THE CHAIRMAN of the Urban Development Commission (UDC), Sir Henry Forde, has ordered a full investigation into the circumstances surrounding a woman who gave UDC$30 000 towards the construction of a home, but two years later, still hasn’t received it.
The 63-year-old woman, handed over all of her life’s savings to UDC in January 2005, but still hasn’t received the keys to the two-bedroom greenheart house which is located at Dayrells Road, St Michael…
Read the full story in The Nation News here.
Tap Dance Begins
“When asked if it was part of UDC’s policy to accept money from clients to construct houses, Sir Henry said this too would be investigated.”
So let me get this straight… the man in charge of the UDC, Sir Henry Forde, doesn’t know whether or not it is his own organization’s policy to take money from clients to construct houses?
Who is in charge?
Here is a hint, Sir Henry… lots of Bajans know that SOME of the UDC personnel will take money to build houses.
Oh… they certainly will!
What a foolish question.
25 Comments
August 18, 2006 at 11:08 pm
Barbados really makes me laugh. Only thing funnier than this is the government trying to convince us that $7B in debt isn’t cause for concern. Kiss muh tail man! It ain time for elections yet?
August 19, 2006 at 12:16 pm
jovanreid
Clyde Mascoll says the debt is a soft debt.. True true true.
Yesterday he even gave a tutorial for people so they could understand the debt better.
We need to read him so we can understand more about owing way money.
Seems the increase in debt is ok because the Government took a conscious management decision to increase it. You see, it did not just happen sort of unplanned, there is a plan.
http://www.nationnews.com/story/321096589479853.php
August 19, 2006 at 12:23 pm
Is this house one of Liz’s revolutionary houses from ever since?
Seem to remember she had a house built cheap to show it could be done. She had some contractor fellow show it could be done.
Then some guys from Suriname offered a far cheaper one, built in Suriname and shipped to Barbados.
August 19, 2006 at 12:25 pm
Remember, Sir Henry is a lawyer and doesn’t know about building houses.
August 19, 2006 at 4:35 pm
ok our debt burden is manageable no problem. can we list how government is using the money to generate capacity in the economy? I am very interested to hear of at least 10 projects that fit the bill. My other concern is the ease with which government is prepared to borrow from the NIS. Ok they restructured the NIS and now ppl like me have to wait till 70 to get a pension so voila we have excess cash at the NIS now right? Is that it? So we take that excess to finance domestic borrowing. What happens if the government continues to run deficit on current account if we carry this domestic borrowing to a logical conclusion what options does the GoB have? I aint to economist i just asking.
August 19, 2006 at 4:58 pm
BK
I had a discussion with RA a while back.
I discovered economics requires a chicken foot voodo stick to understand.
I hope there will be someone who can explain this whole debt thing simply in terms that a person who borrows …… and pays back ….. can understand.
It is the paying back thing that has me stumped.
August 19, 2006 at 5:20 pm
Mascoll is an amazing man! Just three years ago he was criticising the NIS for investing in government projects like Gems, the NHC building etc. I certainly cannot respect a man – even professionally – who can flip flop on issues which concern his profession.
That is probably why he did not understand Classic’s song and could be on stage giving us a demonstration in pelting waist.
August 19, 2006 at 5:43 pm
John, would you believe that a copy of this special audit was in Mascoll’s hands before he left the DLP? Don’t expect a man who places his personal circumstances above those of the public good to tell us the truth. Or even help us find it.
August 19, 2006 at 6:40 pm
Mascoll is absolutely and unequivocally correct.
The Debt is manageable if CWC2007 is successful, if there are no hurricanes, no escalation in the price of oil,no fighting in the middle east,more offshore Banks,more Agricultural production, more manufacturing, a reduction in the cost of everything.
4.6Billion? No problem.
August 19, 2006 at 6:41 pm
Mascoll is absolutely and unequivocally correct.
The Debt is manageable if CWC2007 is successful, if there are no hurricanes, no escalation in the price of oil,no fighting in the middle east,more offshore Banks,more Agricultural production, more manufacturing, a reduction in the cost of everything.
4.6Billion? No problem.
By the way, http://www.dlpbarbados.org is up and running. Check it out.
August 19, 2006 at 6:44 pm
Velzo, I was wondering if I was the only person who thought Mascoll was a fool for going on stage to wukkup to Classic’s song. He really doesn’t realize the song makes him sound like a [insert any four letter word here], does he?
August 19, 2006 at 7:39 pm
I agree with all ah wunna, we were discussing this at work , Mascoll is a real real idiot fuh true. He does not understand that Classic was meking bear mock sport at he. he always creating history, he is the first politician that i know of to go up on stage at a crop over finals.
I would like Mr. mascoll to explain to me in lay man terms the difference between the debt increasing on the domestic side as opposed to the external side. Since the operative word is increase. I cannot ask Mr.Bynoe on which side the prices in his supermarket increase. I find Mr. Mascoll is always talking as though he is in a classroom, he needs to break it down.
August 19, 2006 at 8:43 pm
I am still getting “under construction” at http://www.dlpbarbados.org
August 19, 2006 at 9:08 pm
Ross
Guess this set hasn’t got it either.
Clueless, like the rest of us.
August 19, 2006 at 9:13 pm
I hope the house the paper showed in the picture isn’t the one that Liz’s contractor fellow built all those years ago.
The lady should have smelled a rat if she was shown the house from all those years ago.
She should have asked how many had been sold since the first model unit had been built.
August 19, 2006 at 10:14 pm
It is interesting that you said mascoll had the UDC report before he ran over to the other side. Then we add GEMS how can one give props to someone like that? I would be interested to ask him his thoughts on the current state of GEMS : – ).
I understand that the government lookin to sell GEMs, imagine that after paying off all them debtors who owed the BDB. I wonder who partu dem wus hailin fuh.
August 20, 2006 at 2:28 am
jovanreid
I saw a brief exerpt of Clyde Mascoll’s appearance on TV a couple of nights later but it was just a fleeting glance.
Remember, Malik was down there too.
Can anyone account for the whereabouts of Malik when Clyde Mascoll appeared on stage?
All it takes acording to some politicians is some dentures. The rest is smoke an mirrors.
Are we sure about what we saw?
August 20, 2006 at 5:13 pm
How long til Barbados IMplodes?
Who will own us, in fifty years time?
The United States of Trinidad?
China?
August 21, 2006 at 12:44 am
LOL @ John. You may be on to something.
August 21, 2006 at 11:30 am
I did ont make any dentures for Malik.
August 21, 2006 at 11:30 am
I did not make any dentures for Malik
August 21, 2006 at 11:45 am
William
If the cap fits ….
August 22, 2006 at 4:26 pm
Poor Malik. He does not deserve to have his name besmirched by a complete, total fool.
August 23, 2006 at 9:33 am
Velzo
It is about time someone spoke up for Malik.
We tend to get carried away with the “important” people and forget that all people have a face and contribute in their own unique way to life.
Apologies to Malik.
June 19, 2007 at 5:29 pm
[...] Fishy Business at Barbados Urban Development Commission [...]