February 3, 2007...5:11 am

Barbados Mood Swing?

Jump to Comments

THERE IS A CHANGE of mood happening in Barbados.

A year ago, one couldn’t really define it and that is still true to a large extent… but people can feel it.

How this will manifest itself during the coming election is an unknown, but the ruling BLP Government feels the change as well. They will want to hold an election sooner rather than later as whatever is happening is not positive for the government.

The opposition shouldn’t be too smug either, because the mood change has little to do with a swing from one party to the other…

There is something deeper going on, and although we can’t yet see it clearly through the fog, there is something taking place on the daily road of life in Barbados.

This editorial from The Nation News is but one little indicator…

REFLECTIONS: Time for Bajans to take stock
Published on: 2/2/07.

by REUDON EVERSLEY

IT’S TIME FOR STOCKTAKING.

There comes a time in the life of every individual and every nation when it’s necessary to pause for stocktaking.

To determine if satisfactory progress has been made towards desired goals, which is the aim of the exercise, you have to consider where you have come from, where you are right now, and where you aspire to be at some point in the future.

With an approaching general election, now seems an appropriate time for Barbadians to engage in stocktaking. Elections present an invaluable opportunity every five years to make crucial choices about the general direction of the country and your own particular circumstances.

Regrettably, many Barbadians are a bit cavalier in their approach to elections, not appreciating it is ultimately to their detriment. For some, it’s an opportunity to see how much they can extract from candidates. For others, it’s how much free food and drink they can consume.

Perhaps if these Barbadians start seeing themselves like how shareholders of a private company do, their attitude would change. I like to think of Barbados as a company – Barbados Inc. – in which we all have substantial investments.

Our common interest is to see steady growth and fair distribution of resulting benefits so that we can create a better life for our children. In the corporate world, promoting growth is the responsibility of the board of directors elected at each annual general meeting (AGM).

A general election is like an AGM. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has comprised the board of directors of Barbados Inc. since 1994 when it was elected on the basis of pledges to “secure the future” and achieve “full economic enfranchisement for every Barbadian”, among others.

1994, therefore, has to be the reference point in assessing the performance of the incumbent board of directors. In reviewing your own situation, the key question you must ask is this: “Am I better off today than in 1994 as a result of the stewardship of the present board?”

Our youth, on whose shoulders the future of Barbados Inc. lies, have already given their verdict.

More than half of the respondents in the latest National Youth Survey, according to the Department of Youth Affairs, believe life in Barbados will get worse in the next five years.

Perspectives on the future are informed by current conditions. If the views of our youth reflect the feelings of the broader population, the next AGM of Barbados Inc. should be rather interesting.

* Reudon Eversley (rooudon@gmail.com) is a writer and communication consultant.

… read the original article at The Nation News (link here)

11 Comments

• both parties have schemer’s so it is a very tense situation right now,i for sure don’t want anymore trick’s from this present administration,i have had twelve year’s of that and another four of them will definitely not be a pretty picture for black youth in this country,if an independent that can see the future and has the best interest of black people and youth at heart comes forward they will get my vote,no x will go beside no schemer’s name that want their seven year’s to get that pension and live in luxury,whilst Dick Stoute want’s me to work until seventy four for mine…it won’t be that easy this toss.

• Y’all seeing this only now?

Re election -

BLP – need to understand that accountability is critical, arrogance is deadly. Need to understand that every citizen rich or poor needs a vested interest in our future. This understanding is not being demonstrated, indeed things seem more like the wild boar in the jungle, running amok. Lip service is no service.

DLP -Barrow is dead, get over it already. He underscored some ideals which were admirable cornerstones of a modern society re free education, healthcare etc. Accept, reinforce and MOVE ON! Unless you do not have the confidence to take the responsibility and related accountability without putting another ‘name’ to your team? Let’s make it quite clear that we citizens want leaders, capable of making decisions, who will clearly exhibit rational thought and sound policy decisions. Let’s make it quite clear that we will hold YOU accountable, if indeed we give you the chance to administer this Nation.

Both – the young vote will be critical. None remember Barrow, some were not yet even alive.
    But, they need opportunity, which can only be provided by sound economic and social policy including wise investment, less wastage. Road building provides short term jobs, good for elections. Where are the returns? Our recent major expenditures are in non-financial return, non-foreign exchange areas. Lunacy.

The election will be interesting, very interesting.

June?

• Right on the ball, Rumplestilskin.

Peter Wickham could not have analysed the pros and cons better.

Keep up the vigilance.

Cheers.

• excellent post, Rumplestilskin. I suspect that a large number of people may not vote next election.

• excellent article by hartley henry on george Payne thursday soup kitchen in saint andrew…wait payne still in house assembly ?..lord cum fuh yuh world

• Solid food for sobre thought, Rump.
    Readers of this site can form a good idea of how we all feel, but I fear we are in another world when it comes to the man and woman in the street, particularly the young ones.

They do not have computers nor miss them. The valid arguments we bandy back and forth do not exist for them. I doubt this site has much influence overall, which is a pity. I would like to be wrong on this., hearing how many “hits” BFP gets.

How can the pulse of the nation be tested?
    Eversley’s article is a good start- if it was widely read.

• 1 Who Watches- I find you too pessimistic. Even tho Govt has made and continues to make many blunders, and is arrogantly unrepentant, I believe there are plenty of good folk out there who care enough to come out and do better.

Somewhere on this site I have seen a comment that a good many seats were held by the BLP by a majority of only 150 votes in the last election. If this is true, it should not take too much effort to get out a few hundred fed-up voters in each constituency to give the Opposition a chance to do better. Even if they don’t, it will put “paid” to BLP arrogance that they can do what they want regardless.

Positive thinking! that’s what’s needed. The Skipper would not have given up this ship.

• What a sad state of affairs!
    Everyone on the blog can see the problem, but the alternative is no solution.
    Is there a real politician in the house?
    One who can crystalise and express all this pent up frustration.
    Some one who speaks for the good of the country.
    Not for self interest.
    A probable imperfect model may be the late Jimmy Goldsmith.
    Run on a single platform, elect me and my candidates, our first act will be to enact a Law of Integrity and Disclosure for every public executive,
    and as soon as it is irrevocably entered as part of the constitution, my government will stand down and call a general election never to run again.
    If there are not candidates who would give up two months of their lives to help this country out of this neo-dictatorship, then it really is let the devil take the hindmost.
    Do anything but carp, carping is ignored and politicised.
    The answer is with you Bajans, neither party has shown willing to relate to you and your problems.
    Be positive, I gone.

• Free Speech

‘I who watches’ is this anonymous joker from england in the barbados high commission who is posting on every topic,cussing and trying to mess up this freepress site.

Just don’t click on his comments.

BFP remember a couple months back when they posted some nasty things under the name :D avid Thompson and Fundel Stuart?

That was under the owen arthur winner of the piggy of the award post.

The night royal rumble turned up with file numbers in the dead of night.

BFP you got them wukking overtime.
    Is there any way you can block him.

• I still have this burning question Is there any truth to the rumor that the goverment is sneeking in another 1000 Slot machines for cricket world cup?
    Wonder who has been given the licence to operate these machines?
    Are there locals involved or all foreigners involved with this scam?
    Has the law changed with regard to the importation and operation of these machines?

• Fred. Oh, no. never. Barbados does not have casino gambling….what a load of rubbish, huh?

Sad thing is, general populace swallow that line hook, line and sinker! AND get mortally offended when ‘casino gambling’ is proposed.

A sad indictment on the state of manipulation and conniving by those who have the resources.

A worse indictment on the general ability of the populace to decipher sense from nonsense.

Leave a Reply