Three Costa Rican muggers armed with a gun and knives hold up a busload of old folks from the Carnival Liberty cruise ship…
Score: 1 to nothing for the good guys.
These senior citizens were Americans. The lesson to be learned by muggers everywhere is three-fold…
1/ A large proportion of retired American males have seen combat.
2/ The big lesson of 9/11 has been learned by travelers everywhere: fight back viciously, go for the eyes.
3/ Canes and walkers can be very effective weapons.
posted by Robert. Been trying to get home for two weeks. Maybe next week!
16 Comments
February 23, 2007 at 6:47 am
hahaha.
February 23, 2007 at 6:49 am
Moral of this story is, if you have a gun then use it.
February 23, 2007 at 10:17 am
Wonderful. Got what they deserved.
In some cases fighting back is necessary. For example, late at night in New York if a guy comes with a gun, give him wallet etc.
But, if things look a bit strange, say you are with girlfriend etc and worried about more than wallet, could be necessary to fight back.
Brings to mind an incident last year in Trinidad. Guy and girlfriend were held up outside a nightspot. Instead of fighting back they ‘went’ along with the guy who hijacked them and their car.
Guy was killed, the girl raped.
Fighting back may be an option, an only option. Particularly if you are NOT in a deserted place but near others where noise and attention play a part.
Think quickly and weigh the options.
February 23, 2007 at 10:51 am
Where you at Robert? Do tell!
February 23, 2007 at 11:08 am
Ah! Now I’m “Jack 82″ ..strangely,but not so strangely!
Oh yes! This sight has definitely bin hacked overnight!!
Dude, this is getting strange!
For the benefit of those who twiddle these things,
I’m using Ubuntu Linux, version 6.10
February 23, 2007 at 1:26 pm
Robert
How you mean – you’ve “been trying to get home for 2 weeks?”
Who got yuh hold up down dey wherever yuh are?
Tell us so we can send in the CIA/FBI/Israeli commandos and Scotland Yard.
Be safe – and bring us back some good stories.
February 23, 2007 at 2:32 pm
I think this is true of a lot of older people, even in Barbados. I remember a police friend of mind told me a time he went to arrest an old man in de busstand one evening; being that it was an old man he wasn’t aggressive with him, he just laid his hand on the old chap, at which point de old chap spun around and landed a solid punch in his gut. The cop said the only reason he did not cry was because of the embarrestment he was sure to endure, tuh dis day he said can’t remember anybody hitting as hard as that old man.
……There was a story here in Boston where a veitnam vet who owns a convenience store beat the living daylight out of two would be robbers. Yeh i agree a lot of people where inspired by the accounts of the passengers on one of the downed 9/11 planes.
February 23, 2007 at 6:55 pm
… and then there is the convenience store at Silver Hill where I think 3 armed young fellows went to rob.
The owner, an old fellow, shot one dead and left another paralysed. The third ran for his life but the police held him.
I don’t like to hear of violence but I think I will always remember this incident when a topic such as this raises its head.
The story I heard which makes this memorable went like this. The 3 young fellows actually saw the old guy outside and told him to keep out of the way, out of respect for his age!!!. Forewarned, he became forearmed.
Little did they know he was the owner.
February 23, 2007 at 7:08 pm
#
John
February 23rd, 2007 at 6:55 pm
… and then there is the convenience store at Silver Hill where I think 3 armed young fellows went to rob.
The owner, an old fellow, shot one dead and left another paralysed. The third ran for his life but the police held him.
I don’t like to hear of violence but I think I will always remember this incident when a topic such as this raises its head.
The story I heard which makes this memorable went like this. The 3 young fellows actually saw the old guy outside and told him to keep out of the way, out of respect for his age!!!. Forewarned, he became forearmed.
Little did they know he was the owner.
======================================
If I am not mistaken I suspect you mean the incident which occurred at Wotton; but close enough :- )
February 23, 2007 at 7:20 pm
Interesting that the mugger who died had his clavicle broken by the senior tourist who put him in a headlock, but the cause of death was said to be asphyxiation.
A broken clavicle does not cause asphyxiation, but a headlock has been known to when employed by overzealous police.
Attitudes have changed since 9/11. Those passengers on the hijacked flight which was heading for the White House, knew they were going to die. So they died the heroic way, not like lambs going to slaughter, and rose up against the terrorists. They prevented a greater disaster to their immortal credit when they forced a crash landing in Ohio.
Sometimes you just have to say “I would rather die sooner as a hero, than later as a coward.”
February 23, 2007 at 7:33 pm
Jupiter- Re Robert’s delay.
Surely you remember Ulysses took an long time to get back home, and the reasons why, which included Circe and her sirens?
Lets hope that’s the kind of delay Robert is enjoying, lying back in the arms of adoring admirers plying him with goodies. etc.
Robert- If you get to an internet cafe and dial in to BFP, – Marcus, Cliverton and gang are holding the fort fine without you. Carpe Diem!
February 23, 2007 at 7:52 pm
Pandora
And I thought it was only BFP Cliverton that was so generous and egalitarian with his charms.
Comment by Cliverton
‘An charming I am!
Robert has a broken piece of equipment and can’t get parts.
How much longer Robert?
Clive
February 23, 2007 at 8:01 pm
“Youth, Beauty and Strength
are NO substitute for
Old Age, Treachery and Deceit ! ”
………………………………………………………
Doan mess wid old people!
February 23, 2007 at 8:43 pm
If you have a gun use it?
Wow…I remember a story not too long ago..and people cried down the lawyer because he was accused of beating someone found on his property…
Are you serious? Is that the stance now? If you have a gun use it? How quickly people perception changes when the stroy is painted with colour.
Makes me sick…
Human life is precious. Guard yours but please dont shoot someone unless you are about to be dead.
February 24, 2007 at 1:16 pm
BK
If I am not mistaken I suspect you mean the incident which occurred at Wotton; but close enough :- )
I think Montrose would be a better description. But I was just going by what an old lady up that side told me about what happened. It is just opposite where there used to be a fowl farm.
… and anonymous,
you are 100% right about violence. Avoid it at all costs and fight only when there is no choice … but give a good account of yourself.
Those who live by the sword will die by the sword.
February 24, 2007 at 3:04 pm
Anon-
Re “If you have a gun, use it.” You right to condemn that statement. Better that the least force necessary always be used. Fire a warning shot first if you have to.
D’arts must not mean what he said, surely? It was the MUGGER that had the gun. Is D’arts saying the poor mugger with the gun should have used it against the tourists to avoid getting “asphyxiated”?
I don’t think so. Somebody real confused.