which believe me I will when I get the answers
The acccounting change does not worry me, it is how is was done
March 16, 2007 at 1:31 pm
It is what David Thompson did not say that is a concern.
He did not say that the country needs conflict of interest rules that would stop the government ministers giving untendered government contracts to themselves and their friends.
He did not say that the country needs an auditor-general who is independent.
He did not mention the out of control borrowing.
He did not say that some of the projects the government is doing now are out of spending control and that he will stop them if he gets into power.
Which leads us to wonder if David Thompson will be crossing the floor like Mascoll did and get his nose into the trough too if DLP does not win the next election?
Is there any hope ethics will be seen in the political system any time soon or is that too much to ask?
March 16, 2007 at 1:50 pm
March 16th, 2007 at 1:47 pm
The Barbados Free Press seems to be bent on getting it all wrong on the support of the Opposition party for the change in the accounting method to be used by the Government, the enhanced functions of the Auditor General and the oversight functions of the Public Accounts Committee. In a few days we will engage the Barbados Free Press on this issue, hopefully to bring some sanity to the discussion. The amendment to the constitution will also be looked at. We respect the views of individuals, but views which are founded on the wrong premises should be recanted.
BFP Cliverton replies
Show us the transcript of the DLP opposing the government’s move. Show us where the DLP voted against it. Show us the private member’s bill for Integrity and Conflict of Interest rules! Show us the conflict of interest rules already implemented for your own members!
Fine, fine words you have DLP.
Fine, fine WORDS.
March 16, 2007 at 2:12 pm
DLP Barbados
I have just sent David an e-mail and asked him to explain in full re the accounting procedure, I am sure that his explanation will be a good one, as I have faith in him and the team. However we need to get tough with the band of bandits in control. If necessary we will have to use the same tactics they use on us. The fear and scaremongering. Barbados is suffering at the hands of a bunch of pirates. I see COW came out this morning and said we need more golf courses, where in God’s name are we going to put them. Drive more people off their lands and also where are we going to get the water from, we don’t have enough for the people right now. It seems in the scheme of things that money comes before people’s well being, but I guess the old saying the rich get richer and the poor poorer applies here
March 16, 2007 at 2:34 pm
POGO
David will never cross the floor his roots are too deep in the DLP and always have been
March 16, 2007 at 2:34 pm
Patrick Porter
stop talking about the bandits when you do not have your own house in order
introduce strict transparency and accountability laws among your members and in the house by way of a private members bill for all to see.
Its called leadership.
March 16, 2007 at 2:37 pm
dlpbarbados
So what are the right premises?
I, like most people, am willing to to recant anything I have said if I see the right premises and these prove me wrong.
Absolutely no problem.
March 16, 2007 at 4:00 pm
Hey Patrick, been reading the Nation today and David did say a few things that should make people with common sense think.
It left me wanting to know more and I hope he just lay everything out in the open for all to see.
Then again people tend to see what they what to, just hope the Bajan public take off the rose coloured glasses soon. I should be in Barbados to get myself sorted so I can vote next election.
March 16, 2007 at 4:49 pm
The Barbados Free Press seems to be bent on getting it all wrong on the support of the Opposition party for the change in the accounting method to be used by the Government, the enhanced functions of the Auditor General and the oversight functions of the Public Accounts Committee. In a few days we will engage the Barbados Free Press on this issue, hopefully to bring some sanity to the discussion.
dlpbarbados. Look you for real. The time that you take to prepare and “engage” the Barbados Free Press use it to tell the Barbadian public how you
Plan to come up with solutions to the problems we now face.
How you plan to win the next election.
How you can make a difference.
How you plan to be unmuzzled
How you plan to be forthright and upright and stop howling like a dog that get bark. stupssseee.
You don’t need to bring sanity to this discussion you need to get up off you sit down and get yourself in gear for truth though. bunch o ingnernt talk. stupsee.
If Mr. Thompson was misunderstood sooner or later calm minds would come to that conclusion and you could possibly get a retraction.
We respect the views of individuals, but views which are founded on the wrong premises should be recanted.
Good. Here is my view. let us not vote DLP or BLP – not a soul. Let us set up a think thank on this blog and run the country man – cause if you put all you politicians in one barrel and roll wunna down a hill you could get one monkey to come up.
I ain’t recanting that!!! Thank you.
March 16, 2007 at 4:54 pm
hahahaha the BLP supporters on the run. They all wanna know what Thompson has up his sleeve. For the first time people want to know. I agree with Thompson; wait for the right time or not Arthur will run with it as his.
Thompson it is over to you and I hope you dont let us down like the Queen’s Park/IMF fiasco : – )
March 16, 2007 at 5:10 pm
my last post should have read “couldn’t get one monkey to come out”.
On another serious note. If DLP representatives can’t see it fit to get to Parliament early for something so important – you think the ready to run a whole country.
Turning up late and nonchalant does not cut it. I am begging the DLP please give us an inkling that you are serious about taking back this country from the BLP marauders. Please ah beggin
March 16, 2007 at 5:16 pm
Thought Mia was going to cry last night. Seems that David hurt her and the bees deeply.
I believe that David has to now step up to the plate and let us hear about integrity legislation, the Contractor General etc .. and how these things are going to be employed to stop the tiefing that going on. Maybe we should stop the nit-picking until he tells us what all his plans are to return Barbados to Bajans
March 16, 2007 at 5:22 pm
This may seem stupid to me who don’t know much about politricks.
If I was David Thompson,all I would have to do is log on to BFP for a couple days and realise if the ordinary people on this blog can stir up a hornets nest,so can I.
The amount of stuff I have learned about politricks in this country by just following these posts is amazing.
To be truthful ,when I speak now about the topic ,my friends seem to think that I am some kind of political know it all.
What I am trying to say is that there is so much you can learn here ,it just surprises me that the opposition cant find the ammunition to at least put a couple shots across the BLP’s bow.
Also thanks to the person who recommended Mozilla Firefox.
I for one will not even look back at IE.
March 16, 2007 at 7:24 pm
It seems to me that Mr Thompson struck a nerve with Mottley last night as she dedicated her entire time to combating Mr Thompson what a sad waste of her time on the mike but then again if she only has hot air to blow off with no substance let her go for it.
I have a question after we have spent the huge figure on the Oval ranging from $ 150 mill to
$ 300 mill what will the new seating capacity of the stadium be after the removal of all of the temporary seating that is being rented for CWC I understand that the nett gain will be 2000 seats well if this is really the outcome what madness have we entered into???
Any chance of hearing from Lynch regarding the uptodate position regarding the Carnival Destiny have we really paid Bds$ 30 mill to this company when our hotels remain empty, the state of the 1st quarter arrivals both air and sea and reports that our hotels have loss money during the 1st quarter.
March 16, 2007 at 7:37 pm
Did not hear David Thompson. What I did hear was David Estwick and the response he got.
David Estwick compared surpluses in 1994 with the deficits of today.
The response to this was to say that David Thompson was under IMF dictation and no attempt was made to say the surpluses did not happen.
Me, I haven’t got a clue if they did or didn’t happen but given the respose he got, I know they must have.
It seemed as though the benefits of surpluses were completely ignored and concentration was on the IMF.
I think David Estwick scored some major points and hurt the BLP with the surpluses.
What’s wrong with IMF medicine if it creates surpluses?!!
March 16, 2007 at 7:51 pm
Wishing in Vain…
Perhaps the Minister of Tourism will address the Carnival Destiny and dismal hotel occupancy situation in his budget address.
Perhaps he could also tell us exactly where the proceeds of the sale of Eastry House and Silver Rock have gone, as it certainly was not used to repay the $37 million owed by GEMS in interest alone to the Government?
While thousands of hotels rooms lie empty, can he also explain the ‘25 X 40ft containers’ that are bringing every consumable item that will be served on the taxpayer subsidised Carnival Destiny with the single exception of water, (correction even bottled water is being brought it), and guess how much in taxation ‘our’ Government will be collecting on the contents of these containers?
And what plans does the Minister have to address what may be our bleakest summer tourism season on record?
He states Barbados is now ‘the largest cruise home port in the world’, but from early May until the end of September, an average of just one cruise ship every three days is scheduled to dock.
60 arrivals of which 21 are the cruise ship ‘Holiday’ which has a maximum capacity of 600 persons.
Lets have some answers Mr Minister.
March 16, 2007 at 8:28 pm
Adrian, as much as I would hope that he addressed the wide array of topics somehow I believe that we maybe wishing in vain.
There is an amazing degree of arrogrance show by these people.
Lynch is now on the budget reply now and rambling as per usual.he said the budget has dealt with the two issues facing this nation and neither one has anything to do with his ministry.
March 16, 2007 at 8:33 pm
Wow this idiot now decides that the tourism sector is performing well and there was no need to address it in the budget. Can you belive this idiot??
March 16, 2007 at 8:36 pm
I think that he is living in another world he is now on about the airport the same airport that they are now looking to already to expand and it has not yet even finished.
March 16, 2007 at 8:40 pm
Boy, this running commentary really shows how powerful a blog is.
Even before the man sits down he has an answer to his contribution for everyone to see!!
March 16, 2007 at 8:46 pm
I am confused Adrian are you really saying that Carnival has plans in train to import 25 containers with all their supplies and the Gov’t is not collecting one red cent on import duties on anything in these containers?
This is absolutely amazing approach, any idea what the bookings are like for this vessel?
He is now advising the nation that Barbados is privileged status with China and this is wonderful for tourism what world is he living in we are expecting that Chinese will be flying 24 hours to holiday in Barbados, highlighting the air links with a proposal to fly from here to Africian and Brazil.
What an absolute as_ he is, the arrival figures are up by air and sea and more homeporting vessels where is he coming from it seems to conflict with the board of tourism figures when they state that they were down from the 1st quarter.
March 16, 2007 at 8:47 pm
The man a blabbering jack as_ absolutely devoid of any substance.
March 16, 2007 at 8:57 pm
Guess the running commentary can also be used as a relief valve to vent as well.
No problem, we all need a little relief now and again.
But we could abuse it if we let the situation run away with us!!
It takes forbearance!! …. but venting is good.
March 16, 2007 at 8:58 pm
eunuchs…tee hee!
March 16, 2007 at 11:08 pm
Adrian says:
“Perhaps he could also tell us exactly where the proceeds of the sale of Eastry House and Silver Rock have gone, as it certainly was not used to repay the $37 million owed by GEMS in interest alone to the Government?”
Wha??? Are you saying that these hotels owned by GEMS have been sold and no one has accounted for the proceeds?
Seems to me they belong to we unfortunate Bajan taxpayers who are on the hooks for the debt of GEMS. If the money went anywhere else then what we have here is a first rate scandal where the government have betrayed us.
Can anyone supply the details? We have a right to know.
March 16, 2007 at 11:59 pm
The honorable David Thompson should be commended for such an outstanding reply to Arthur’s budget. His reply was substantive and he surely shut up the critics and the spinn doctors who will have us to believe that the DLP was void of vision and ideas and shattered the perception that we alwyays gotta be going with Owen.
He showed the fibre that he is made of and showed that the Dems are ready to take Barbados forward. So how about it Barbados let us let good sense prevail before Arthur sells the entire country off.
March 17, 2007 at 12:14 am
Dave
an outstanding reply in parliament to the budget proposal does not a leader make.
this country is full of good speeches and lots of talk but no action and lots of corruption.
Where is the transparency and accountability details that we as citizens can look foward to?
March 17, 2007 at 12:43 am
Yup… heard Mr. Thompson’s speech.
Fine words. Very fine words.
The best of words.
Fine, fine words.
March 17, 2007 at 2:22 am
I got to see Owen winding up the debate. Came in when he and David Thompson were having their tiff.
Usually the PM winds up by picking on some lesser mortal and tries to make his /her life miserable. Guess he thinks Bajans like to hear a piece of gossip ….. not far wrong.
I think from what I saw that DT actually got the better of O$A.
For the few minutes I watched he seemed to have met his match.
March 17, 2007 at 2:28 am
Just hear the RHOA say at the end of his windup speech (which I fortunately or unfortunatey didn’t hear the most of ) that we are in safe hands with his Government.
I had a friend who was in the safe hands of a drunken driver – he ended up “In Loving Memory”
……..There must be a lesson here somewhere
March 17, 2007 at 2:28 am
Owen Arthur almost had a heart attack when david thompson mentioned the check that a company gave owen – thompson gave chapter and verse – date of cheque,speighstown branch,that it was made in owen’s name and in his account.
Cat piss and pepper boy.
Owen was sweating bad,bad.
Like John say he meet he match.
March 17, 2007 at 2:48 am
DAvid is starting out ahead of the game because whenOwened out into leadership of this fine island a leader or a speechmaker was he. His diction was awful and it was the spinn doctors of the BLP that created the perception of him being a leader.
I refuse to go with the philosophy of better the devil that we know than the one we dont know. The DLP is full of talented people and clearly the party is not void of ideas. Upon a recent inspection of the DLP’s executive almost all of them possess MBA degrees cant say that for BLP. WE cannot do worse than what Alibaba and the Robbers are doing.
March 17, 2007 at 3:11 am
Dave
trust us because we can’t be any worse than the uneducated thieves presently in charge?
this is just more talk and is not good enough
start laying out your platform for all to see and understand—clear and concise points on how you will specifically clean up the mess.
Anger is palpable in the country and the DLP would sweep into a majority in Parliament if they would just get off their pathetic butts and start acting like a party that will fundamentally change
things for the better. This can only start from a framework of honesty and full disclosure of how they will do things differently.
Are you able to seperate yourselves from your pals
and the trough and implement tough legislation—yes or no?
March 17, 2007 at 4:01 am
Oh happy days, I watched the wrap up of the debate, and was particularly interested in how Owen would wrap up given his penchant for personal attacks. True to form he attempted to use the same tactics he used on Clyde Mascoll, Only this time he met his match, this is the first time I have seen the Prime Minister bowl bouncer after bouncer, and get hit for six each time it leaves his mouth.
Oh happy days, well done David Thompson
March 17, 2007 at 4:33 am
To the leadership/campaign managers/PR persons within the DLP you must be congratulated for the innovative and thought – provoking alternatives to the ” budget ” presented on Wednesday.
While I applaud your efforts I also wish to proffer some advice to you on the same :
Since a General Election appears to be due anytime soon and the likelihood of the campaign period been a short one (3 – 4 weeks ) I, IMPLORE you to use the time now….WISELY :
1. To post your proposed policy initiatives in the print and electronic media – including this BFP site.
2. Engage the public through Town Hall meetings/ branch meetings etc. on your proposed policy initiatives.
3. Go back to the constituencies/constituents via direct/survey contact to assess how your proposed policy initiatives resonate with/in them.
4. Invite members of the Business/ social community to give their input through public fora on the likely impact of your proposed policy initiatives.
Why I am making this plea – is that you should NOT allow any dissenting voices to claim that your proposed policy initiatives are not WORKABLE/FEASIBLE.
An anticipated CRY from your critics is likely to be — where is the financial/social resources going to come from ?
A plausible anwser in my estimation would be – with prudent project selection /budgeting and management of national developmental programmes – would in all probability prevent the likes of GEMS – NHC BUILDING – GREENLAND – EDUTECH etc.
Wasted money that could have been allocated to IMPLEMENT some of the said measures you now seek to implement upon assuming office.
In ESSENCE get out in the communities and get the people ENTHUSED about your programme/policy VISION for Barbados.
Not seeking to CHAMPION your VISION very soon, many people will FAIL to embrace what is indeed a timely ANTIDOTE for the MALAISE facing Barbados UNDER this BLP Administration.
A word to the wise is ENOUGH !
March 17, 2007 at 6:44 am
While I will not claim to know what goes on in the minds of politicians, I was somewhat glad when David Thompson only gave a few snippets of what the DLP has in mind. All and sundry are asking for details, and I am glad that none are forthcoming (as yet).
Reason being, that the BLP are famous for taking credit for what they did NOT do and they are obviously looking for something new to claim as their own.
March 17, 2007 at 9:21 am
I think this BFP is great, as people can say what on their minds, only been on a few days and I like it.
With all the dirt on the crooks the run the country coming out. I think it is true to say that people at a levels do the dirty on one another, that’s why the country so bad.
Only on this island, people with family in the Land Tax office and positions where they are to uphold justice(Sandra I’m talking about you) go get away with stealing land from under people.
My Granmother paid her taxes and left her land at the cliff top in St. Philip and only in a island where the lawyers are a bunch of crooks and can never give an answer could people get away with stealing.
My Nan left land and the people who claim to own it are boasting and have false papers and now paying tax, for land that we still have to pay taxes every year for.
How can things like this happen? When my family thought they could get out the cold and build their houses. Only in this place could people abuse the power they have and then laugh at people who only want to come home to what is theirs.
The abuse of power in Barbados is out of control, and people are suffering everyday and no one wants to know unless it happens to them.
I want to know how can someone get papers for something, when we still have tax bill from as far back as the 30’s for the said land?
Can someone tell me as we have to change one lawyer after another, and they never take your calls as your not in the island,so they know you can’t sit and wait till you see them?
I know my family can’t get to the bottom of this till we get there, but I just want to know how someone can want what’s not their own and get paper work to prove it?
We have all the papers for our land and still pay the taxes, how could this thing happen?
March 17, 2007 at 11:34 am
Michele and other bloggers on this site, though peeved about such land issues/transactions, I invite you to visit the DLP blog and scrutinise their Land Use POLICY proposals disclosed in our Parliament over the past 48 hours.
March 17, 2007 at 12:09 pm
Waiting in Vain…
According to my sources (a major local food distributor), part of the deal signed with Carnival Corporation was that these 25, 40 ft containers would be allowed in with any payment of taxes/duties. If someone can confirm otherwise, I will unreservedly retract this observation.
As to Carnival Destiny occupancy level. The Minister is on record in stating it is ‘80% sold’, but again, according to other sources (tour operators) they state its about 40%.
The BIG question is WHY does the taxpayer have to subsidise it charter to the tune of US$15 million IF it is ‘80% sold’?
Another question that should raised is exactly how much is it costing the taxpaper to subsidise the three Air India charter flights to Barbados and how are sales for these flights doing?
Pogo…
We know that Eastry House and Silver Rock HAVE been sold. We also know that according to the Auditor generals report that Hotels and Resorts Ltd have NOT repaid any of the $37 million in accured interest and I am pretty sure none of the capital loan extended by Government.
So WHERE have the proceeds of these two hotels gone?
If it hasn’t been used to repay interest or capital, has it gone back into GEMS to act as operational capital?
We have a right to know!
Wishing in Vain…
Direct flights from China and Africa…
One day maybe, but of course you have to identify a market.
South America.
11 years ago, I went down to Belem. Spoke to airlines, tour operators, travel agents, the President of Paratur (the local state tourism organisation) plus food processors who were interested in buying freight space on the aircraft to partly subsidise the route operation etc.
Belem connects to 40 other Brazilian cities by air and the State of Para has 6 million population with day time summer temperatures of 40 degrees C.
When I returned to BIM, I submitted a report and recommendations to the then President of the BTA and copied it to the Minister of Tourism.
Months later, I had not received a reply from the BTA President and happened to bump into him at a meeting. I asked had he received my report and he replied ‘Yes! but I can’t respond to everything’.
Until ‘we’ take this industry seriously, there is not going to be any real progress and we will be forced to discount and subside, as the only way of maintaining the arrival numbers.
This obviously has a cost and consequence!
March 17, 2007 at 12:35 pm
To the leadership,campaign managers,PR persons within the DLP you must be congratulated you have have done very well but do not be misled into feeling the job is done this is far from the truth as ever, what you now need to succeed at is getting those undecided voters to get out and vote for the party, along with the youth of this country these two areas will make or break the election result.
I sincerely hope that the foot soliders will get to work and their mission should be to unseat the DPM Mottley this is a mission that is attainable giving the right planning she is not as stable as many may think.
March 17, 2007 at 12:47 pm
Barbados’s tourism indusrty is in shambles. Thanks to the high and mighty Minister of Tourism. When I worked in Barbados in the 80’s the hotels were full during the winter and half full during the summer. Now when I go to Barbados in the winter months the beaches are empty and the beach sellers complaining of lack of business. I remember the days when the German tourists used to come to Barbados in their droves, no more. Barbados is thinking only of the UK market and when the bottom falls out of that then we are in cat piss and peppa.
It is fine to build condos all over the place, but the actual percentage of people employed drops a lot over hotels.
Adrian has been warning of an impending disaster for years and no one, until now has paid him any interest. I say to Adrian thank you for alerting us and you should be the next minster of tourism under the DLP
March 17, 2007 at 12:50 pm
Michelle get hold of Mr. Keith Simmons QC, he is an excellent lawyer and a very compassionate man
March 17, 2007 at 1:00 pm
Congrats. to David Thompson on a masterful stroke (and “strokes” are very much in vogue right now). I’m a bit dubious about the DLP having to outline policies at this stage because they’re sure to be pinched by YOU KNOW WHO. But the people were calling for them to be revealed. David, may you go from strength to strength.
March 17, 2007 at 4:01 pm
Thanks Patrick for the name of that lawyer, I’ll see if my family want to give him a try. None of us know who to trust anymore as we had dealings with some crooks, something that we thought was simple is taking a very long time.
The last lawyer I went to the Bar and complain and I give what information I had and why I thought I had to go to them. You know that lawyer just up and left Barbados, the firm she worked with say they don’t know where she has gone.
I just seem odd, the way things happen and I guess we will never know. The bad of Owen and his people run deep.
March 17, 2007 at 11:04 pm
Michelle,
word of advise – stays where you is!!!!
March 18, 2007 at 12:30 am
Michelle
I have known and worked with Mr. Simmons for nearly 40 years and have found him to be a gentleman of the highest grade, more than I can say for most of his counterparts
March 18, 2007 at 4:31 am
Just as I predicted in my post above about the critics !
Owen dismisses the DLP proposal to expand the Interest – Free Vehicle Loan Facility to public officers as being – RECKLESS !
Owen claims that the DLP proposal would require an additonal $ 231 million.
1. Well since Owen did NOT even tell his BLP colleagues the TRUTH about that Mega Six sized DEPOSITED cheque of
$ 750,000.00 – I would NOT expect him to tell Barbadians the TRUTH about the workings of the Interest – Free Vehicle Loan Facility to public officers.
2. Owen would NOT tell Barbadians that his government is in DISCUSSION with the Unions to raise the bar for this Interest – Free Vehicle Loan Facility to public officers to $ 50,000.00. A policy in keeping with the recent raise in public officers salary !
First and foremost it MUST be noted that this is a revolving loan facility with a repayment period of 7 years for new cars and 5 years for second – hand / recondition cars.
For the benefit of those who do not know – there are approx. 28,000 public officers in the Barbados public service – of which only approx. 1,500 CURRENTLY access this facility – due to their salary scale and nature of their work – i.e those officers whose job titles are on the Travel Schedule.
Now at the current loan of $ 35,000.00 per public officer for a total of 1,500 public officers – the total loan amount would be approx. $ 52. 5 million in a given year depending on if all public officers access the full $ 35, 000.00.
Now even if the DLP proposal added another 1,000 persons to the pool and raise the loan amount to $ 60,000.00 – the total loan amount would now go to approx. $ 152 million.
An additional $ 100 million !
Way below the $ 231 million the ” Great ” Economist Owen claims the DLP proposal would require !
Given that the Vehicle Loan Facility is of a revolving nature with a 5 & 7 year repayment period, then one would see how approx. $ 175 million can get the DLP proposal up and going.
When we match the DLP approach to People – Centred / People – Focused policies AGAINST Owen’s contoversial:
1. $ 60 million and RISING….GREENLAND dump ??
2. $ 180 million and RISING…..NHC Warrens Building / Barrack Arbitration ??
3. $ 220 million and RISING…..GEMS….fish…NOW eaten by MASCOLL…JAWS ??
Just to IDENTIFY a few of Owen’s ” Get Rich Quick ” projects , we FULLY understand why OWEN would SPEW his FROTH/ SOPHISTRY on any DLP proposal to improve the lot of Civil Servants and MOST Barbadians in GENERAL unless you are part of the EXCUSIVE ZONE/GROUP now residing and investing on the WEST COAST !
After ALL who said that the POLICE are not SPECIAL ??
To the DLP however, the proposal to have Police, Nurses have access to duty – free vehicles for personal use, I would like to know how the mechanisms for such would be established and financed.
Or would this fall under the ambit of the already existing Interest Free Vehicle Loan Facility ?
March 18, 2007 at 5:06 am
Just as I predicted in my post above about the critics !
Owen dismisses the DLP proposal to expand the Interest – Free Vehicle Loan Facility to public officers as being – RECKLESS !
Owen claims that the DLP proposal would require an additonal $ 231 million.
1. Well since Owen did NOT even tell his BLP colleagues the TRUTH about that Mega Six sized DEPOSITED cheque of
$ 750,000.00 – I would NOT expect him to tell Barbadians the TRUTH about the workings of the Interest – Free Vehicle Loan Facility to public officers.
2. Owen would NOT tell Barbadians that his government is in DISCUSSION with the Unions to raise the bar for this facilty to $ 50,000.00. In keeping with the recent raise in public officers salary !
First and foremost it MUST be noted that this is a revolving loan facility with a repayment period of 7 years for new cars and 5 years for second – hand / recondition cars.
For the benefit of those who do not know – there are approx. 28,000 public officers in the Barbados public service – of which only approx. 1,500 CURRENTLY access this facility – due to their salary scale and nature of their work – i.e those officers whose job titles are on the Travel Schedule.
Now at the current loan of $ 35,000.00 per public officer for a total of 1,500 public officers – the total loan amount would be approx. $ 52. 5 million in a given year depending on if all public officers access the full $ 35, 000.00.
Now even if the DLP proposal added another 1,000 persons to the pool and raise the loan amount to $ 60,000.00 – the total loan amount would now go to $ 152 million.
An additional $ 100 million !
Way below the $ 231 million the ” Great ” Economist Owen claims the DLP proposal would require !
Given that the Vehicle Loan Facility is of a revolving nature with a 5 & 7 year repayment period, then one would see how approx. $ 175 million can get the DLP proposal up and going.
When we match the DLP approach to People – Centred / People – Focused policies AGAINST Owen’s contoversial:
1. $ 60 million and RISING….GREENLAND dump ??
2. $ 180 million and RISING…..NHC Warrens Building / Barrack Arbitration ??
3. $ 220 million and RISING…..GEMS….fish…NOW eaten by MASCOLL…JAWS ??
Just to RECALL a few of Owen’s ” Get Rich Quick ” projects , we FULLY understand why OWEN would SPEW his FROTH/ SOPHISTRY on any proposal to improve the lot of Civil Servants and MOST Barbadians in GENERAL unless you are part of the EXCUSIVE ZONE/GROUP now residing and investing on the WEST COAST !
After ALL who said the POLICE are not SPECIAL ??
To the DLP however, the proposal to have Police, Nurses have access to duty – free vehicles for personal use, I would like to know how the mechanisms for such would be established and financed.
Or would this fall under the ambit of the already existing Interest Free Vehicle Loan Facility ?
l
March 19, 2007 at 12:26 pm
I must confess that the Opposition Reply and the meeting lst night by the DLP have both left me wondering about Barbadian politics. All the things the DLP is saying now we were warned abbout time and time again. The magnitude of dishonesty by this government is amazing.
I heard last night about Kerrie Symmonds and a Rover car! What a crook!
March 19, 2007 at 1:20 pm
Vortex,
I did not get a chance to go to the meeting last night. What was the take on the Rover?
This group will be the richest lot of politicians ever produced in Barbados. They brag about how much money they have…..this includes Lynch.
March 19, 2007 at 4:27 pm
Smart move to give Owen a bribe in a cheque.
He has gotten smarter now it seems,since the money is now given to his front men like hallam nicolls and others – however if the dlp in a new government wnated to trace the money trail – a forensic audit of the accounts will do it.
March 20, 2007 at 11:42 pm
Kerrie has something to hide.
March 22, 2007 at 4:00 am
vortex, says,
“Kerrie has something to hide.”
—————————————————————-
Well vortex, hearing Kerrie in the house today shouting his ” dislike ” for alien land holding legislation – you may be right on to something here….!!!
Strange enough he used an example of his
” dislike ” for such legislation ……by saying that would – be purchasers / investors MAY pass money to the Minister responsible for Town Planning/Lands to get things go through…..!!!
Hmmmmm……now that Owen $ 750,000.00 ” secret ” has been EXPOSED by David Thompson….Kerrie seems to be not taking any chances…!!!
Thankfully, David Thompson and the DLP has pledged to have such transactions passed through Parliament…..rather than decided upon by Owen Arthur and his pen……..!!!